We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommendable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The staff is extremely kind and helpful. We were a group of 13, including some children, and they helped us to prearrange our stay. We contacted with the concierge before travelling and got all kind of useful suggestions about things to do and help to make our reservations in advance. Once there they made their best to make us enjoy our stay in Malta. Very recommendable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rriglesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

Very nice hotel & friendly staff.
great location, as could walk everywhere.
When they say sea view, you actually get a fantastic sea view.
Cleanliness & room layout was great.
Definitely be back, we loved Malta

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Me & y partner stayed at the hotel for 9 nights & thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a deluxe sea view room, which we were pleased about because other rooms face a car park/building site!!
The staff was so friendly & always there to help. The happy hour is a great bargain for cocktail lovers & the bar food is so cheap! They have special events on at the hotel over the weekend, although we didn’t go to any as we already had plans.
The spa is amazing, especially in the day when you just need to relax & there aren’t any children around! I had a massage whilst there & it was a real bargain. On the 12th floor, there is the pool & sunbathing area, we spent quite a lot of time here but took our own drinks. It cost 5 euro for a pint of diet coke which they poured out of a bottle and 4 euro for an ice cream!! Far too over priced we thought!
On arrival, the hotel have to take a deposit of 50 euro each day for the mini bar, films etc. We decided we didn’t need these so if you ask they will lock it for you & you don’t have to pay.
I fell there are a couple of thing I have to mention. They did a practice fire alarm at a ridiculous time of 11pm; this went on for 20 minutes & was an inconvenience. Also, one day we went out at 9am & didn’t get back until gone 5, only to find our room open. I went down to reception only to find the chamber maid hadn’t closed the door properly behind her & it had been open for 3 hours! This is totally unacceptable & the manager couldn’t be sorrier. The next day we came back in from eating out to find a couple of bottles of wine & chocolates which was a nice touch.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel; the location is brilliant & the service outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 08bella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Having just stayed at the hotel I am shocked at the last few negative reviews... The experiences had were by no means correlated to our stay at that hotel. This made me compelled to write this review!!
I travel quite a bit for work purposes and stay in numerous hotels, and would refer to myself as a picky traveller...
So my reflections of this hotel was that it was one of the best I've stayed in.
The positives for me;
1. Rooms were clean and contemporary
2. Towels, dressing gowns were replenished without the need to request.
3. Food was delicious and of a substantial quantity
4. Hotel itself was contemporary and you could see that it is trying to stand out from the crowd by introducing quirky things (music in the lifts)
5. Pool was clean and fresh towels are always available
6. Conceige was always on hand to book taxis, provide directions and be a general source of knowledge about St julians and the surrounding areas.

The things that made the hotel different;
1. As our do not disturb sign was on the door and the cleaners were unable to clean - we received both a message and a call from reception checking with us later to see if we needed anything
2. The bar is quite expensive - but there is 1/2 price drinks at happy hour '6 - 7:30' and they make fantastic cocktails.
3. Manager held a drinks reception on the terrace to get feedback from guests - free drink and nibbles were provided
4. Themed nights were fantastic - vast amounts of food and drink for only 30 Euros each
5. Brilliant Spa, hotel guests were notified of special offers for treatments. Both my husband and I had massages and have to say the staff there were really professional and friendly.

Being balanced the only negatives for me was that we had paid extra for a sea view and for me it was a partial sea view. Having said that it didn't ruin our experience one bit...
The lifts are quirky too... but who cares, you're on holiday... we're in no rush!!!

So all in all a fantastic place to stay, and for those of you (Like me) who live by trip advisor reviews about holidays - please do not be put off... it is a lovely hotel and you will have a fantastic time there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

I have just read your review and I would like to personally thank you for sharing your feed-back with the online community: it is indeed a very helpful insight of our product and services. I am truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future,

We might have met during our weekly Guest Cocktail party you mentioned in your write-up....

Thank you once again for your time and for your valued custom,

Kind Regards,
Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I don't agree with many of the negative reviews recently posted. The staff have been very accommodating and quite apologetic when things weren't quite right. Yes, be careful about the minibar because even bumping into it can result in charges - that are removed from your bill when you ask.

I will agree the wait for a lift can be tedious but it is a rather busy hotel and with everyone going down to breakfast at once it's only to be expected.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and while I found the bedding a bit firm at first, I slept well and much prefer it to a bed that's too soft. The roof top pool is on the smallish side but it's more than adequate and there are plenty of lounge chairs although it can be busy. I'm fortunate to be a top tier with SPG so I'm extended some of the courtesies other gripe about missing (complimentary water, upgraded rooms, sea view, internet). To answer those complaints, if you didn't reserve a sea view you've no right to complain that you didn't receive one. It is available for sale to anyone so book it if you want it. If you want internet, pay for it - I've yet to find free internet at a hotel outside the USA. Starwood reserves complimentary room upgrades (size, location, or view) to their most loyal customers and frankly, I spend more nights at an SPG property than I do in my own bed so I've earned it. I dismiss those rants. Finally, if you had signed up for the SPG program (it's free) you'd probably receive the bottled water.

I hope to make use of the spa on my next visit in July. The prices were quite reasonable, they have daily offers, and it looks fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert_dfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your clarifications about our SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest) program. Indeed, you are very right in saying that Starwood loyalty program offers various benefits (depending on the amount of nights spent/points earned at Starwood Properties) and it's great news to read that you could avail yourself of these advantages at our property.

I would like to apologize for any possible frustration you may have experienced with our lifts or with our minibar services. The minibar technology system is indeed very sensitive. I am relieved to read that any possible non consumed items was removed from your bill on request.

This being said, thank you for recommending our hotel and looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Have a lovely summer,
Best Regards

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This hotel claims to be 5 star but having stopped at other Starwood Group Hotels and other 5 Star hotels across the world this was the worst.
* Poor customer service
* Poor customer relations including the general manager
* Poor communications between staff
* Bathroom with mold and ingrained dirt
* Poor quality toiletries and those used not replenished
* Hotel very tired with damaged furniture and stained chairs

NOT A 5* expereince

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABRDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Reviewer,

I am deeply concerned with your feed-back. You are indeed highlighting various negative points and I am truly sorry for the disappointment you so obviously suffered whilst staying with us. However, I must also underline that we would only be able to better address the issues you mentioned if you were to give us concrete examples. You are mentioning customer service and customer relationship, and it appears – based on your brief write-up - that we have met during your stay with us, as you also seem unhappy about my intervention. Could I kindly ask you to contact me directly so you could remind me of the situation and we could look into your experience in a constructive manner?

I would be grateful to read or hear the reasons for your disappointment as to be able to tackle any possible shortcoming with the concerned departments,

Your feed-back is important to us and your custom is truly appreciated,
Best Regards,

Franco Vella,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We booked a de luxe room which did not disappoint.
However the dining room was lacking in atmosphere.
The lift service was totally inadequate for the size of the hotel and suffered from a peculiar array of piped sounds, ranging from bird song, running water and even a person seemingly taking a bath. We were informed that the sound tracks reflected the in-house spa!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelMeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read that our property failed at reaching your expectations.

With regards to the “soundscapes” that our guests can experience whilst using our lifts, please note that this is part of a global Le Méridien art-based initiative called LM100.
As part of his role with LM100, French music composer and producer Henri Scars Struck has orchestrated sounds, rhythms and melodies for all Le Méridien properties around the world. Different instruments, different languages, different cultures and different sounds all intersect in surprising ways in Le Méridien’s lounges, elevators, restaurants, etc. This initiative is a deliberate choice for Le Méridien Brand to create an involvement between art and accommodation.

More information can be found about LM100 initiative on Le Méridien brand website.

This being said, I am truly sorry that this was not to your liking and I will certainly share your feed-back with the relevant teams,

Many thanks for your time and custom,
Kind Regards,
Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,915 reviews
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,372 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,105 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £84 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing