We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable two weeks stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien St. Julians

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Verona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable two weeks stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our family (two parents with an eight years old boy) liked this hotel, its convenient location, its smart informal and modern features, its spacious rooms and bathrooms (tub and shower have their own separate space and the wc has its own small area with its own door: a very practical solution if three guests have to share these facilities), its restaurants offering each evening for an acceptable price a different good theme dinner (no charge for kids and free flow drinks including good Maltese wines), its rooftop pool, the underground garage free of charge etc. Previous reviews complaining for the slow elevators (there are four of them and during peak hours one may have to wait a couple of minutes), for the need to collect each time the free garage exit ticket, for the assumed hard beds, for the reception located in an upper floor (but it is the ground floor if one uses the main entrance on the hill side) etc. are not really to be shared, although one bell captain helping guests using the lower entrance might be of great help. Pity that no free wi fi connection is offered. We always experienced an attentive and quite efficient service and were pleased to find an extra bed for our boy although we did not previously require it. We did not use the spa which other guests reported to be good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    830
    322
    104
    57
See reviews for
416
1,122
125
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

I'm sat in the hotel lobby waiting for the mrs to get ready for our night out. Not too why there are negative comments about this hotel. Really nice location with bars and nice places to eat just down the road. Nice pool with not too many kids. Rooms are ok with great sea views. If I do have one complaint is the prices of drinks are expensive. A can, yes can of local beers is 5 euro at the pool bar. They tried to charge us 11 euro for a gin and tonic. I popped to the local shop and paid 1 euro for the same beer and chilled it in the wine cooler next to my sun bed. Maybe I'm just tight. If like me you paid £80 a night it's brilliant value. If you paid £300 a night like some people then I might be dissapointed. Overall its a great hotel which states it's a 5 star but really it's a lovely 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hudders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Just spent a week at Le Meridien. Almost everything in this hotel was great! Have sea view,it's worth the money! Very nice location with a lot of restaurants nearby. The hotel staff was very helpful!Try Saturday night BBQ buffet, great variaty of food and tasteful! In generally, service was overpriced (especially breakfast). The indoor pool was perfect! The outdoor pool was very nice, but would rather have it a bit larger...I would expect free wi-fi in the room...
Overall a wonderful experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room (827) with absolutely fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kronoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

I had an extended stay for business and was very happy with this hotel

The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The room was large with a small mini- bar, and bottled water left in the room each day. When I checked in I was given a room with two balconies and the afternoon sun was just too much for the air conditioning. I spoke to the front desk and they immediately had someone see if they could fix the problem. Despite best efforts, it was still very warm. They cheerfully found me another room which was much cooler.

The breakfast buffet is very nice with lots of choices. I have dined at the buffet restaurant twice. At first I thought it was a bit pricey, but after eating out in the area it is actually quite reasonable for what you get. Excellent food. My only suggestion would be to include water in the buffet price at dinner. It is included at breakfast.

I loved the location as it was only a short walk to many restaurants. The location is a very nice and quiet and I would not want to stay in any other area after being in St. Julians Bay.

There is free parking for guests -- a must if you have a car in Malta!

Downside? Not much -- the elevators are pretty slow, but a big deal. I am surprised to read the negative comments. I am on my second stay here and have not had any similar experience. Would I like a sea view? Of course, but I had that choice when I booked by room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrunoSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

The staff is extremely kind and helpful. We were a group of 13, including some children, and they helped us to prearrange our stay. We contacted with the concierge before travelling and got all kind of useful suggestions about things to do and help to make our reservations in advance. Once there they made their best to make us enjoy our stay in Malta. Very recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rriglesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Very nice hotel & friendly staff.
great location, as could walk everywhere.
When they say sea view, you actually get a fantastic sea view.
Cleanliness & room layout was great.
Definitely be back, we loved Malta

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Me & y partner stayed at the hotel for 9 nights & thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a deluxe sea view room, which we were pleased about because other rooms face a car park/building site!!
The staff was so friendly & always there to help. The happy hour is a great bargain for cocktail lovers & the bar food is so cheap! They have special events on at the hotel over the weekend, although we didn’t go to any as we already had plans.
The spa is amazing, especially in the day when you just need to relax & there aren’t any children around! I had a massage whilst there & it was a real bargain. On the 12th floor, there is the pool & sunbathing area, we spent quite a lot of time here but took our own drinks. It cost 5 euro for a pint of diet coke which they poured out of a bottle and 4 euro for an ice cream!! Far too over priced we thought!
On arrival, the hotel have to take a deposit of 50 euro each day for the mini bar, films etc. We decided we didn’t need these so if you ask they will lock it for you & you don’t have to pay.
I fell there are a couple of thing I have to mention. They did a practice fire alarm at a ridiculous time of 11pm; this went on for 20 minutes & was an inconvenience. Also, one day we went out at 9am & didn’t get back until gone 5, only to find our room open. I went down to reception only to find the chamber maid hadn’t closed the door properly behind her & it had been open for 3 hours! This is totally unacceptable & the manager couldn’t be sorrier. The next day we came back in from eating out to find a couple of bottles of wine & chocolates which was a nice touch.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel; the location is brilliant & the service outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 08bella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing