We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family rooms, good location, couple of disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We (family of 4 including 2 teenage boys) stayed for a week at end June 2011. Overall we had a very good experience, with just a few disappointments:
Rooms: Family room was very large, great bathroom with separate shower and tub.
Cleanliness: Excellent
Service: Front desk service was impeccable, breakfast service was good but not could have been friendlier.
Food: Breakfast spread is very good, lot of choices, frequently replenished.
Internet: Disappointing that even the shared (open) business center PCs require guests to purchase access time (about 8 EUR for an hour!)
Pool: Rooftop, which is cool, but pretty darned small for such a large hotel. Also, due to the cool location, it is used for functions (e.g. receptions for conferences) - so definitely not cool to find the pool closed twice in just 7 days
Spa / fitness: Looked nice, very extensive weights room, sauna, steam room etc.
Location: In a great spot in St Julians - quite far from the party-area Paceville (but still walkable), great views, close to bus stops, some good restaurants nearby.
Parking: Free for hotel guests, awesome if you rent a car (and they are very affordable in Malta)
Price: Excellent value - we booked as part of a package through FTI in Germany so about 50% of regular rate.

Room Tip: Rent a car for as little as 25 EUR per day - cheaper and more flexible than the hop-on / hop-off bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmondsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,654 - 1,660 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

nice and clean hotel but poor service, breakfast was disappoimting, road works noises, unfriendly staff at reception, that's a shame for a hotel of this standard. the worst of all is the elevators, they are slow and the artistic noises are hugely irritating. how about wifi in the rooms?

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danagaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed at the Meridien in July and have to say I absolutely loved it. We were let down by Mercury Direct our travel reps as they failed to show up for one of our transfers and our welcome meeting which certainly put a damper on our holiday, but needless to say, the hotel certainly made up for it.
The hotel is lovely, the roof pool is small but the sea is on your doorstep and spent most our time here or in the spa pool. The pool is overlooked by building work which is a pain but we werent too concerned. The pictures on the Meridien website certainly don't do it justice! The rooms were massive, very clean and modern, only thing I would say is that there is no free wifi (if you are planning on using the internet, id recommend bringing a laptop to access it in your room as this is far cheaper than using the computers in reception).
There are the odd moody receptionists, when we checked in we were told to pay a 350 euro deposit for 'services' although she failed to tell us what these services were for, we eventually found out it was for the mini bar so we refused to pay as we felt this was excessive, particularly as we werent planning on using it anyway. This was locked as a result but this did not bother us!
The maids are brilliant, we received complimentary bottles of water every morning (this was because we didnt ask for our sheets to be washed every day - the sheets become softer once sleeping in them for a few nights). They always replenish any toiletries you use.
There is a vast amount of choice for breakfast; bread, pastries, cooked breakfast, cheese, omelettes, pancakes, fruit, yogurts etc! The only thing I would say is that there are very persistent people who come round trying to persuade you to eat there in the evenings by handing out leaflets (its very annoying when youre trying to have a peaceful breakfast!) The dinner in the evenings is far more expensive at the hotel, we found it nice to get out of the hotel and experience different maltese foods!
Happy hour is 6 - 7.30 and we loved this! you get some great cocktails and they give you some nibbles too. The bar staff are brilliant, you definitely get a 5 star service with this.
The location of the Meridien is brilliant, very central, lots of restaurants (always look for prices on the menu before you sit down, we had 2 main meals and 2 drinks which came to 43 euros, we thought it would be cheap as it was a family run restaurant!), picturesque views of the harbour in good distance for the nightlife (being a 20 years old, my partner and I went down to the strip for some drinks but found that the average age of people there were about 13 which made us feel very old!)
We went on a few excursions, Jeep ride around gozo, visits to markets, speed boat rides into the caves and boat trips. When dropping off other people at different hotels, we definately felt like we chose the right area to stay in, far more going on! I would definitely recommend going to the Blue Lagoon. A trip to Valleta is a must, you can catch the 11, 12 or 13 buses.
Also, we learnt that foreign people do not like to queue!!! Always make sure you stick to your guns, people pushing in means you miss out catching buses which is very frustrating! We think the english are the only people who know how to queue!! In addition, we also didnt like the fact there were no smoking rules, you could be eating your dinner and people smoking right next to you, vile! On a more positive note, I did not get bitten and i normally do, although flies are everywhere!
Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would recommend staying here, dont pay the 350 euro deposit, it is not essential and being students we were very dubious as to why we had to cough up! Yes, it is nice to have a sea view but we didnt feel it was necessary as we saw some amazing views from the hotel anyway, we were barely in our room during the day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Have stayed here twice; October 2010 and May 2011, when we held our wedding at the hotel.
It's the best hotel I've stayed in and I've been fortunate to be able to sample some good ones.
The staff are simply the best, from the friendly bartenders at Ku De Ta bar who can mix you any drink, to the exellent professionalism of the front desk team, to the smiling breakfast servers. If you're planning an event, Bernice Bujega Events Manager is the best in the business, she organized ouir big day and it was flawless.
The hotel occupies an elevated position overlooking Balluta Bay which retains a local community feeling despite the commercialism of the area. Sliema waterfront is a stroll away as are the restaurants of Spinola Bay and the hectic nightlife of Paceville.
Hotel has both indoor and outdoor pools; both are fab, I would just lean towards the indoor one as the setting is fantastic.
There are shops at Level O e.g. newsagent, hairdresser, tour booking office and two excellent restuarants: Villa Brasserie and U Bistrot (latter is independent of the hotel but well worth a visit). Bar food and themed buffets in dining room are of the highest quality and the breakfast is a smorgasboard of delicious breads, cheeses, juices, fruits, omelettes, bacon, potatoes and pastries.
If you can upgrade to a seaview room, it's a special view but rear facing rooms have balconies nonetheless and the views from the public areas compensate. The bedrooms are bright, airy and comfortably furnished. the W.C. and bathroom/sink area are in separate rooms.
I can't wait to come back again and again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeVisitant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My family and I stayed at Le Meridien in various rooms 3-7 nights to attend my cousin's wedding. We were all very pleased with the hotel: friendly staff, big rooms, huge breakfast buffet, nice lobby and hotel bar with impressive cocktail list, lovely roof-top pool with a good view and within walking distance of good restaurants, bars and cafes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piaech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Beautiful hotel situated overlooking Balluta Bay. Top class buffet breakfast.. Very comfortable beds in soundproof rooms..
We had our wedding reception here on May 21st..It was fabulous.. 33 of us in total celebrated at Pisces function room, Meridien. Everything that evening was absolutely perfect.. The staff in the bar and in Pisces were some of the friendliest people I've ever met. The champagne, food, wine, desserts, cakes were so delicious. All of the wedding party commented on how good the food was.. The atmosphere here was very happy and relaxed, background music by OLD NAPOLI was beautiful..The photographer Mark Cilia was very good also.. But a special thankyou goes to BERNICE BUGEJA, the events planner, she planned the whole wedding from start to finish., always so friendly, helpful and efficient. Nothing was a problem ever, and she was full of bright ideas. I would highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue.. It was our 2nd time staying at this hotel, and I hope our 3rd visit is not too far away,,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexter60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We have just returned home after a 10 day stay, bed & breakfast at the Le Meridian St Julians and can only say thankyou for a wonderful stay.

We had a late arrival (03.30 am!) and were checked in quickly. On arrival in our room I was disappointed to find the view was only a partial sea view and not the full one we had paid for. The following day I asked the reception if we could move rooms and must say the reception staff were helpful, polite and very friendly. There were no rooms availabe that day but would we mind waiting to the fllowing morning.....not a problem we said.......The following day true to their word they moved us to the 10th floor and upgraded us to a fabulous suite.

Breakfast is a must as there is both hot and cold food to fill up on ready for the day ahead.

We did not eat in the hotel during the evening but tried out the local restaurants in the area, all within walking distance. We enjoyed Scruples bar on Batulla Sq, 1927,Pepperoncino,Meet Argentinian and Piccolo Padre. The only let down was U bistro, the food was not what we expected or up to the standards of the other restaurants. Sorry!

Thankyou Malta for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasider53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,106 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £85 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing