We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent mid-price resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed on business, for 3-4 days each time. Located on the coast road of St Julians, 10mins walk from the newish Portomasso development. Nice coastal path outside for walking / jogging.

My "deluxe room" was very large and spacious, with a good sized terrace with table and chairs and a nice side sea views. Room decor, fittings and furnishings all rather dated, circa 1980s. The large bed was very comfortable, with very nice linen. Room reasonably well maintained, and very clean. It had a large spacious bathroom, with separate shower and bath. However, it had a very small separate cloakroom / toilet. Like the room, the bathroom was dated, with low / mid range quality Ideal Standard type bathroom fittings; some rather worn and in need replacement. Also, needed more attention to detail with finishing off.

Reception area was spacious, and front desk and staff in general were very pleasant and helpful. I was not so keen on the over loud lift music, which must have been chosen by the same person who picked the "very loud" corridor carpets. At my end of season visit, the pool / roof area was rather poorly maintained and very untidy.

Overall, not to the same luxury standard that a Meridien name might give you in Rome or Paris, but the price is also very very different - you get what you pay for. Its more like a 1/2 Meridien ? 3 1/2* rather than 5*. Perfectly OK, but very much like an older Marriott or Holiday Inn. Non Package holiday out of season prices vary a lot, but circa EUR 150-220 / night, ex b/f, which was fair value for money, due to size of the room and comfort of the bed. I'm sure considerably cheaper on a decent 7N package deal. However, it doesn't compare well with new resort style hotels in comparable places such as Rhodes Sheraton, or modernised city centre hotels like the Athens Hilton, all at similar prices. A reasonable hotel, to which I'd happily return, but in need of a rebrand or refurbishment. The Meridien name sets the wrong expectations for many guests.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmbklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 2,785 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Le Meridien St. Julians is perfectly located in the heart of Malta, within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions. All rooms have balconies, and most have exceptional sea view. The staff was extremely friendly, although check-in and check-out was slow. Rooms were very comfortable, and executive lounge was sufficient. Unfortunately, hotel only had WIFI in the lobby, and was extremely slow (when it actually worked). WIFI in the executive lounge did not work during entire stay. Would probably not stay there next time, and may consider Phoenicia hotel in Valetta.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDiplomats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Excellent Hotel. Rooms were clean and breakfast (buffet) was great. The Indoor pool in the Spa is very nice. The only thing that i was disappointed , that there was no TVM (local channel) to view on the TV.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just come back from a weekend to visit my daughter in malta. The spa hotel was amazing and we had room service on the three nights. All brill. I will be back.

Room Tip: executive rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked our package holiday week at this wonderful hotel and got a special price. Oh well, we thought, we will surely get a room toward´s the parking lot... little did we know!

We received a wonderful sea view room, and enjoyed every minute at the hotel - the breakfast was amazing (great buffet!), and we frequently used the spa and roof pool.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank han_ffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were positively surprised.
The hotel looks good, clean and well arranged.
The stuf was very proffessional and helpful.
the Gym is large and has great equipment.
everything was over what we expected, including the breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yaron_1_Aher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Big, slightly confusing layouts, many rooms uncarpeted, 10 min walk to Paceville. Nice smoking lounge in the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oalamlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,009 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,624 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £104 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing