We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balluta Bay Beckons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I returned to Malta for a re-union and picked Le Meridien because we had had such a good time in the Dom Hotel, Cologne.

The hotel's position on Balluta Bay means that buses to the rest of the island are readily available either just outside the hotel or across the road. Maltese driving is 'interesting' and some may prefer to use public transport which is readily available and cheap.

The hotel lobby is a symphony in cream polished limestone with darker marble floors.

The room we had was large with good-sized bathroom with a separate shower and lavatory. The bed was very firm, which we like but I think may not suit everybody. The balcony overlooked Balluta Bay and was a lovely place to watch the world go by and spot ships heading for Grand Harbour. It is worth paying a little more for a sea view as the view from the back of the hotel is of the car park and blocks of flats.

We ate breakfast in thehotel every morning. The buffet is enormous and varied but the best choices, in my opinion, were the fresh Maltese cheeses and breads. Also, there was such a variety of fruits and salads there that one could eat a healthy '5 portions-a-day' at breakfast and not worry about the rest of the day!

We had a drink in the bar most evenings during Happy Hour and a couple of times followed them with a bar meal. Portions were more than generous (too large for us to finish) and very reasonably priced. We did not eat in the restaurant, which mostly seemed to be large buffets on a different theme each night.

The staff were universally friendly and helpful - especially the ones in the Ku-de-Ta Bar.

The lifts were an issue for me as I use a wheeled walking-frame and could not use the stairs though my husband did if it was possible. There were areas of the lobby (where the comfortable chairs and sofas were) which I could not access. Ditto the business centre (where it is possible to buy internet time) which is down a flight of marbe steps.

I also found the public areas noisy with the background music at too loud a volume, which of course means that people also speak more loudly in order to be heard above it. However, the rooms were calm and peaceful and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel..

Room Tip: A sea -view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have again had a great experience at both our hotel and the Le Meridien Dom in Cologne.

It is always heartening for us to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that they have found the location convenient and the various products and services we have on offer to their satisfaction. On a separate note, we appreciate your comments in relation to the lifts and accessibility to the two areas in reception, which we are currently looking into ways to improve.

While thanking you once again for both your comments and for choosing Le Meridien St. Julian’s Hotel & Spa for your Malta holiday, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 2,785 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here in September for one week , as we were also getting married in Malta . We had a lovely room with a great view . Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and efficient from the concierge to the housekeeping staff , service was great in all departments . Breakfast is wonderful , such a huge selection to choose from ..Used the spa also , and the therapists are so professional and very nice . Would definitely return to Malta , and would use this hotel again as our base. Thanks for a great stay !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prego635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience following your recent stay at Le Meridien St. Julian's.

We are extremely pleased that you have found the services and product to your complete satisfaction and we have communicated your positive comments to our various associates.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Me & my husband held our wedding reception at Le Meridien in 2011 which turned out to be fantastic - both food and service. Following that, we spent two nights in a Deluxe Rooms with sea view. The room was lovely - decorated for a newly-wedded couple :) Breakfast was divine as well! Used the indoor pool which is also very relaxing! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVGrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely memories of your recent stay at our Hotel.

It is a great pleasure to hear that your experience has been to your complete satisfaction and we do hope to having the pleasure of having you stay with us in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The standard rooms in this hotel are large and airy with great bathrooms with separate showers and baths. There is also a separate toilet in each room. The rooms are very clean and housekeeping very efficient. The lifts are clearly a problem for the hotel but it's more to do with the infrastructure and not much they can do about them. A little patience, a sense of humour and a willingness to use the stairs for odd floors helps. The selection of food at breakfast is great - it is pricey but you are paying for choice. Hotel location is very good right on the front with a short walk to bars and restaurants in either direction. There is a nice pool (towels and beds provided) and a separate sun terrace on the 12th floor. There's also a great gym in the spa which you can use - again towels provided.

A couple of improvement opportunities.
The service in the hotel bar during the early evening is a bit patchy and not what I expect from a five star hotel.
I had a nice massage in the spa but was a bit disappointed that the therapist was clearly expected to sell me products when he'd finished so I had to sit in the room and listen. The treatments are not cheap and this reminds me of champneys which I don't use anymore for this very reason.
Service at breakfast was sometimes a bit patchy - the water for tea was sometimes lukewarm or not delivered despite 2-3 requests. Other days it was there almost before we'd sat down and was piping hot. 5 star requires consistency.

The draconian approach to the mini-bar is a bit startling and the e-tray simply takes up room on the dressing table. It was fun to note that to have the minibar left empty would incur a charge of 5Euros a day!!! I think a one off charge to have it cleared might just work but if you are there for a week then this would be 35Euros to not have a service.

A few more umbrellas on the sun terrace wouldn't go amiss and perhaps the volume turned down a little on the radio in the pool bar (just enough to allow people to hear themselves speak over the top of it).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gembiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to share with other travellers a very detailed experience of your recent stay at our hotel.

We apologise that you may not have always found the services on offer to your complete satisfaction and your constructive comments have been communicted to the team to action. Our guests' comments enable us to continue improving the services and product that we offer.

While thanking you once again for the comments provided, we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I spent three nights in an ocean view room. Really loved staying at this hotel. It is very quiet and the rooms are super clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is very conveniently located. The hustle and bustle from St Julians is a five minutes walk away. The ocean is just across the street. There is excellent snorkeling within a 10 minute walk. The staff of the hotel was very professional. There are a few downsides, though. The rooftop pool looked nice but it was quite crowded up there. The club lounge was disappointing. The breakfast choice is extremely limited and I ended up eating outside every morning.
Overall, great hotel. I will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Ocean view is definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpcervelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Hotel.

It was disappointing to see that some of the services and products that you encountered during your stay were not completely to your satisfaction and I can assure you that this has been communicated to our team to action.

On a positive note, we are pleased to see that there were other aspects that you enjoyed especially the location of the hotel. The location is indeed a very positive one that the majority of our guests find this to their complete satisfaction. With only a few minutes walking distance away from Malta's prime entertainment areas and at the same time staying in an area in the heart of the Maltese way of living, it is indeed a unique location.

While thanking you once again for your comments, we look forward to being able to have you staying with us in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Everything about this hotel was 5 star. From the reception desk to my room and beyond. The room and bathroom were spacious and very clean. The hotel had a calming atmosphere. The front desk people assisted with decisions on where to go and what to do. They were helpful in a straight forward and pleasant way. Breakfast was a bonus. I would go back tomorrow. In fact after awaking in the AM of my first day back home I was wanting to still be there.

Room Tip: Room 407 has a very large bathroom. Perhaps it was set up as a handicap bathroom but I shall ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonaDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at our hotel.

It is extremely satisfying for us to hear that our guests have had a great experience while staying with us.

While thanking you once again, we do hope to have the opportunity of replicating your last experience.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have just come back from our stay at Le Meridiens and have truly had a great experience at this hotel.
The staff were absolutely fantastic and really made our stay extra special!
The hotel wasn't the cheapest by any means but the service is what stands out from the rest.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we hope to stay again in the future.

The happy hour between 6-7.30pm is well worth taking advantage of.
Some hotels in the past are crafty and water down your drinks  but not here, thats for sure!! After a few cocktails you will know what I mean! And they are top class, made by well trained  bar staff.  
We got to know many of the staff at the hotel and would like to especially thank Sean, Mark, Kim and Matthew at the Kud de ta bar and also Nicolos and Christian at the la baija roof terrace bar.
You are all an asset to this hotel and even other pressure always went out your way to ensure the best service!

The views from the sea view rooms are worth paying a bit extra for as they look out over the bay. The balconies are a very reasonable size too.
They are cleaned immaculately every day without fail, which is great to come back too after visiting one of the many towns nearby.
The lovely vibrant town of Sliema is a 20 minute walk away and the bus to Valletta can be easily caught opposite the church along the main road from the hotel.

If you are looking for high standards in a great location of a country which has much to offer, then Le Meridiens St. Juliens will definitely tick all the boxes!

Room Tip: It is worth the upgrade to the sea view rooms if you want to look out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Santhi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a great experience while staying with us, especially when their return to the hotel is to renew those special memories.

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of it and that our bar team have contributed so positively to that experience.

As other reviewers have commented, the location is unique and we are pleased to hear that you have once again found this to your satisfaction.

We look forward to having the opportunity to continue contributing to those special memories in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,005 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,162 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £98 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing