We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou to Innocent, the Door man”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My partner and I stayed here mid October 2012 for our first trip together abroad. The weather was very windy, and all the small boats at Sliema had been cancelled throughout our stay. Was very glad to have booked with this hotel, as we could still enjoy our holiday by motor transport/ferry to Gozo instead and enjoyed the hotel spa (very quiet when we went). We upgraded to a seaview for a gorgeous view of the bay and fresh air billowing in on those humid days. Loved to watch the traffic in the morning from the balcony, and see the sun come up in the quiet hours, which was really beautiful. Air con in the room was perfect, and the room very spacious. So comfortable, we walked about in our robes from spa on 3rd floor to our room on 7th floor.
Buffet breakfast was a real treat. Donut chef man making fresh crispy donuts dusted in sugar that were the best thing I tasted in Malta. "You'll be back", he said, and we did the next morning, and the morning after that!
Special thanks to Innocent, the door man, as he helped us by calling urgently on 3 different taxi companies to help us reach the airport at the last minute. Our tour operator airport transfer bus failed to appear (apparently this is usual), and time was running out. Taxis were hard to come by at peak time (checkout time) so be warned. We waited more than 1hr 30 minutes, and arrived at the airport as the check-in gate was closing, but made our flight back, just barely. Thankyou very much, Le Meridien for all your help. Very much appreciated
Location for this hotel is fantastic. Walking distance from Sliema ferries, the bus to Valetta was always crammed with people from 10am onwards, so unless you want to be under someone armpit, taxis are the way to go. We are very grateful for the hotel staff recommendation to 24hr open-air restaurant Estilo, Piazza Cascada in Paceville, for fresh sushi and smoothies next to illuminated waterfalls, as we arrived too late for most restaurants.

Room Tip: sea view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asuna_Ikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here mid october 2012 for 1 week. The hotel is a '5' star hotel although I wouldn't agree with that. Its a good hotel but the location is a bit naff. It has good facilities, the indoor pool and spa is first rate, the rooftop pool is OK but could do with smartnening up. The hotel is located on a suburban street facing away from the sea and has no pretty gardens or grounds. The rear entrance is set back from the sea front and has other lower buildings between it and the sea. You either get a room overlooking the car park (front) of the hotel or one with a sea view at the rear of the hotel, but that will sting you another €40 per night. Food and drink costs in the hotel were slightly more expensive than in local restaurants but you would expect this but the extra was not huge. I did feel stung on room service. You get the same snack menu as the bar but at higher prices but then they add another €4 for delivery. Is this not why the room service prices are higher? The extra €4 feels like they're chiselling. Internet access in the lobby is free. There is a wired connection in the room but this costs €90 for a week which I think is outrageous. It was cheaper for me to turn on my mobile phone data connection roaming from the UK than use the room internet. It cost me £30 in data charges for the week. They should look again at the cost of internet in the room. Most local bars have free wifi. The location of Balluta Bay is nothing much to write home about. There are some cafe's and snack bars but you're on the busy coastal road. The bus stop if just below the hotel rear entrance on the coast road, a 1 day go anywhere ticket is €2.60. I recommend going to Sliema or Valletta if you want to find some nice restaurants. You can walk up to St Julians in 10 minutes and there are bars and nightclubs there. We walked back from a function at the Hilton (v. nice hotel) in the PortoMaso complex there at 0200hrs and the streets outside the bars on the hill in St Juliens were heaving with (young) people. All in all the buildings that line the coast road and in St Julians are (except for PortoMaso) of poor quality, run down or concrete nothings. They could have made it quite nice but don't seem to care.
I probably won't go back to Le Meriden. Its OK but I think its location counts against it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedders22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The hotel is situated atnear to a very busy street, easily to access by bus and a good starting point for sightseeing walks.. The noise in the ocean view rooms is bearable with closed balcony-door.
Reception was rather unfriendly, the room was not ready at 1 pm, but they contacted housekeeping and one hour later I got the key. The room with ocean view (as booked) was nice, big enough, with a small sitting area, big balcony with a beautiful view on Balluta Bay.
With exception of the concierge, service in general was neglectful; this refers to housekeeping as well as the waiters in bar and restaurant.
The breakfast buffet was okay, eggs are prepared to your wish.
There is a small swimming pool on the roof. The sun loungers are old and worn. There are a few new loungers, however, they have a nasty edge dividing the head part from the lower part.
Another small pool, indoors, is very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed at Le Meridien for two weeks during peak season with my dad and brother and loved every minute. I couldn't fault the service provided by the staff - everyone we encountered was so kind and helpful and the concierge was lovely and genuine.

Everyone is moaning about the Wifi on this but the last thing i wanted to do while on holiday was sit on the internet.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole_ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I'm Maltese, married to a Canadian, and we live in Canada. We are Starwood members & this was the primary reason we chose to stay at Le Meridien, along with the sea views and central location.We practically never had to use our car as we walked everywhere. The hotel parking was free and easy and this is very handy in Malta as parking spaces are challenging to find.

We registered twice as we took a three day vacation to stupendous Gozo and then returned. Our upgrade on our return was far superior to our initial upgrade, with a better view and a much better suite. This was appreciated. We loved the balconies and liked t hat we could hang our laundry to dry out.This helped with undies and bathing suits. Our suite seemed to be in better hands the second time round...cleaned well and all at once. The first time round it seemed like staff entered our suite multiple times in one day...to clean, then drop off water, then something else, then again something else...it was a bit unsettling to have staff enter so many times. Once I was asleep in my undies and somebody entered and left a pillow on the table in the next room....a bit disconcerting. A few times, when I called room service,no one answered and, once, in frustration, I dialled the emergency number and no one answered. Oh dear.

Other reviewers have commented about the Executive lounge. We had mixed experiences. The breakfast wasn't great but we were told, by the very gracious lady at breakfast duty, that we could order anything we wanted and it would be brought to the lounge. This worked well overall but on the Sunday,our omelette still hadn't shown up after more than an hour and we had places to go, things to do, people to see. The water glasses in the lounge are- without exception-filthy. I held one after the other up to the light to see water stains, soap stains, lip marks, finger prints....quite disgusting. The wine glasses were better but not by much. There is clearly a problem with hygiene and the dishwasher machine. This is unsanitary and not acceptable anywhere. The afternoon tea is better, with a tiered tray of pastries and good coffee when the machine works..not often the case, unfortunately. After 11:00 pm, the lounge bar is emptied of food and drink and only once was I asked if I wanted anything by the gentleman on duty. Other nights,no one was around.

The WIFI in the rooms is non existent for iPad users and this was a major inconvenience to us as everyone knows travellers need to stay connected. Connecting in the lobby was a slow and arduous process with passwords that did not work but in the lounge it was OK as long as you sat by the TV or door. for he last three days of our stay, there were no towels or staff at the pool and really, the atmosphere is kind of humdrum there. This is a hotel with so much potential but it needs a really god manager to overhaul things and take things under control. The WIFI, lounge, elevator and service issues al need to be dealt with and really...do the right thing by people and give them the rooms with the lousy views for bargain prices...STARWOOD needs to reconsider the standards to which it holds the hotels in its club...certainly in this case. However, overall, for E116 per night i such a good location, we would return....but only if the other Starwood hotel on Malta, the Westin, is full.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NannaCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in le meridian on our honeymoon which was advertised as a 5* hotel. When we arrived at 8pm there was no one available to help with our bags and we were asked for our credit card details so they could take €210 for use of mini-bar etc which I thought was a bit cheeky! When we got to our room it was made up as a twin room. Our air conditioning started to leak on our first night, we told reception, however it was still leaking on 2nd night. My husband contacted reception and spoke to the manager who was reluctant to move us to another room and was not one bit apologetic about the problem.
We went for dinner one night in Scirroco restaurant which was a lovely buffet, however we were charged €5.15 for a bottle of water sourced from Wales with a cheaper alternative available but we were not given a choice. I queried this price with staff in restaurant and at reception and was told that there was nothing they could do. Very bad customer service in general!
Some staff members nice, including the bar men, concierge and housekeeping but reception staff and managers disappointed with their service

Room Tip: Sea view room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanneGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

All in all a very good hotel, which i guess should be assosiated with Le Meridien. The pool is great but a bit crowdy. But the fitness and spa center is top notch.

But most importantly, the hotel i located close to all the best restaurants and away from the shady bar-strip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,971 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £87 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing