We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Penang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Almost 5 star”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed there as part of a group in mid Feb for 3 nights. Can't fault the location located right in front of a beautiful bay. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Good service and beautiful lobby. Had dinner there every night. Good spread for breakfast with Spumante included. The spa is gorgeous ut packed. Different themes for dinner with free flow wine included most nights. However the rooms are not cosy. Very cold and sparse feel towards it. The bathroom is nice though. For a 5star, they could at least upgrade the TV from the old one to a flat screen. Feee WIfi at lobby but none in the rooms even if you wanted to pay for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penangtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    881
    340
    108
    57
See reviews for
444
1,196
134
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

What a lovely break we had, at this hotel. The staff could not do enough, the whole of our stay. Everyone was friendly and made us feel special.
The management team made a complimentary cake and put this in our room, as it was my daughters christening over in Malta. We were travelling as a family of three, our fifteen month daughter, was treated as royalty and everything needed was on hand, good quality highchairs, cots etc. A bar staff member even retrieved a yoghurt for her, as the local supermarket had closed.
Our room 517 was lovely, do not believe all that is said, that you need to be in a high floor room. Our room had no noise traffic from the street and had amazing views of the sea and Balluta bay. Bathroom was very nice and room facilities great. More english tv channels would be a added bonus, but not vital.
The spa is very nice, our only one criticism of our whole stay, was the flooring in the spa area, the wood is starting to corrode and any weight on it, felt that it would break.
Breakfast was very relaxed and such a massive choice, a glass of sparkling wine, started each day, with the 5 * feel that the hotel had throughout our stay.

We have family in Malta and regulary visit, would definately go back, if the price was right.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely, our 5th floor room had great views and no noise traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 530maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We spent 5 wonderful nights in Le Meridien Hotel, St Julians, Malta and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We had a sea view room with balcony and room was large, very comfortable indeed - bed very comfortable, pool excellent and situation in St Julians perfect. Hotel is very convenient for the bus routes to visit places like Mdina which was beautiful. Thanks to Meridien staff who work hard and are extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We think it was well worth paying extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed here in 2008, and what a view we had from our balcony, which looked right over Balluta Bay.
The hotel gave us an upgrade because it was our anniversary, and I have to say it is the best hotel room we have ever stayed in.
The hotel has two swimming pools, one on the roof, and another indoor pool which is beautifully furnished, but dont expect lots of things to do for the children, it's more of a business or couples hotel.
The restaurant is very gentleman's club, its sedate and the guests keep themselves to themselves, this could be because of the multi-national nature of the clientele.
That said, the hotel has a nice ambience about it, and is wonderfully situated, and for the smokers amongst you it had a dedicated smoking room close to reception.
My general view is that it's a hotel well suited to couples, business people, or groups, but not young chidren.
Malta is a great Island to visit, and I used to swim in Balluta bay everyday; at high tide you just dive in from the steps, its like being in a 1950's film !

Room Tip: Ask for a bay facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel for the Malta Marathon weekend recently, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We participate in the SPG reward program, and are frequent travelers, and therefore were upgraded to the executive club lounge level (9) with free access to the lounge daily. This included breakfast and happy hour, both of which included plenty of food and beverages. We also had free access to the spa, sauna, steam room and indoor pool - amazing! My husband actually booked a spa package following the race at another '5 star' resort in Valletta because he found a special offer online, but having seen the Le Meridien spa, we should have stayed here for our spa day instead!

Not to mention, the staff at the hotel were incredibly friendly and went way above and beyond to make our stay extra special. The host in the club lounge was very friendly and happy to point out recommendations for restaurants and bars in the area. The receptionist and manager were extremely friendly at check in/ check out. But best of all - the concierge Joseph went well above his normal duties and drove us to the start line of the race in Mdina just after his shift ended at 7am! We cannot say 'thank you' enough to everyone there.

Of special note, our one negative finding was that there is no wifi in the rooms themselves. We had access just next door in the club lounge (I think there is also access in the lobby). However, Joseph mentioned to us that the hotel will be undergoing some upgrades very soon, and individual wifi access in all of the rooms will soon be available. Just another point to show that they do listen to their guests and are taking appropriate steps to update when warranted.

This hotel is absolutely perfect for a short break in Malta, we loved the location, cleanliness and modern design of the rooms, amazing balcony with Mediterranean sea views, and the staff made our stay one of the best in Europe. Thank you and we hope to see you all again!

Room Tip: Club level (floor 9) facing the sea - absolutely stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkygirlinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

It was the first time that I took my family to a weekend break in this hotel and we strongly recommend this hotel. The room was quite large. The food was excellent and the staff was superb. I would like to thank Mr. Damien Peplow from the restaurant who was of great help and went out of his way to make sure that we enjoy our dinner to the maximum. Surely an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

It was the second time in this superb hotel and again we really enjoy our stay. We were treated by the whole staff like a royal family. The room was full of everything we needed and the food was also great. I would like to thank Mr. Joseph Magro who showed professionalism in his duties and was a great help during our stay. The ONLY complaint that I have is that there is no wifi in the rooms. Hope that this could be solved until I come again in the near future

Room Tip: The higher level floor rooms have more sea views than the lower ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience following your recent stay at our hotel.

It is indeed a pleasure to hear that this is not the first time that you have stayed with us and that you have found our product and the services that we offer to your complete satisfaction on both occasions. With reference to your comment regarding the Wi-Fi, I am pleased to inform you that Wi-Fi will be available in all our rooms by the end of March 2013.

While we would like to once again thank you for your contribution, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Franco Vella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,670 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,957 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,226 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing