We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night on fish night dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I wish to thank Godwin and his staff for a very enjoyable evening on Fish Night.Had a wonderful time with my family.The food was excellent and service impeccable.Keep it up guys.We shall come again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 2,716 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Arrived in the middle of the night, hotel arranged efficient airport pickup, good welcome and a smooth checkin. Found the front desk and concierge consistently helpful throughout our stay.

The room we chose which was a sea-view superior double is huge. A bizarre design feature is that it has a separate toilet which is so small I couldnt get the door shut - which kind of defeats the point really, and would a few more inches have made any difference to the room space? - anyway its what you get.. Because the hotel is an impressively designed infill between existing buildings the sea view can be along the coast rather than out to sea.

Room faultlessly clean, bedding comfortable, would have liked some driving instructions on the ventilation system somewhere in the room.

The outdoor pool is on the roof top, good number of spare if firm loungers when we went (April) no idea what it would be like in peak season but the whole roof area is pretty big. Even though it was a warm spring day with lots of people the hotel hadnt opened up the rooftop bar. Tried the indoor pool once, warmer and more crowded, but not the spa facilities.

The breakfast is excellent, huge buffet choice, fresh cooked omelettes to order, still plenty on the tables at the closing time of 10.30 We ate in other restaurants so cant comment on other meals.

Good location, lots of buses to see the island and if you want the opentop bus (we did) there are free minibus connections to it. Our driver let us drop off outside the hotel on the way back.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed for 3 nights alone. nice pool area peaceful and quiet at night. clean and tidy. spa department was really nice. pleasant and helpful staff. good location with walking distance to everything....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

As an association, we have organised a spring dinner for a group of 46 pers plus 12 children. It was a buffet, we had a room specially for us with 7 tables laid beautifully. The event manager had prepared for us a board and a microphone. Food was good and the choice was giving everybody the possibility of eating what they liked. The service was nice and efficient. So it was a very pleasant evening for all of us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Spent 7 nights here in July. Hotel is well located in central St Julians overlooking the ocean. Staff is nice and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and well kept. We had a classic room, the room was very large (more like a junior suite) with a large bathroom with both a separate shower and a very large bath tub, in addition to this the balcony was quite large. Only odd thing in the room was the ancient miniature TV (21"?) which was so small that it was hard to see from the bed way across the other side of the room. Overall the hotel room was the best room I've had in any hotel. If I stay here again I will opt for a sea view room.

Roof top pool has a nice view but is shallow (120cm) and the surrounding area is simply too small in proportion to the number of guests in such a large hotel. Indoor pool is nice but also shallow, rest of the SPA area is very nice and relaxing with sauna, turkish sauna, whirlpool, gym etc... This hotel lives up to its five stars in my opinion, if you stay here you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Spend som extra cash on a room with a sea view. We regreted not doing so when we stayed at Le Meridi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedenNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Generally in life you get what you pay for and although this hotel isn’t the most expensive in the area it achieves a high overall standard and offers good value for money with clean, well serviced, spacious rooms and buffet dining. It is also well placed both for the main urban areas of Sliema and Valletta and the quiet harbour-side bars of St Julian’s bay.

The rooms are well appointed, with good bathrooms, separate toilets, a generous balcony and excellent views over the bay from the upper floors. For those who curse the noisy neighbours and thin walls of the airport hotel community this was an amazingly quiet hotel. Perhaps due to the layout of our room, not once in the week did we hear noises from other guests, their bathrooms or the corridor traffic.

The main dining room on the second floor offers an extensive, well-presented Mediterranean and European buffet, both morning and evening (but lunch is served in the dining area on the reception floor). The staff are helpful and attentive, the atmosphere being more business-like than intimate and regrettably the quiet but incessantly solid rock music was, after a while, a little wearing. (Maybe the management were demonstrating that despite the average age of the diners pushing the advanced side of fifty, this was a young and happening place to eat. Maybe they hadn’t noticed that everyone under thirty was wearing headphones). The restaurant would certainly benefit from an espresso coffee machine although, surprisingly, it does offer free sparkling wine at breakfast. Overall, the food during our stay was good. It was varied and plentiful, with the dining theme for each evening published in the lifts – and on some themed dining evenings free wine is offered.

For those seeking peace from the busy waterfront streets below, the pool and sun-lounger areas on the roof offer a quiet retreat (although our visit was outside the school vacation period). We would be very happy to stay at the Meridien again.

Room Tip: Always ask for a harbour-view room on an upper floor - but building is starting on apartments which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just returned from my first visit to Malta and my stay at Le Meridien. Enjoyed the hotel very much with my sea view room of Balluta Bay. The restaurant had a good choice of food with themed menus each evening, there was something for everyone. I have to say the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay and a special mention must go to Gary for his friendly efficient helpful approach. Would certainly stay here again when visiting Malta as it's location is good for reaching most parts of the island.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,829 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,058 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £80 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing