We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with an amazing seaside view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with an amazing seaside view”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here from the 4th until the 9th of May 2013.

As can be seen from the general manager replying to the worst of reviews - this is clearly a hotel that cares.

I read the bad reviews this hotel was given and decided to go anyway, as half of the bad reviews did not apply to me or any other sensible person (old TV? - if you are a couchpotato - stay home. No wifi in the room? - it's a holiday... enjoy your break from your overflowing inbox & the mindless web-surfing.)

To give you a rundown of top complaints and actions they have undertaken as of my stay there:

outdated TV:

They have updated their TVs with Samsung 42" or 50" flatscreens - I didn't measure them by hand - they were a fair bit larger than the 32" I have at home.)

No WiFi in the room:

There is free WiFi in the reception area and they are rolling out hotel-wide WiFi access. It did not work yet upon my arrival, however, being in IT project management myself, I understand that such an endeavor (roll-out) takes time - their login page for room access was already up and running, yet remained non-functional.

To the reviewers saying the hotel was overbooked: You might be right, that is an issue, and Le Meridien Malta should fix that - that is unacceptable.

To the reviewers from Britain using horrible syntax & grammar, I, as a non native speaker of English (from Belgium) skipped your review deeming you unqualified to review anything for a mass audience.

My personal opinion of the hotel:

- Matresses a bit hard - not an issue for me.
- Breakfast is served between 6:30 and 10:30, even late arrivals are served - great.
- The mini bar is automated, so whenever you lift a drink it is charged to your bill - take from that what you want. You get a chance to despute the charge at checkout.
- The seaside rooms are most definitely worth paying a premium for.
- They respect the Starwood Preferred Guest subscription (as long as the hotel is not overbooked, apparently.)
- Reception-, housekeeping-, and rooftop pool staff were very helpful.
- Last but not least, do realize that this is a hotel, not a resort, they don't have 50 pools and 20 pool bars. That being said, their rooftop pool has one of the most amazing views in Malta.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and will be returning myself.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Starwood Preferred Guest subscription - it doesn't take a lot of time and costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    849
    332
    105
    57
See reviews for
429
1,154
128
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed in May and highly recommend. We had a sea view room which had amazing views over the bay and was surprisingly quiet at night with the door open. Good rooftop pool although unheated, great gym and spa facilities. Mark in the lounge was awesome and service overall very good.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kula11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights.
No platinum recognition at the front desk and had to remind them that I could choose points as my welcome amenity. Not informed about use of the club lounge either. Also no suite upgrade, despite rooms available however we did get offered an executive club level room. Exec lounge - we arrived at 6pm and I was offered a glass of wine. After that there were no snacks or another drink offered (or on display). On the other 2 nights the same man was working in the lounge and was disinterested and spent more time on the computer for guests on the internet. No snacks offered on any of the nights despite half the other guests being offered them. In contrast, the lady who was working the morning shift in the lounge was an absolute angel and was very service orientated and was very happy to offer coffee etc.
We chose to dine at Kudeta for dinner and choose the mussels which were a special offer they had on. They arrived but half were ice cold and the remainder frozen so had to send the dish back. No Apology or anything for serving under prepared seafood. I did feel that the staff were all very new and at the start of the season so lacked in experience and training perhaps?

On the subject of the pool area - it is quite small with limited sun loungers. In contrast at the Westin, we got a suite upgrade, hot and cold snacks in the club lounge. Decent food offerings at the high end and more cafe style restaurant and overall had a nicer feel about it. On a positive side, the fitness centre and spa were excellent as was the location and the Villa restaurant (not part of the hotel) opposite.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelM0rris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for a week during the Easter Holidays. The Hotel was relatively quiet as it wasn't high season but the place was excellent. The Food was beautiful - especially the buffet downstairs - and the Health Spa facilities excellent too. The best thing about the Hotel was the staff. So friendly and extremely helpful at every opportunity. Our kids (age 8 & 6) were made welcome at every turn and if they didn't like anything in the restaurants - they were made alternatives (usually pizza!) without any fuss. Our daughter had a birthday whilst there and the staff made a surprise cake for her at breakfast and made her feel really special. Highly recommended for families looking for a relaxing holiday. Kids loved it!

Room Tip: We didn't book any trips through a rep. We hired a car for three days (drive on left hand side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, the room was o k ,asked for sea view had partial sea view the other part was backs of flats, not very nice .not enough lifts we had to wait sometimes for quite a while.the reception staff were very good. We did not eat there or have a spar treatment .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gharghur, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We recently held the BOV Entrepreneur Forum which included a business breakfast and moderated talks during the afternoon,culminating in networking drinks in the evening.
The meetings with the hotel staff prior to the event (namely Cristina Dimech) where always effectively managed with replies to our queries sent a couple of hours after the close of the meetings.
On the day, the back-office staff were always ready to help and when we decided to make last minute changes, they made a gargantuan task seem effortless.
The catering offered was perfect, the price was within our proposed budget and the venue is just perfect for these business forums.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehtnug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We had a delightful stay at Le Meridien. The service we were offered was exceptional starting from the reservations office. Booking our stay was made really easy thanks to Antonella Briffa who was very friendly and explained every step of the way. The spa was fantastic, offering a very relaxed atmosphere. We will surely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,485 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing