We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I must have stayed in a different Hotel.......................”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2008

............the Le Meridien St. Julians was far from being a five star Hotel in terms of service or standards. I have stayed in five star hotels around the world and have become accustomed to the standards. The staff were all very nice people but had no direction or motivation. The lifts leave you standing for upto 15 minutes at peak times, the waiting time for drinks everywhere is upto 15 minutes if you get one at all! The pool is far to small, this is supposed to be holiday resort hotel. Don't get me wrong I did enjoy my stay, but it was not great.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank andrewrcookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,910 - 1,916 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2008

Have just returned from a four night break in Malta, where we stayed at Le Meridien. We had a sea view room for which we paid a slightly higher rate, but it really was worth if for the stunning views across the bay. The room was clean, decent sized and well equipped with a lovely, private balcony. The bathroom had a separate shower cubicle with a drencher head and double ended bath (great for sharing).

When we arrived, the room was set up as a twin room rather than a double. We pushed the beds together and would have been happy to leave it this way, but when our luggage was brought up the porter noticed immediately and sent housekeeping to re-make up the beds to a proper double without us having to ask.

There was a great variety of food available for breakfast, particular mention should be made of the egg chef who would make you an omlette or fried eggs to order. However, the quality of the food wasn't great - really cheap sausages and bacon and tinned fruit.

Before we left I had read reviews complaining about the lifts and had wondered why anyone would feel the need to mention this - but by the second day our frustration was such with both the long waits and the continual missing of floors that we, and several other guests that we encountered would rather take the 5 flights of stairs to our room than wait for up to 5 minutes at a time for a lift to stop and take us up.

The roof top terrace was crowded round the pool, but still a nice area - if slow service from the bar there. The main bar 'Ku de Ta' was nice and had a lovely terrace looking over the bay. We had 5 cocktails from their extensive list - of these 2 (champagne cocktails) were quite nice, but the other 3 were really not great and didn't get finished - in particular a Caipirinha made without any limes!

The greatest thing about this hotel is the concierge, Mario, who was fantastic and helped us with a number of things - including booking an excellent restaurant for our last night and helping me to keep all the arrangements secret from my boyfriend.

the worst thing is the random music which is piped through the lifts and the roof terrace which imitates jungle sounds, bird song and horses riding through the streets! it's loud, random and intrusive - I really don't understand what they think this adds to the hotel experience.

Overall - this is a good hotel and I'd stay here again - particularly for the location - right on the bay with only a couple of minutes walk to a sandy beach, and strolling distance to a number of good restaurants and bars, but don't go expecting to be blown away.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We booked with Dial a Flight (Doug), who we use to book all our holidays and as always everything was fab.

We used the malta airport taxis, there is a booth where you pay the guy and he gives you a ticket to take outside to a taxi, they then know you have paid. It was 20 euros and 15 min journey.

On arrival we were upgraded to an executive suite. We had booked a junior suite with a sea view. The executive suites are better as they have two rooms with 2 bathrooms but no sea views. The hotel is immaculately clean. We had room 1030 which i would recommend, friends of ours had room 1003 which is not as well laid out at all.

The lifts are a bit of a pain, they do have a mind of their own!

I had 4 treatments in the spa which were excellent, it is quite pricey but they have specials most days, on the days they didnt i asked and they gave me a 25euro discount, so its worth asking!

The spa pool is open to children until 5pm but they need an adult with them.

The restaurant i buffet, the breakfast is excellent. We had one evening meal in here which was 25euros each and it was ok. There are plenty of places to eat nearby which are reasonable. Spinola bay which is a 10 min stroll has a buzzy atmosphere and there are restaurants just outside to the right on the square is excellent. The wine is cheap compared to home although the food is about the same.

The hotel bar between 6-7pm is 1/2 price, but you have to wait an eternity for a drink, this is the only fault of the hotel. We soon realised that if you learnt the staff names and had a chat they would be more efficient! They are all very helpful and polite but particularly slow and the bar was never busy.

The men and children in our party went scuba diving. They used Neptune diving, which is situated within the large pool by the sea opposite the hotel. The guy who owns it is english and called Martin, very professional and accomodating. We will be going back to dive again next year and will only use him. There are fantastic wrecks and dive sites here. If this is what you are going for you wont be disappointed.

This hotel is situated in the best area without a doubt. There are no beaches nearby but you can go in the sea and snorkel. There is a rooftop pool, there were 8 of us and we always got beds - it does get windy so sometimes there is no shade as the umbrellas have to be taken down.


Bus journeys are cheap 47cents into valetta as opposed to 28 euros by taxi. The black taxis (mercedes) dont have seatbelts in the back.

If you go to valetta go early - it gets so hot by 2pm its unbearable and also quite deserted. We visited the St. Johns co-cathedral - amazing! The only signed Cavaggio!

They frequently have fiestas going on. We went to Mosta - 20 mins in cab, great atmosphere, fireworks, this is the best one to go to. Celebration of Saint Maria.

We went horseriding in golden sands - 1/2 cab 27 euros. There is nothing here apart from horseriding and the radisson hotel on the beach front which is nice for a drink and lunch. The riding was a sunset 2hr ride 28euros each. The school is excellent and the horses well looked after, the owner is a woman from yorkshire with her maltese husband.

The children also went swimming with dolphins 120 euros, it is next to the water park, you can pay to go in both and is worth doing.

Overall: Fab hotel, excellent location, we will def go back but without the children. Once you have been with the kids there isnt much else to go back for, we will go for diving and more site seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We had a dream time at this hotel. Two families with five teenage boys, who loved the gym and spa. The staff are superb.

We explored Malta and enjoyed the beaches, but also loved to return to this lovely hotel and spend some chill out days there. If you have children and plan to spend most of the time in the hotel while on holiday, then yes, maybe choose a hotel with more outdoor, ground level pool space, but this one had everything for us. The location is great for families: you can swim safely off the nearby rocks, stroll to a number of very good restaurants; enjoy the evening breeze with Maltese families in the Balluta Bay square; easily walk to Sliema or let the teenageers loose in Paceville, just beyond Spinola Bay. It's not a long bus ride to Valletta, or take the boat from Sliema.

So what if the lifts are quirky? It was only an issue, sometimes, during the breakfast rush.

Happy hour in the bar is excellent, as is the Executive Lounge.

We just couldn't have made a better choice of hotel for our holiday and we will definitely go back.

Cameron-McPartlin, Preston

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank malteseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Hotel was beautiful, clean and bright, air conditioning in room, which was a blessing as it was so hot. It was our honeymoon and the staff couldnt do enough, a lovely suprise was champagne and a little tray of sweet/cakes in the room on arrival, great sittin out on balcony in a morning. Couldnt fault anything, breakfast had the biggest choice ever. Gorgeous roof top pool, never had any problems getting sunbeds whatever time of day. True what they say about the lifts, but be patient!
People have mentioned smell of drains, but that seems to be around the whole of malta, not just the hotel. Nothing was a problem for staff, always courteous and helpful, would definitely recommend the hotel and would love to stay there again, its a fantastic place, hotel meals a bit pricey, but there are so many places to eat within 2minutes of hotel, so its not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sue4formulaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Arrival: our flight was delayed by 12 hours (it was hell with Alitalia!!) when my boyfriend and I arrvied at the hotel the staff were lovely. Our luggage was lost in transit and they kindly took a photocopy of our lugguge report and used it to locate luggage on the airline website which they have access too. We went to our room very tired, and received a knock at the door within one minute. The concierge had arrived up with toothbrushes, shaving kit, mouthwash and extra shampoos, lotions etc to help until we got our luggage. It was lovely. Our baggage was delivered to our room on its' arrival the next day at 9pm. Remember be aware of lost luggage as the taxi man told me it is common. so pack an overnight bag if you are doing a transfer just in case.
Room: lovely, large, no sea view as it would cost extra on arrival (but not necessary as we didn't spend much time in room). Excellent air-conditioning which was needed as it was only down to 25 degrees at night. The en-suite was nice and had a seperate toilet room. The shower was lovely and powerful. Fresh towels everyday. they didn't change our sheets for the week I was staying though. You also get bathrobes (everything you would expect in this hotel to be honest).
Dining: the swimming pool bar on the 12th floor has a bad menu with no real snacks for during the day. They do ice-creams and water, soda etc. It cost €5 for a 1.5 litre of water (you could get 6 for this at the local shop out of front of hotel and turn left down sea front for 4 mins). I ate at the Ku de Te bar at lunch time at reception on floor 3, it was much nicer. We didn't try the resturant in the hotel. the hotel staff in the bar area were lovely, and made fabulous cocktails. Unfortunately, they are really slow at service. Sit in front of bar area if you want to keep their attention.
Swimming pool: on the 12th floor was small enough, but lovely. you get towels when you go up there so don't pack any. The umbrellas have to be closed when it is windy as they could blow off the roof. So take a sun hat for shade. This is not a kids hotel, the few kids that were staying were bored and there is nothing for them to do. the adult guests could have killed them for screaming so much. The pool is small enough without kids jumping in. Don't take under 16yrs to this hotel!!!!
the staff were so pleasant and helpful from our arrival to our departure. there was a transport strike during our stay so we had to rent a car and the concierge got the best quote for us. €52 for fully comphrehensive with no excess. you will enjoy this hotel. it is in the ideal location. I wouldn't want to stay in any other areas of malta to be honest. The swimming pool is a real bonus and not common in hotels in malta. on our third day we were informed by a cafe owner not to enter the sea due to jellyfish. So we were extra glad to have the pool.
I have stayed at another meridien before and this hotel was on-par with it. you can fight about if it is a 4 or 5 star hotel. but for me the service was five star and the staff 6 star. the staff made a difficult week (flight delays, lost luggage, transport strike, jellyfish) feel relaxed.
Gym: I love the gym, and didn't see anyone else report about it. it had 6 treadmills and 2 cross trainers, a step machine, free weights, and all the weight machines. It has tv and radio if you bring your earphones. it also has a squash court. It does have an indoor pool and spa but I didn't use either.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mrsdoyle_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We just arrived home from staying at the Meridien St Juliens for a 10 day holiday. We went for our 40th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. We had arranged for Kevins Taxis who provide an excellent service, to pick us up at the airport. On arrival at the hotel we were given a nice chilled drink by the front desk staff and the concierge was very helpful in meeting our immediate requirements . The room was spacious and clean and overlooked the bay. There was a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us in the room free of charge and a bottle of water. I have to say the minibar prices were sky high but that is usually the case in hotels. The buffet breakfast was very good and the croissants and omelettes were excellent. We found all the staff to be very courteous and helpful and the spa treatment area was very relaxing. I had a few treatments and found them not too expensive compared to UK prices. Most people do not seem to use the bar areas a lot. It could be the prices. Did not bother us that much as we do not drink a lot. Prices in surrounding bars not bad as local beer is cheap. The Paparrazzi Restaurant in Spinola Bay nearby is excellent value and quality. Restaurants outside hotel in triangle not that great. Found Italian pizzas a bit too crusty so went to Pizza Hut for ours!
Getting about in Malta very good as buses are right outside and you can also get the Hop On and Off Tour Bus if you flag it down.
All in all loved Malta and Le Meridien - cant fault it even though the lifts are a bit quirky. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank curlywurly_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,106 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £86 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing