We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien St. Julians
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Juliani(Saint Julian's)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rokna(Saint Julian's)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$375
US$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$296
US$210
InterContinental
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Valentina(Saint Julian's)
US$157
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$341
US$309
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$215
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,824)
Filter reviews
2,824 results
Traveller rating
1,359
943
353
109
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,359
943
353
109
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsballuta bayrooftop poolsea viewseparate toiletst juliansspa treatmentsthe executive loungespa areamini barhotel barroom was largeweekend breakvisit maltahalf boardomelettetaroconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,958 - 1,963 of 2,824 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2008

............the Le Meridien St. Julians was far from being a five star Hotel in terms of service or standards. I have stayed in five star hotels around the world and have become accustomed to the standards. The staff were all very nice people but had no direction or motivation. The lifts leave you standing for upto 15 minutes at peak times, the waiting time for drinks everywhere is upto 15 minutes if you get one at all! The pool is far to small, this is supposed to be holiday resort hotel. Don't get me wrong I did enjoy my stay, but it was not great.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank andrewrcookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Have just returned from a four night break in Malta, where we stayed at Le Meridien. We had a sea view room for which we paid a slightly higher rate, but it really was worth if for the stunning views across the bay. The room was clean, decent sized and well equipped with a lovely, private balcony. The bathroom had a separate shower cubicle with a drencher head and double ended bath (great for sharing).

When we arrived, the room was set up as a twin room rather than a double. We pushed the beds together and would have been happy to leave it this way, but when our luggage was brought up the porter noticed immediately and sent housekeeping to re-make up the beds to a proper double without us having to ask.

There was a great variety of food available for breakfast, particular mention should be made of the egg chef who would make you an omlette or fried eggs to order. However, the quality of the food wasn't great - really cheap sausages and bacon and tinned fruit.

Before we left I had read reviews complaining about the lifts and had wondered why anyone would feel the need to mention this - but by the second day our frustration was such with both the long waits and the continual missing of floors that we, and several other guests that we encountered would rather take the 5 flights of stairs to our room than wait for up to 5 minutes at a time for a lift to stop and take us up.

The roof top terrace was crowded round the pool, but still a nice area - if slow service from the bar there. The main bar 'Ku de Ta' was nice and had a lovely terrace looking over the bay. We had 5 cocktails from their extensive list - of these 2 (champagne cocktails) were quite nice, but the other 3 were really not great and didn't get finished - in particular a Caipirinha made without any limes!

The greatest thing about this hotel is the concierge, Mario, who was fantastic and helped us with a number of things - including booking an excellent restaurant for our last night and helping me to keep all the arrangements secret from my boyfriend.

the worst thing is the random music which is piped through the lifts and the roof terrace which imitates jungle sounds, bird song and horses riding through the streets! it's loud, random and intrusive - I really don't understand what they think this adds to the hotel experience.

Overall - this is a good hotel and I'd stay here again - particularly for the location - right on the bay with only a couple of minutes walk to a sandy beach, and strolling distance to a number of good restaurants and bars, but don't go expecting to be blown away.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We booked with Dial a Flight (Doug), who we use to book all our holidays and as always everything was fab.

We used the malta airport taxis, there is a booth where you pay the guy and he gives you a ticket to take outside to a taxi, they then know you have paid. It was 20 euros and 15 min journey.

On arrival we were upgraded to an executive suite. We had booked a junior suite with a sea view. The executive suites are better as they have two rooms with 2 bathrooms but no sea views. The hotel is immaculately clean. We had room 1030 which i would recommend, friends of ours had room 1003 which is not as well laid out at all.

The lifts are a bit of a pain, they do have a mind of their own!

I had 4 treatments in the spa which were excellent, it is quite pricey but they have specials most days, on the days they didnt i asked and they gave me a 25euro discount, so its worth asking!

The spa pool is open to children until 5pm but they need an adult with them.

The restaurant i buffet, the breakfast is excellent. We had one evening meal in here which was 25euros each and it was ok. There are plenty of places to eat nearby which are reasonable. Spinola bay which is a 10 min stroll has a buzzy atmosphere and there are restaurants just outside to the right on the square is excellent. The wine is cheap compared to home although the food is about the same.

The hotel bar between 6-7pm is 1/2 price, but you have to wait an eternity for a drink, this is the only fault of the hotel. We soon realised that if you learnt the staff names and had a chat they would be more efficient! They are all very helpful and polite but particularly slow and the bar was never busy.

The men and children in our party went scuba diving. They used Neptune diving, which is situated within the large pool by the sea opposite the hotel. The guy who owns it is english and called Martin, very professional and accomodating. We will be going back to dive again next year and will only use him. There are fantastic wrecks and dive sites here. If this is what you are going for you wont be disappointed.

This hotel is situated in the best area without a doubt. There are no beaches nearby but you can go in the sea and snorkel. There is a rooftop pool, there were 8 of us and we always got beds - it does get windy so sometimes there is no shade as the umbrellas have to be taken down.


Bus journeys are cheap 47cents into valetta as opposed to 28 euros by taxi. The black taxis (mercedes) dont have seatbelts in the back.

If you go to valetta go early - it gets so hot by 2pm its unbearable and also quite deserted. We visited the St. Johns co-cathedral - amazing! The only signed Cavaggio!

They frequently have fiestas going on. We went to Mosta - 20 mins in cab, great atmosphere, fireworks, this is the best one to go to. Celebration of Saint Maria.

We went horseriding in golden sands - 1/2 cab 27 euros. There is nothing here apart from horseriding and the radisson hotel on the beach front which is nice for a drink and lunch. The riding was a sunset 2hr ride 28euros each. The school is excellent and the horses well looked after, the owner is a woman from yorkshire with her maltese husband.

The children also went swimming with dolphins 120 euros, it is next to the water park, you can pay to go in both and is worth doing.

Overall: Fab hotel, excellent location, we will def go back but without the children. Once you have been with the kids there isnt much else to go back for, we will go for diving and more site seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We had a dream time at this hotel. Two families with five teenage boys, who loved the gym and spa. The staff are superb.

We explored Malta and enjoyed the beaches, but also loved to return to this lovely hotel and spend some chill out days there. If you have children and plan to spend most of the time in the hotel while on holiday, then yes, maybe choose a hotel with more outdoor, ground level pool space, but this one had everything for us. The location is great for families: you can swim safely off the nearby rocks, stroll to a number of very good restaurants; enjoy the evening breeze with Maltese families in the Balluta Bay square; easily walk to Sliema or let the teenageers loose in Paceville, just beyond Spinola Bay. It's not a long bus ride to Valletta, or take the boat from Sliema.

So what if the lifts are quirky? It was only an issue, sometimes, during the breakfast rush.

Happy hour in the bar is excellent, as is the Executive Lounge.

We just couldn't have made a better choice of hotel for our holiday and we will definitely go back.

Cameron-McPartlin, Preston

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank malteseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Hotel was beautiful, clean and bright, air conditioning in room, which was a blessing as it was so hot. It was our honeymoon and the staff couldnt do enough, a lovely suprise was champagne and a little tray of sweet/cakes in the room on arrival, great sittin out on balcony in a morning. Couldnt fault anything, breakfast had the biggest choice ever. Gorgeous roof top pool, never had any problems getting sunbeds whatever time of day. True what they say about the lifts, but be patient!
People have mentioned smell of drains, but that seems to be around the whole of malta, not just the hotel. Nothing was a problem for staff, always courteous and helpful, would definitely recommend the hotel and would love to stay there again, its a fantastic place, hotel meals a bit pricey, but there are so many places to eat within 2minutes of hotel, so its not a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sue4formulaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews