We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - shame about closure of pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is lovely and staff are friendly and accommodating. However we were disappointed to find that the indoor pool was closed for maintenance. This would have been nice to know when we booked as we would have booked another hotel! The weather was not warm enough to use outside pools and the indoor pool was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel. Would not have paid as much for the room if we had known. Also building works outside starting at 7am meant we were woken early although this is not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW19842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear SW19842014,

Thank you for the constructive comments regarding your stay at our property.

I do further want to thank you for the positive comments regarding our members of staff. On the other hand please accept my apology regarding the emergency closure of our indoor pool. With great pleasure I can inform you that our indoor pool was reopened on Thursday 20th March and is in full operation.

All the team is looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 2,747 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights, room was upgraded to junior suite. Shame the indoor pool closed for 6 days whilst we were there as the weather was too cold and wet to enjoy the outdoor pool. Food was excellent, we were on half board, with a special mention to chef Luke who made us a special pudding on one evening. He is a very pleasant young man always willing to stop and chat even though I am sure he must be busy most of the day.
Had a spa treatment whilst there which again was really good.
Lifts are still being upgraded as mentioned by others but it only caused us problems a couple of times, over all I would return to the hotel but maybe not as early in the year

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillymacHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear JillymacHull,

First and foremost let me take this opportunity to thank you for your valued custom and for choosing Le Méridien St. Julians Hotel and Spa.

I am happy to read that our food and beverage services were up to your satisfaction and that Luke has aided in making your stay at our property a memorable one.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back amongst us, do not hesitate to contact me directly by email which is available on our official website for any requests that you may have.

Kind regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in March, which is the low season in Malta so it was fairly quiet.

The hotel is very large and because it is built onto the cliff face of St Julian's has direct elevator access from the rooms down to the sea front promenade at level zero, whilst reception is up on level three and the restaurant on level two.

The hotel is kept very clean and is well located with a 10 - 15 minutes walk to Paceville where a lot of bars and restaurants can be found.

On the downside the hotel indoor swimming pool had been closed at short notice just before our arrival so they could carry out some emergency repair works and the roof top swimming pool is closed in low season. As compensation they were offering free wifi internet in the rooms and we were able to upgrade the rooms to ocean view - the first rooms we were allocated had views over the top of roofs!

Secondly they are in the process of replacing the elevators with new touch screen controlled ones. The touch screens are not exactly iPads and it is easy to press for the wrong floor several times - very frustrating! Also the touch screen would occasionally inform you that a lift could not be allocated, which normally happened when many people were using them so you would be left standing there for a few minutes until the problem cleared itself. They need to get that solved before the much busier high season - the receptionist said they were working on it.

Overall I would call the hotel a reasonable 4 star but we won't be returning.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Misiu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Misiu1980,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

On behalf of the whole team I do want to personally apologize for the inconveniences that were caused during your stay at our property.

With regards to the lifts, I am disappointed to read that our two newly renovated lifts were not up to your satisfaction. As one can appreciate the software that is currently operating two out of the four lifts is the latest technology available in the hospitality industry. I do sincerely apologize that they have caused an inconvenience while staying with us.

I do want to further apologize for the emergency closure of our indoor pool. As explained by our members of staff we had massive leakages coming from the pool and therefore it had to be closed with immediate effect. Furthermore I do sincerely apologize that the compensation offered from our side was not up to your satisfaction.

I do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back at Le Méridien St. Julians Hotel and Spa. Feel free to contact me directly by email (available on our official website) should you wish to provide me with further feedback.

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here 2 nights and was really impressed with the " suite" we had . Separate toilet is a great idea and as for the king size bed, sheer comfort. Free Internet only in the foyer( what is it with 5 star hotels that charge what is really a basic item nowadays) . But recommend this as being quite well located in the area. A short walk to the main cafe area makes it even better

Room Tip: Get onto last minute.com etc to get real value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColingUnther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear ColingUnther,

Thank you for the positive review regarding your stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

As accurately commented the property’s location makes it easy for each guest to make the most out of their trip, being business or leisure.

Thank you once again, I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back amongst us.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This Hotel is located in the heart of a beatifull village but away from distractions and noise . The staff are always willing to help you out anytime.The catering was of good quality coupled with exelent service.
I will organise another event hands down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCamilleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear JohnCamilleri,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for the positive comments regarding the event that we hosted for you.

It was our pleasure having you with us. Both the events and food & beverage associates have been informed about this review.

Warmest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stopped at the Meridien St. Julians for one night. My room was very spacious and nicely furnished with a view on the bay.

I used free Wi-Fi in the lobby to connect to the Internet - worked flawlessly. My colleague and I had an enjoyable drink and evening snack in the hotel bar. I would definitely recommend that if you don't want to go out (we didn't - it was raining cats and dogs). Breakfast was very good - I had a freshly made omelette prepared by a friendly chef.

I liked the atmosphere of the hotel - relaxed and friendly. I would definitely return when I visit Malta again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincePolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear PrincePolo,

Thank you for the kind comments regarding your experience at our property.

It is a pleasure to read that our services were up to your satisfaction. The comment was communicated with the entire team.

All of us at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa are looking forward to welcoming you back with us.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel was a good choice as it was tranquil and nice. The spa and leisure centre were great also. Only complaint which is beyond the hotels control was the building taking place at the time it started really early and was rather dusty.
Overall the service was good food was good room nice and spacious and staff extremely attentive and helpful would return and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotter201026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Globetrotter201026,

Thank you for sharing this positive feedback regarding your latest stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa with us and other fellow travelers.

Our members of staff do make their very best to provide an excellent service to our valued guests.

Thank you once again, the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back with us.

Kind regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,106 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £84 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing