We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaints for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“no complaints for the price”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked this on a special internet rate. The hotel did not disappoint. As other commentators have noted the lifts are a bit of a mess, but this is a minor issue. It is a bit confusing the way the reception is on the third floor. The room was immaculate, spotless and gave a real impression of luxury. We had a balcony that was nice, although it looked out to the rear but this was not suprising given that we were on a discounted rate. So no complaints there. We were on room only but you can get a full breakfast in the bar area for about 9 euros which I would fully recommend. The staff were excellent. One star is lost for the spa, which was a big reason why we booked. The rules about using the spa were very confusing. For the benefit of future guests, you are supposed to get changed in your room, having ordered some special slippers from room service (which will be too small for you if your feet are big), and go to the spa in your swimsuit, albeit in a bath gown, one of which will be in the bathroom, the other in the cupboard. None of this is explained anywhere, and it seemed that the lift issue was exacerbated by confused guests going back to their rooms to try and follow the spa rules. The actual 'spa' (a tiny swimming pool, lukewarm jacuzzi and decent sauna) is nothing special and was overcrowded in the afternoon, when we went. The treatments looked expensive and we gave them a wide berth.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Neil H,

I want to start by thanking you for the comment and ratings.

Thank you for mentioning our wonderful rooms, the food and beverage service offered at Ku Dé Ta and the great service that was offered by our members of staff. On the other hand please accept my apology for the issues encountered when trying to make use of our Lotus SPA. I do further apologize that our Indoor pool was not up to your satisfaction.

The entire comment has been communicated with the respective head of departments.

Thank you once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back with us at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    882
    340
    108
    57
See reviews for
445
1,198
134
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Had a hard time writing my review of this hotel as had a few complaints but Gilbert in Guest Relations was so nice. I have to be fair though.
Check in was a little too long, we weren't offered a warm towel or a drink. We also weren't told of any issues, more later.
The lifts as have been mentioned have had issues since October 2013 at least and continue to do so.
Room was fine with a view of the bay but also of a building site which as it gets taller is blocking many rooms view of the sea. They start at 7 so be aware.
Bed very firm but they will put a quilt on as a mattress topper if asked. Shower is in a cubicle with the shower head above you. It can't be moved and you can't avoid getting hair wet. Please note that not all ladies want to get their hair wet each time they shower. No shower caps were in the room but they let me have one when asked. I think they should be there ready and waiting.
Not many English TV channels.

Now the main issues for us. We booked this hotel because it had a nice indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and gym etc and we planned to use these every day to help us de-stress from our busy jobs. We were therefore extremely disappointed when we first used the facilities on the Sunday to find they were closing them the next day. Repairs were needed to the pool and they were taking the opportunity to do a refurbishment too. Why weren't we told before we arrived? They knew a few days before. Why not be advised at check in? This did spoil our holiday. We took this up with Gilbert and even asked if we could use the sister hotel Westin Dragonara's pool but this was declined. We were offered half board which we didn't want as we like to try different restaurants. Gilbert put a credit on our room which was good of him but it never made up for the loss of those relaxing facilities.

Breakfast was good. Happy hour in the bar went down well and they do nice food there too.

We decided to try the Spanish Fiesta night in the Scirocco restaurant. Big mistake. I am not sure the head chef has ever tried authentic paella but please be assured it would never be served with crab sticks! It was meant to be seafood but apart from the crab sticks it was just a few muscles. No peas. And no paella pan, they seemed to be stir frying pre cooked rice. There were other offerings but it was very average for €26.50 per person. Try Wiggis on the sea front, 2 min walk away, a different class.

Hopefully once the pool facilities are back open I'm sure it will be nice. Overall though I didn't come home feeling relaxed so can't rate it higher.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Wildpoppy,

Thank you for the comment and the points that you felt necessary to highlight regarding your experience at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa. I do want to personally apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay at our property.

It was a pleasure being at your assistance. Moreover, I am disappointed to read that the compensation offered was not up to your satisfaction. I do further apologize that I was not able to meet your expectations.

With regards to the inconvenience caused at our main restaurant please note that our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage manager were informed immediately after the feedback was provided.

Once again I do honestly apologize and hope that I will have another opportunity to welcome you back at our property. Feel free to contact me directly via email (available on our official website) for any assistance and special requirements.

Kindest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cospicua (Bormla), Malta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Choosing Le Meridien for our wedding venue was an excellent idea. We had excellent organisers which helped us to the end, Mr.Gilbert Xuereb and Ms.Elyse Borg, we thank you so much. The food was great,agreed by ourselves and the guests, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Thansk for making our wedding day a unique experience so far :) Furthermore, we have been also to Le Meridien for their evenign buffets....not to be missed !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAgius2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear SAgius2014,

On behalf of the whole team I congratulate you on your wedding and wish you a life with great health and happiness.

Thank you for the wonderful and lovely comments regarding our level of service. It was truly a pleasure being at your assistance. The comment has been forwarded to the banqueting and events team with a particular reference to Ms. Elyse Borg.

All of us at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa are looking forward to welcoming you back amongst us.

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is lovely and staff are friendly and accommodating. However we were disappointed to find that the indoor pool was closed for maintenance. This would have been nice to know when we booked as we would have booked another hotel! The weather was not warm enough to use outside pools and the indoor pool was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel. Would not have paid as much for the room if we had known. Also building works outside starting at 7am meant we were woken early although this is not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW19842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear SW19842014,

Thank you for the constructive comments regarding your stay at our property.

I do further want to thank you for the positive comments regarding our members of staff. On the other hand please accept my apology regarding the emergency closure of our indoor pool. With great pleasure I can inform you that our indoor pool was reopened on Thursday 20th March and is in full operation.

All the team is looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hessle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights, room was upgraded to junior suite. Shame the indoor pool closed for 6 days whilst we were there as the weather was too cold and wet to enjoy the outdoor pool. Food was excellent, we were on half board, with a special mention to chef Luke who made us a special pudding on one evening. He is a very pleasant young man always willing to stop and chat even though I am sure he must be busy most of the day.
Had a spa treatment whilst there which again was really good.
Lifts are still being upgraded as mentioned by others but it only caused us problems a couple of times, over all I would return to the hotel but maybe not as early in the year

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillymacHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear JillymacHull,

First and foremost let me take this opportunity to thank you for your valued custom and for choosing Le Méridien St. Julians Hotel and Spa.

I am happy to read that our food and beverage services were up to your satisfaction and that Luke has aided in making your stay at our property a memorable one.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back amongst us, do not hesitate to contact me directly by email which is available on our official website for any requests that you may have.

Kind regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in March, which is the low season in Malta so it was fairly quiet.

The hotel is very large and because it is built onto the cliff face of St Julian's has direct elevator access from the rooms down to the sea front promenade at level zero, whilst reception is up on level three and the restaurant on level two.

The hotel is kept very clean and is well located with a 10 - 15 minutes walk to Paceville where a lot of bars and restaurants can be found.

On the downside the hotel indoor swimming pool had been closed at short notice just before our arrival so they could carry out some emergency repair works and the roof top swimming pool is closed in low season. As compensation they were offering free wifi internet in the rooms and we were able to upgrade the rooms to ocean view - the first rooms we were allocated had views over the top of roofs!

Secondly they are in the process of replacing the elevators with new touch screen controlled ones. The touch screens are not exactly iPads and it is easy to press for the wrong floor several times - very frustrating! Also the touch screen would occasionally inform you that a lift could not be allocated, which normally happened when many people were using them so you would be left standing there for a few minutes until the problem cleared itself. They need to get that solved before the much busier high season - the receptionist said they were working on it.

Overall I would call the hotel a reasonable 4 star but we won't be returning.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Misiu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Misiu1980,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

On behalf of the whole team I do want to personally apologize for the inconveniences that were caused during your stay at our property.

With regards to the lifts, I am disappointed to read that our two newly renovated lifts were not up to your satisfaction. As one can appreciate the software that is currently operating two out of the four lifts is the latest technology available in the hospitality industry. I do sincerely apologize that they have caused an inconvenience while staying with us.

I do want to further apologize for the emergency closure of our indoor pool. As explained by our members of staff we had massive leakages coming from the pool and therefore it had to be closed with immediate effect. Furthermore I do sincerely apologize that the compensation offered from our side was not up to your satisfaction.

I do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back at Le Méridien St. Julians Hotel and Spa. Feel free to contact me directly by email (available on our official website) should you wish to provide me with further feedback.

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here 2 nights and was really impressed with the " suite" we had . Separate toilet is a great idea and as for the king size bed, sheer comfort. Free Internet only in the foyer( what is it with 5 star hotels that charge what is really a basic item nowadays) . But recommend this as being quite well located in the area. A short walk to the main cafe area makes it even better

Room Tip: Get onto last minute.com etc to get real value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColingUnther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear ColingUnther,

Thank you for the positive review regarding your stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

As accurately commented the property’s location makes it easy for each guest to make the most out of their trip, being business or leisure.

Thank you once again, I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back amongst us.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,688 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Prestigia, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing