We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned after 4 nights in the Le Meridian hotel. We had a wonderful time. The hotel was first class with extremely pleasant and helpful staff. The room was upgraded and it was lovely so thank you. Breakfasts were first class and we also had a lovely meal on the Saturday night. Definitely a lovely hotel to stay in and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Well done

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Lesley M,

On behalf of the whole team at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa I thank you for the positive review regarding your latest stay at our property.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at our property in the near future.

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    847
    330
    105
    57
See reviews for
429
1,151
127
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked a short break of 4 nights at Le Meridien through Broadway travel for 6 family members to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday. Everything was first class at an amazing value for money deal.The room was large and spotlessly clean, all staff very friendly especially the concierge. I would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Hortsy,

Thank you for sharing these positive and wonderful comments with us and other fellow travelers.

I am pleased to read that our members of staff were able to provide you with a memorable experience. It was a real pleasure having all of you with us for such a lovely occasion.

Thank you once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice now and I really do love it. I look forward to the buffet breakfast each morning after a good night's sleep. The hotel is generally quiet and is therefore great for a relaxcing holiday. Seaview room obviously comes with a great view but I have also had a room at the back of the hotel, although the view isnt as good it suits me better as the balcony has the sun on it all day long.

Really clean hotel, proper 5*, friendly staff, great location, food always amazing and reasonable.

For those who like to exercise whilst on hols, the hotel has a spa, heated pool, and the gym isnt your normal hotel gym, it has all the cardio equipment you could want as well as resistance machines and free weights.

Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear GarethMcKeown77,

Thank you for choosing Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa and for your valued custom.

I have personally communicated the entire comment with the whole team and all of our associates were delighted to read such a positive comment.

Feel free to contact me directly via email (available on our official website) for any requests that may have in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Seems airconditioner only produced heat in our room, but no need in winter anyway. They refurbished half the elevators, making them very slow - sometimes elevators refused to go (ie you pressed a keypanel for desired floor to call on the elevators, BUT this often gave a too busy, try again later message). Especially "funny" as I went to a floor 3 floors above another guy, he was denied access - while I got the lift for my floor.

Room was good and view was good, light switches appeared a bit illogically placed for bath rooms. Nice that they had one europlug in the room.

Internet was apparently only free due to refurbishment inconvenience and needs activation by credit card at front desk.

Free private parking was nice as can be hard to find street parking. Remember to get a parking ticket for your stay.

Breakfast was good, could be better for a 5star - but not bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janoleolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Janoleosen,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your latest experience at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

As accurately commented we do have lovely rooms overlooking Balluta Bay. On the other hand, please do accept my apology for the inconvenience that you encountered due to our lift upgrade.

I do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We really enjoyed the warm and fantastic atmosphere delivered by the staff in charge on 22nd March 2014. Delicious food and beverages. Really enjoyed by all guests present. The event organiser - Christina - was really charming and helpful. Keep it UP! You really made this day unforgettable for my daughter - the new mum to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Manuel G,

Thank you for choosing Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that our level of service has exceeded your expectation. The review has been forwarded to the respective head of departments. We are very proud to have Ms. Cristina Dimech as part of the Le Méridien team.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked this on a special internet rate. The hotel did not disappoint. As other commentators have noted the lifts are a bit of a mess, but this is a minor issue. It is a bit confusing the way the reception is on the third floor. The room was immaculate, spotless and gave a real impression of luxury. We had a balcony that was nice, although it looked out to the rear but this was not suprising given that we were on a discounted rate. So no complaints there. We were on room only but you can get a full breakfast in the bar area for about 9 euros which I would fully recommend. The staff were excellent. One star is lost for the spa, which was a big reason why we booked. The rules about using the spa were very confusing. For the benefit of future guests, you are supposed to get changed in your room, having ordered some special slippers from room service (which will be too small for you if your feet are big), and go to the spa in your swimsuit, albeit in a bath gown, one of which will be in the bathroom, the other in the cupboard. None of this is explained anywhere, and it seemed that the lift issue was exacerbated by confused guests going back to their rooms to try and follow the spa rules. The actual 'spa' (a tiny swimming pool, lukewarm jacuzzi and decent sauna) is nothing special and was overcrowded in the afternoon, when we went. The treatments looked expensive and we gave them a wide berth.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Neil H,

I want to start by thanking you for the comment and ratings.

Thank you for mentioning our wonderful rooms, the food and beverage service offered at Ku Dé Ta and the great service that was offered by our members of staff. On the other hand please accept my apology for the issues encountered when trying to make use of our Lotus SPA. I do further apologize that our Indoor pool was not up to your satisfaction.

The entire comment has been communicated with the respective head of departments.

Thank you once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back with us at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Had a hard time writing my review of this hotel as had a few complaints but Gilbert in Guest Relations was so nice. I have to be fair though.
Check in was a little too long, we weren't offered a warm towel or a drink. We also weren't told of any issues, more later.
The lifts as have been mentioned have had issues since October 2013 at least and continue to do so.
Room was fine with a view of the bay but also of a building site which as it gets taller is blocking many rooms view of the sea. They start at 7 so be aware.
Bed very firm but they will put a quilt on as a mattress topper if asked. Shower is in a cubicle with the shower head above you. It can't be moved and you can't avoid getting hair wet. Please note that not all ladies want to get their hair wet each time they shower. No shower caps were in the room but they let me have one when asked. I think they should be there ready and waiting.
Not many English TV channels.

Now the main issues for us. We booked this hotel because it had a nice indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and gym etc and we planned to use these every day to help us de-stress from our busy jobs. We were therefore extremely disappointed when we first used the facilities on the Sunday to find they were closing them the next day. Repairs were needed to the pool and they were taking the opportunity to do a refurbishment too. Why weren't we told before we arrived? They knew a few days before. Why not be advised at check in? This did spoil our holiday. We took this up with Gilbert and even asked if we could use the sister hotel Westin Dragonara's pool but this was declined. We were offered half board which we didn't want as we like to try different restaurants. Gilbert put a credit on our room which was good of him but it never made up for the loss of those relaxing facilities.

Breakfast was good. Happy hour in the bar went down well and they do nice food there too.

We decided to try the Spanish Fiesta night in the Scirocco restaurant. Big mistake. I am not sure the head chef has ever tried authentic paella but please be assured it would never be served with crab sticks! It was meant to be seafood but apart from the crab sticks it was just a few muscles. No peas. And no paella pan, they seemed to be stir frying pre cooked rice. There were other offerings but it was very average for €26.50 per person. Try Wiggis on the sea front, 2 min walk away, a different class.

Hopefully once the pool facilities are back open I'm sure it will be nice. Overall though I didn't come home feeling relaxed so can't rate it higher.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Wildpoppy,

Thank you for the comment and the points that you felt necessary to highlight regarding your experience at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa. I do want to personally apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay at our property.

It was a pleasure being at your assistance. Moreover, I am disappointed to read that the compensation offered was not up to your satisfaction. I do further apologize that I was not able to meet your expectations.

With regards to the inconvenience caused at our main restaurant please note that our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage manager were informed immediately after the feedback was provided.

Once again I do honestly apologize and hope that I will have another opportunity to welcome you back at our property. Feel free to contact me directly via email (available on our official website) for any assistance and special requirements.

Kindest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,469 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing