We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the lifts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

They have installed a 'modern' lift device and it's awful, literally every guest I spoke at the hotel commented on it. It's a bit like a pad but it's not user friendly, it's difficult to use and if you happen to press the wrong button whilst trying to decipher it there is no way of cancelling it.

It also causes delays and there are not individual to select individual floors and also there is no lift guide telling which floor the lift is at and displaying if it's on it's way or not.

Whoever came up with this idea clearly did not test it or get feedback from guests, I must have spoken to 30 guests who found it to be a poor idea and not one who thought it was good. At one stage the bottle neck became such a problem that some of us were escorted to the service lift out the back!

In all fairness the staff are lovely and always try to be helpful, the breakfast is okay the omelette station is good.

The rooms only have 2 power points so if you have multiple devices you can't have them all charging up at the same time, as I was on my own that was okay but for 2 people it might be a problem.

I've now stayed at 5 different 5 star hotels in St Julians and Sleima and in my opinion The Palace Hotel is by far the best. If it wasn't for the lift issue at Le Meredian I would come back here but sometimes spending as much as 10 minutes waiting for a lift has put me off.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if you want the view or the other side if you want the sun on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amchara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Amchara,

Let me start by apologizing on behalf of the whole team at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa for the issues that you have encountered due to our lift upgrade. I do hope that the follow up from our side was up to your satisfaction.

On the other hand, I do want to personally thank you for highlighting that our associates have provided you with the best possible service and were always there when assistance was required.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 2,785 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you are planning a holiday to this hotel please make sure that you are exceedingly fit. We are staying here and if we are lucky one lift can be working. Just come in to find that no lifts are working and when we complained to reception the receptionist told us we could take the stairs. As we are on the 11th floor this is not an option. This has totally ruined our holiday as when there is 1lift working you have to wait 15 to 20 minutes. This is not what we expect from Le meridian chain. Perhaps they should have closed the hotel while they install new lifts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayhopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Holidayhopes,

Thank you for your review and the feedback that you have provided us with.

I honestly apologize for any inconvenience that was caused during your stay with us due to our lift upgrade. Such a project was put into place due to past negative comments regarding the inefficiency of our lift system.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again to Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

Warmest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for 4 very enjoyable days. The hotel should be congratulated with having such a helpful and friendly staff. The front desk team and concierge was most helpful.
We only had breakfast and I can say that it was excellent with plenty of choices.
Only downside was the new lift with the touch screen system- it was very chaotic.
Highly recommended and would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bert88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Bert88,

On behalf of the Le Méridien team I want to thank you for the positive review.

I have personally communicated your comments with our associates with a particular reference to our front office team.

I look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future. Should you have any requests, feel free to contact me directly by email which is available on our official website.

Warmest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed last week, as a disabled traveller, the room was perfectly adapted . The food at breakfast and dinner could not be faulted, and all the staff were only to pleased to help me with carrying food from the buffet to my table for me. A special mention to one of the talented chefs in the team, Luke from Cumbria, who was so helpful. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone, especially those of us in wheelchairs.

Margo@notts

Room Tip: Speak to the reception staff personally for advice on the rooms before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Margo79,

I am delighted to read that our members of staff have made your stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa a wonderful one. It was our pleasure having you with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It is a well serviced hotel, with free parking, free wifi. The wellness is really well equipped with hamam, sauna and indoor pool. There is also an outdoor pool with a sun terrace. The staff is professional and very helpful. The design of the hotel is a bit unusual, especally the elevators can give a hedache... Now there are constructions right nex door, but they finish early and don't start before 9, so it is not too much disturbing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Imre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Imre V,

Thank you for the positive feedback that you have provided us with.

As accurately commented our members of staff do their very best to be as helpful as possible when assisting our valued guests.

All of us at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa are looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good location close to bus stations. Big and Clean rooms, (extra payment for sea view), very nice breakfast and dinner as we'll (good variety and quality). One evening at dinner, we arrived at 20:30 and we had to ask for main course refreshment since it was pure empty buffet - we waited 30 minutes !
Also, critical issue with the hotel new elevator system. Poor availability of only two elevators (you can wait 10-15 minutes and you get error massage from the elevator system).
Also, unfinished constructions at the elevators lobbies and at the roof entrance were the pool is located.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Ezra A,

Thank you for the positive ratings regarding your latest stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

Please accept my apology for the inconveniences that you have encountered with regards to one of our food and beverage venues and the upgrade of our lift system. I have personally communicated your kind comments with the respective head of departments.

Thank you once again, we all look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

For excellent views, very comfortable rooms and pleasant, attentive, accommodating and hard working staff, then the Le Meridien would be hard to beat. We stayed at the end of March on half board where not all the hotels facilities were available, but still had an enjoyable holiday.
The food and service in the Sirocco Buffet Restaurant was excellent, with Chefs on hand to assist you on a superb food selection, covering dishes from a wide variety of countries. You will not be disappointed with the choice and quality. A special thank you to Silvia, Christina and Danaris who very friendly and professional, a true credit to a well run hotel. After all it is the staff that make a good hotel. One night we also tried the a la carte restaurant for a change, where the service and cuisine was exceptional. If the Maltese wine is to your taste then you will find these very reasonably priced at about 10 euros per bottle. If you prefer a change from the hotel then there are quite a number of bars and restaurants very close by as the hotel is in quite a vibrant location. Buffet breakfast had a good range of hot and cold food, but do be prepared to be patient for the 'omelet man'.
The bedrooms are very well appointed, with large screen TV's, with limited English channels, but do you go away on holiday to watch TV? Our deluxe/sea view room (728) had a spacious en suite bathroom, mini bar and balcony in addition to the usual facilities. The bed was quite firm, but we prefer this type. Each day the bedroom was cleaned to a high standard.
The hotel in general has a relaxing atmosphere, but guests should be aware that there is some external building work currently due to the hotels expansion. This didn't really effect our stay too much as some other reports may suggest.
Overall a very, very pleasant stay in a well run hotel.


This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a deluxe sea view room to attain an exceptional view of the bay. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rods350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Rods350,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that our food and beverage services, the location of the property and our rooms were up to your satisfaction. I do want to thank you further for pointing out the members of staff that have contributed in making your stay an excellent one.

With regards to the construction site, please note that this building does not belong to Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa however I sincerely apologize if such construction works have caused an inconvenience while staying with us.

Kindest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,009 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,624 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £104 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing