We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stands for its stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Exceptionally friendly staff, impeccable rooms, view to die for, neat.
Food (great chef Ruben Griscti) is one of the best assets for this hotel. Buffet is never ending eat as much as you like and all sorts of food are on display. Dessert is the best I've tasted so far, all sorts of varieties and all of them 5*. Good job Ruben!!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view if you can spend for it, however the back (overlooking car park) is good and per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimbagozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Zimbagozo,

Thank you for the positive review regarding your stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

The kind comments have been forwarded to the entire food and beverage department with a particular reference to Mr. Reuben Grixti.

All of our associates are looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 2,768 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I just came back on Sunday 20th of April and spent a week at the le meridien with my 13 year old daughter and husband. We thought the location was excellent and the spa was the best one we've been to for a while, the spa pool is at a very relaxing at a very comfortable temperature.On the whole the spa relaxed us with the soothing music & amazing treatments. But I have to say the hotel itself was not up to 5 star standard, construction was going on and was very loud and disturbing, the lifts were appalling as they were very slow and was inconvenient as most of our time was wasted waiting for the lifts. The breakfast was terrible as all my daughter ate was the fruit as it was the only thing at the breakfast bar that was decent! The hot breakfasts were tasteless and the sausages were processed we did not expect this from a 5 star hotel. When we first arrived the cleanliness was immaculate this was deceiving as we expected the room to be like that for the whole week but it wasn't as the bed sheets weren't changed once and all they really did was change the towels and make the beds neat. The roof top pool was not heated and it was way to cold for anyone to swim in , there are no activities going on so it can seem very boring for children we don't recommend families to go. But I have to give credit to the staff as they were all very friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilara_alam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Dilara_alarm,

Thank you for the feedback you have provided us with regarding your latest stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

I want to start by apologizing on behalf of the whole team for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. Rest assured that I will be communicating your comments with our food & beverage and rooms division manager.

On the other hand, I want to show my appreciation for the positive comments regarding our Lotus Spa and the Le Méridien associates.

Should you have any further feedback, feel free to contact me directly via email which is available on our official website.

Kindest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a lovely modern hotel in a superb location and having excellent facilities.

Frankly the lifts are at the moment an absolute pain, as there are only 2 working while the other 2 are being refurbished. It will only take a few more weeks to resolve this so please ignore the negative comments from other contributors.
The hotel's location is brilliant, right in the middle between chic Sliema and racy Paceville. The buses stop right outside the hotel and for €1.50 you get a ticket that you can use over and over again that day. Central Valletta is only half an hour by bus and there are plenty of 12 and 13s to take you there.
There is free parking for guests in their own car park, which is a great bonus in this over-crowded island. Also an excellent spa facility and rooftop pool and lounging area.
I am a regular Le Meridien user around the world and this is as good as any, and very inexpensive (we paid €114 for the room without breakfast bought online with no changes or refunds.

Room Tip: Try and negotiate an upgrade when you check in. Make sure you have a sea view and a non-smoking room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citybreaker32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear citybreaker32,

Thank you for providing us with positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa.

I want to further thank you for highlighting our exceptional location and the parking facilities that we offer to our in-house guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for a ten days in January - the hotel is actually at Balluta Bay. Yes as noted by others the lifts were being upgraded but it was not a big issue as it is quieter in January. We had a sea view room whith a balcony which although it received less direct sunlight was the perfect place to sit out and relax in the evening. As the hotel is set back from the road, behind and above a row of commercial premises, there is little noise from the main road that runs alongside the promanade.

The location is perfect as there is a freqent inexpensive bus service to Valetta that takes you past Silema to Valetta in one direction and up the coast to Bugibba in the other. The inexpensive weekly ticket on for for the public buses provides the perfect service to access the other districts such as Spinola Bay and in the direction of Silema where there are a range of resaurants and bars to cater for all tastes and budgets - although or preference was to walk to Fresco's just along the promanade from Balluta Bay in the direction of Silema.

The choice and quality of food was great, particularly breakfast with the hand crafted omelettes! The rooms were spacious and clean with a bathroom (shower and a bath) and separate toilet. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The indoor Spa although not very large for the size of hotel was great, as we were there in the winter, and I can imagine the roof top pool / bar areas with their great views would be very popular in the warmer months.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the bay have better views but would have less direct sunlight. Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TierraDelSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear TierraDelSur,

Let me start by thanking you on behalf of the whole team at Le Méridien St. Julians Hotel and Spa for the positive feedback you have provided us with.

I am pleased to read that our members of staff, the location of the property and our food & beverage services were up to your satisfaction.

The Le Méridien team is looking forward to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Another wonderful stay at the Le Meridien, and all thanks to the great team of people who work there!

This was our third year back at this Spa Hotel. We keep coming back due to the hotels great location, facilities and staff.

Once again, Jessica in reservations was wonderful in making all the arrangements for our stay. Thank you for your patience with me Jessica! The room we had was spacious with a great view over the bay.

On arrival and throughout our stay, Dorota and Tiziana dealt with every query we had in such a pleasant manner! Check-in and out was easy and efficient - with the ever friendly Innocent welcoming us and dealing with our luggage.

And one mustn't forget the Happy Hour at the hotel bar. Jesmond, Sean, Kristina and the team made us the best Cosmo's and other delightful cocktails throughout our stay!

Looking forward to returning back to Le Meridien again next year. - Neil Mathur.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil_Mathur_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear NeilMLondon2013,

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our members of staff, the location of the property and our facilities.

I have personally communicated this positive feedback with Jessica, Dorota, Tiziana, Innocent, Jesmond, Sean and Kristina, they were all delighted to read that they were able to offer an excellent experience.

All of us at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa are looking forward to welcoming you back amongst us.

Kind regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for a week on our Honeymoon. Yes the lifts were temprimental at times but as mentioned, it wasn't a big deal (we sometimes preferred the stairs to work off the delicious food!!). We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our Holiday. The hotel location was excellent, the choice of food (and quality) was great, particularly breakfast! The rooms were nice and clean. But most of all the staff were fantastic. They were always helpful, happy, and friendly. Only negative about our holiday? ...Only staying for 1 week!! Thank you all for helping us have such a wonderful Honeymoon. We definitely WILL come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeandStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear ChloeandStew,

On behalf of the whole team at Le Méridien St Julians Hotel and Spa I thank you for the ratings and the positive comments regarding your stay with us.

It is a true pleasure to read that our services have exceeded your expectations.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at our property in the near future.

Warm regards,

Gilbert Xuereb

Guest Experience Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Overall, it was a good old and very well established 5* hotel. The reception foyer were very impressive and spacious. Although the see view was not really important for us as we we were there for only 3 nights, however, we have been allocated a nice room on the tenth floor with partial see view. The room was very comfortable and spacious. However the downsides were; the bed was stiff and not much of tea and coffee provided. The breakfast was fabulous with every thing provided: lot of varieties and choices so 10 of 10 for the food.The hotel is located just opposite the bus stop for Valletta and the Airport. The cost of riding buses to anywhere in Malta is very cheap. For a 1.5 Euro ticket you can use any bus for the whole day. Buses to and from Valletta are very regular; Bus Nr 12 & 13. Within a short walking distance, there are a few cafes and restaurant scattered alongside the promenade. I recommend that you to go to Penny's restaurant; very simple with good atmosphere. Try the meal deal Monday to Friday; great and good value for money.Drink , meal and dessert for 10 Euro PP. Would we go back to to stay in the same hotel? I would say yes. By the way, I wouldn't worry too much about some of the comments from other reviewers regarding the lift . It wasn't a big deal at all. all it was, Instead of pressing bottom outside the lift for going up or down you touch a pad for your chosen floor.

Room Tip: top floor with see view of course but you have to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,966 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £89 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing