We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien St. Julians
Nearby Hotels
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The George Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Valentina(Saint Julian's)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Juliani(Saint Julian's)
US$245
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,848)
Filter reviews
2,848 results
Traveller rating
1,372
954
353
109
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,372
954
353
109
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsballuta bayrooftop poolsea viewseparate toiletst juliansspa treatmentsthe executive loungespa areamini barhotel barroom was largeweekend breakvisit maltahalf boardomelettetaroconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,967 - 1,972 of 2,848 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Booked an executive room to complete recuperation after a serious operation. It was worth every penny. The beautiful room overlooking Balluta Bay,the care of all the staff and the atmosphere of the hotel was designed to enhance relaxation and pleasure. The excellent breakfasts (try the pastries dipped in chocolate)and the experience of sitting on different private balconies in the executive bar sipping various beverages and eating a different selection of canapes every night all added up to a wonderful holiday on a wonderful island. Try Toto's and Bousouki restaurants in nearby Spinola Bay for top class food and ambiance.Both have lovely well set out tables with a view of the water and boats and the warmth of welcome and attention of the staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LizzybeeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We enjoyed our stay of ten days at Le Meridien over late August and early September.
The hotel is pleasant enough but definitely not five star. Plus points are the attractive and well cleaned rooms, decent and prompt service(leaving aside a blip of a fifty minute wait for a room service sandwich) and good buffet breakfasts.
On the minus side the rooftop pool isway too small (and can turn into bedlam with a few noisy kids), there is a lack of entertainment, corporate guests sometimes lay prior claim to facilities (pool closed early on a couple of nights to cater for a corporate 'do') and the so-called city view from our balcony turned out to be a view of an apartment block across the road.
The Villa restaurant at the hotel makes for lovely outdoor eating and there are good restaurants at nearby Spiinola Bay ( a twenty minute stroll) of which we found Girasole the best. The Barracuda a few hundred yards from the hotel is excellent and there is fine dining at a clutch of restaurants in the impressive Hilton complex. For a good meal for two with wine expect to pay an average of 100 euros.
Go to see the beautifully made "Malta Experience" in Valetta to get a good idea of what the island is all about.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StandishClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We booked a week long break in the Meridean in St Julians, having read a number of posiive reviews here.

I have to say, we found the hotel to be excellent and fantastic value for money.

The hotel is modern and clean with excellent facilities. The rooftop pool area is very well maintained and the staff were always quick to help in any way possible. The hotel is of a high standard, without comng across as posh or intimidating. We really were able to relax and do what we wanted to and the room we had was perfectly adequate for our needs. We requested a double bed instead of two singles and also a south facing balcony and we got both on arrival.

Minor irritations:

1) Service in Malta (not just the hotel) is really poor. You will be waiting 10-15mins on avg for a drink in the bar. I am not sure why this seems to be the case EVERYWHERE in Malta, but it is!! Just accept it rather than lose the rag.

2) Mini Bar in room: if you so much as move an item a millimeter, it is charged automatically to your room bill. My partner was using the fridge to keep her make up cold, so we ended up with an enormous bill!! Obv, they sorted it out but be warned.

3) Lifts: As mentioned elsewhere, a little tempremental but not a big deal.

The food in Malta is hit and miss but the best meal we had was in Barracuda across the road from the hotel, which was not only a lovely meal but at €100 for all the trimmings and a bottle of nice wine, great value.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and if I was coming back to Malta i would certainly stay again.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cantgeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Le Meridien was all we hoped her from a 5 ***** hotel apart from 1 or 2 minor glitches.
The staff were in the main helpful and courteous. (Though why they need a bond on your credit card of 420 Euros I dont know)
The rooms were well equipped and spacious, and I was still glad we paid the extrra for the sea view, in spite of some comments. The firework fiesta was on at the end of August and we could sit and watch from our balcony, (also ours was bigger than some balconies.)
We asked to have our mini bar emptied and this was done the next day, we arrived at night. We were not charged for this.
The hotel bar prices were higher than bars outside but in a place like St, julians there was plenty of choice!
The restaurants in St Julians were excellent. We liked Barracuda and Bazouki. We couldnt get in the Villa brasserie( at the hotel due to the Firework Fiesta)
There was plenty to do in St. julians and around the island so much so we plan to return. Public transport is easy and cheap.

2  Thank WESTWO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We returned this year for our annual holiday having spent 3 weeks last year in this hotel.

We got married in the hotel last year and everything was perfect and we didn't think it would be possible to beat the standards of the hotel and staff, how wrong we were!

From the moment we arrived all the staff were very professional and gave us a 1st class service. It was great to return and see so many faces from the previous year and it added to our stay.

A special thank you to both Nikos and Mario who assisted in our stay and went out of there way to ensure we had a pleasant stay, Our thanks to all the bar staff (Stefano and team)who we found to be very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed many a drink in the ku de tae bar before going out.

Our thanks to all the staff and management who kindly gave us a lovely cake and bottle of champagne to help celebrate our 1st anniversary. It was very much appreciated and such a lovely gesture.

This year we found our 2 week stay to be very relaxing and enjoyable which we believe is down to the staff making us feel so welcome. We will certainly be back in the future and will recommend this hotel as an ideal base for anyone wishing to visit Malta. Our regret is that we only had 2 weeks there!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian-Lesley-Duff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews