We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Glos
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this Beautiful Hotel. It certainly lived up to its 5* status. Our room was absolutely beautiful with a large balcony.The maid service was first class - the rooms were cleaned fully every day and new bedding toiletries and towels were provided on a frequent basis. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with such a wide choice and we all felt that it was of a very high standard and quality. We all loved the rooftop pool and spa, it was spotless and so relaxing. Every staff member we encountered were highly polite, friendly and professional - nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is within easy access to plenty of Restaurants , bars etc and the bus stops outside that takes you into Valetta.
When I next return to Malta to see my family and Friends I will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Gilly1957,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Malta. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us and found many aspects from the surrounding to the hotel and its services beyond expectation.

Looking forward for your next stay with us.

Happy regards from St. Julians,
Ursula Schoefl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    875
    340
    106
    57
See reviews for
438
1,187
132
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have to say that my experience was very positive.
we stayed on the 8th floor and found no issues with the lifts, if you dont know how to use a key pad then I suggest hotels are not for you.

the rooms were clean and so were the swiming pool areas.
we didnt pay for the wifi but it was fine in our room

food wise we only had breakfast but there was a wide range of items to suit most people.



The hotel was very easy to access and witihn walking distance to bars, restaurants etc.

The food at the 'villa' was outstanding, along with the service. To be honest the service in the hotel was also great.

Would return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Jason S,

Thank for your kind comments. Glad that you enjoyed our lifts, which represent the latest technology and the fastest speed of this make.

Overall, I am delighted that you had such a great experience with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon, Happy regards,

Ursula Schoefl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week's stay at Le Meridien, travelling as a family. We all stayed on the 8th floor.
Our rooms were absolutely stunning, and we all had large balconies overlooking Balluta Bay.
The maid service was first class - the rooms were cleaned fully every day and new bedding and towels were provided on a frequent basis.

The breakfast is absolutely amazing, such a wide choice and we felt that it was high quality food. We ordered room service for lunch on one day and it was equisite!

We all loved the rooftop pool and spa, it is gorgeous and so relaxing.
Every staff member we encountered were highly polite, friendly and professional - nothing is too much trouble for them.

It was a wonderful holiday and I would highly recommended it, even as a family travelling as a family with children, despite previous reviews on that topic!

The only minor point I would make is that guests are permitted to smoke on various balconies, including the breakfast restaurant and the doors are left open. We did get a breath full of cigarette smoke on a few occasions which was unpleasant but otherwise cannot fault this hotel.

Book it and enjoy!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Mum M,

Thank you your great comments. I am pleased to read that overall you had a fabulous stay at the hotel. I am sorry to hear, that the door to the smokers’ terrace was not closed and you were disturbed by the smoke.

We all look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Maltese regards,
Ursula Schoefl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week at the end if May and was disappointed. This is not my idea of a 5 star hotel. The accommodation is ok, I had a large sea view room with the usual bathrobe, water and toiletries. It is the restaurant and food which let's this hotel down. Everything is very cheap and some of it, is quite nasty. The breakfast was a big disappointment, the cereals are the cheapest you can get, the cooked food has sat being heated for a long time and although you can get a freshly cooked omelet, the 'egg mixture' this is made from was a dull grey colour so I gave it a wide berth. Similarly, the waitresses came round to offer orange juice but this too, was a dull orange grey colour and I for one was not going to risk it. There is a continental option but the bread is soft and didn't taste fresh. I had half board and dinner is a buffet. The starters were always lovely with a great selection but the main courses again have been cooked and kept warm for some time so were often not nice at all, together with the fact that they are served on cold plates ( the plate warmer was on but none of the plates were even warm) . The desserts are horrible with lots of artificial cream. There was always fresh fruit which was the better option. I did not find the staff helpful. My safe would not open and a rather surly member of staff came to fix it. When I lost some personal property, there was little interest in helping me find something which had not left the hotel. Overall, I would not come here again, it is expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen456851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Helen456851,

Thank you for the feedback. Your feedback is very important and will assist us in further improving our service. We review such concerns and will ensure that these are resolved.

Best regards,

Ursula Schoefl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stunning views,you just have to stay there.everything close by.peaceful and yet lively if you want that is just a short walk away,dont worry you will not hear any noise here its just fantastic.this hotel is very welcoming and ideal for anybody.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbo28565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear robbo28565,

Thank you for staying with us here in Malta.

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us and found many aspects from the surrounding to the hotel and its services beyond expectation.

Looking forward for your next stay with us

Maltese regards,

Ursula Schoefl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel last week, as his sister got married in Valletta.

Cannot fault ANYTHING!

The best customer service imaginable, and nothing was too much trouble. Our bags were taken up to our room by a lovely member of staff, and we were greeted with towels on arrival. Check in was very smooth, and we were told about the amenities available, including the Wifi (connection was a little dodgy, but this is the same for most of the Wifi I connected to in the surrounding cafes. Besides, you're on holiday, you don't need Wifi!)

The room was stunning, and so clean. We had a 'classic' room, and had a kingsize bed, huge bath, separate shower, robes, television, balcony, ice bucket…list goes on! We were allowed to check in 4 hours early for no charge, but there is also a luggage room if your room isn't ready. Plenty of towels available, which can be changed daily if you put a sign on the bed.

All of the staff spoke perfect English, and were enthusiastic to use it. The spa pool was lovely, and had limited access to children, which I thought was appropriate. We're in our early twenties, and even we enjoyed the peace! We didn't have any treatments, but they were a standard price, and was a vast array of treatments available. The outdoor pool was quite small, but lots of sun beds available, and free towels provided from the spa.

We didn't have breakfast, but I've seen a lot of poor reviews about the price - it's a hotel, what do you expect?! I think it was around €17.50 for a buffet, which is a standard price for a 4/5 star hotel, but there are lots of little cafes and restaurants with gorgeous food to choose from.

The surrounding area is gorgeous, the sea is literally just outside the hotel and SO clear! There are jellyfish (signs around the water for what to look out for,) but we didn't see any. It isn't a 'tacky' area with lots of souvenir shops, and there's a bus stop just over the 'hill' on the right of the hotel. The bus fares are very reasonable - €1.50 all day pass! The taxis are very expensive for a holiday destination, with taxis around €20 from the airport (10 mins) and €21 to Valletta. It's definitely worth taking a bus or booking transfers to the airport, and taking buses where possible. We went to a restaurant with the best food we've ever had, called Vermell restaurant (also on trip advisor.) We had a huge meal and drinks for just €60, including a massive platter of meats and cheese and fish platter with razor clams, king prawns, scallops, mussels etc.

We would definitely return to Le Meridien, and made our experience of Malta even better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatiStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear MatiStuff,

Thank you for your encouraging and positive feedback.

Malta is a wonderful location for a wedding, and it’s nice to learn that you had enjoyed the occasion as well as the destination a lot.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Ursula Schoefl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have stayed here on 5 occasions for work trips to Malta and never been disappointed . The hotel feels very grand and you have a warm welcome on arrival . The rooms are massive and the view over the bay of st Julian's is stunning overlooking the church . The hotel has a lovely indoor pool and a spa plus an outdoor pool on the roof top . The bathrooms are luxurious with lovely toiletries but I have smelt the drains in the bathroom when the hotel is busy . The location is great as you can walk out every night to a different restaurant . Food at the hotel is expensive I feel . The breakfast is gorgeous but quite expensive . I love to visit here .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Joanne M,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback and being so loyal to us. Glad that you enjoy the rooms, their set-up and the spectacular views over Balluta Bay and its church. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet with its large variety in food offerings.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Warm regards,

Ursula Schoefl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,614 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,912 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,193 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing