We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

excellent hotel, located in a quiet location but night clubs further around the corner at pacoville, but we went for quietness which was excellent. Would sugest only going for BB as if you go half board the buffet is very repetitious and quite boring different meats for the main meal but does not warrant the extra money for buffet. Everything else was perfect very expensive for mineral water at the pool was 5 euros when you get 6 bottles of one and half litres for 4 euros 1 cent

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanjuly2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,829 - 1,835 of 2,710 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

My friends and I came here in June and in all honesty none of us wanted to leave! The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. From day one, even though the 3 of us had booked a 2 bed room (to save on costs!) the staff bought down a third bed! We also had an amazing view of the sea from our balcony. The rooftop pool was great with a waiter service. But the best part has got to be the spa, where the prices are very reasonable and you really do get pampered! The only complaint is that we didnt have enough time to have every treatment available! On our last night we were invited to the bar for complimentary drinks and canapes which was a great touch as we got to meet the staff and thank them for a great stay. And an even better touch was them arranging for us to able to check-out at 6pm (at no extra cost) rather than 12pm as we had a late evening flight.
The location itself was perfect, walking distance from a number of great seafood restaurants (you'll be spoiled for choice) and nightlife.
so in short, i would highly recommend Le Merdien if you want a truly 5* luxury, relaxing and pampering holiday in Malta.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimothy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I went to Malta with two friends and we could not believe how affordable this 5* hotel was in the prime location of St. Julians. We thought that there must be a catch but when we entered the hotel it was pure luxury. The staff were attentive and the room was clean and stylish. We all enjoyed two spa treatments each and they were worth every penny. The hotel is situated in an ideal location with Sliema and Spinola Bay a short walk away. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will be returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariarizzo_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Check-in was very quick, I was upgraded to a sea-view suite on the 9th floor (same floor as the lounge). The view was fabulous. Platinum status provides lounge access; the lounge has a complimentary hot breakfast in the morning, and happy hour with free snacks and drinks in the early evening.
Free wifi is available in the lobby and in the lounge.
The hotel is located right across from the bay, and the bus stop 100m away brings you to Valetta in about 20 mins. Walking to Paceville takes about 15 minutes from the hotel.
The concierge was very helpful with maps and bus schedules and directions.
The water in the rooftop pool is quite cool, but there are plenty of loungers and towels for tanning. It would be nice if the hotel had someone tidy around the pool periodically; several afternoons when I was up there, the loungers were scattered all over, no fresh towels were available, and the laundry bins were overflowing with used towels.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I had a 3 day weekend visit to Malta to meet my 26 year old daughter travelling from London. Le Meridien Hotel in St Juliens was recommended to me by friends and colleagues as a wonderful hotel to use as a base.

We found the hotel went well out of their way to accommodate our requirements. We had two rooms in the hotel, both with superb sea views/balconies over St Julians Bay, and both presented superbly, with big bright bathrooms, very clean and all amenities Nothing was too much trouble for the staff with whom we were in contact, and the decor of the hotel was bright and airy, giving a strong holiday/leisure feel to the property. We had three meals in the hotel and all were excellent. The property is centrally located and has a wealth of restaurants nearby.

All in all, an outstanding hotel, which contributed wonderfully to a fine family weekend. I have no hesitation to recommending it to any who might be travelling to Malta.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJMTripoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Stayed here for a week with two friends. The room was large enough for three, it worked out well that the toilet is separate from the bathroom. We had an inland view so we had the sun for the whole afternoon & got to see the sunset. The sea view rooms only get the sun in the morning.
Check-in was very quick but considering they checked in three people they still hadn't set the room up with three sets of towels/bathrobes & there was no camp bed so needed to call & request all this.
Breakfast was lovely - pastries, traditional english breakfast, fruit, hams & cheeses etc. The chef who cooked my eggs was very cheerful & chatty.
The pool, although on the small side was enough to accomodate everyone. This might be that the number of sunbeds is very limited so I recommend getting up early enough to save one, there's only need for this during school holidays though! The view from the rooftop pool is amazing when the sun is out & the sea is calm.
One afternoon, it was so windy that an umbrella fell & hit my friend directly on the head. If it had been one of these plastic umbrellas I doubt it would've been an issue but they have the huge wooden umbrellas with metal stands. The manager on duty was very attentive & couldn't do enough for her. A doctor was called & the manager sent up a complimentary fruit basket & the pool boy gave her a free smoothie. Also, by the time the doctor had been & gone it was very late so we ate at the hotel bar. The food was lovely, & her main course was paid for too.
The spa is open until 10pm which was good if you wanted to stay by a pool as the rooftop pool shut at 7.30pm. There was a pool with sauna, steam room, various treatments which are so hard to choose between. I had the mud wrap & back massage. The therapists were so polite & the treatments were worth the money.
My friends & I were interested in the night life & were concerned we'd have to pay for cabs there & back (to Paceville) but as it turned out it was within walking distance. Walking home in the early morning we didn't feel unsafe like you may in London. There are many good restaurants just a few minutes walk from the hotel (I recommend Barracuda, pricey but the best meal I had the whole holiday). There's a supermarket 5 minutes from the hotel where we bought bottles of water and snacks (5Euros from the hotel, 37 cents from the supermarket). And there are bus stops located right outside.
There are two entrances to the hotel. One, which is a 30sencond walk to the promenade shuts at 1am. The main entrance is open 24/7 HOWEVER, to walk to it requires walking up a hill. Not the steepest of hills but it hurts in heels!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sayCHEESE_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Upon arriving at midnight we were greeted efficiently and given our room quickly (all within 5 minutes). Our room can only be compared to a suite, it was enormous compared to other hotels and featured a lovely rainforest shower. The room looked out over the car park which we had expected and it wasn't as bad a view as anticipated, the sun set right in front of us each night and the noise was practically non existent. The hotel has 12 floors in total, we stayed on the 5th floor and like others found lifts to be a bit of a nightmare but never waiting any more than five minutes. The facilities in the hotel were 5* standard and waiting staff attentive at the roof top pool. A must is to visit the Ku de ta restaurant for cocktails at happy hour, they were delicious!
Many buses stop right outside the hotel taking you from one side of the island to the other meaning access to beaches nearby and attractions was not a problem. The 'beach' outside the hotel was perfect for cooling off after a walk with areas where you could sunbathe and sand on the bottom of the sea.
The hotel is in a perfect location along the promenade with many wonderful restaurants nearby catering for all tastes, the best being a 10-15 minute walk away at spinola bay.
I would definitely go back in the cooler spring months when temperatures weren't quite so high!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingenious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £80 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing