We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien St. Julians

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

We were generally pleased with the hotel however we felt it was more 4 star than 5. Found Julians Bay really dissapointing - filthy dirty with little to see or do and clogged with traffic.

Pros:
Friendly, helpful staff.
Large, well appointed bathrooms with seperate room for toilet.
Huge rooms.
Good food.

Cons:
Tiled floors - nightmare when the room above yours is being cleaned - we were woken most mornings by staff dragging furniture across the floor.
Only about 35% (guesstimate) of baconies over look the bay so prepare to be disapointed and spend your time on your balcony looking at a building site or into a local's kitchen.
If the cleaning staff dont make you the builders on the construction site behind the hotel will.
No plasma of flat screen TV (old style 21 inch box).

Would stay again in the hotel but have absolutely no intention of returning to Malta.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 7 May 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your interesting review and for sharing both your positive comments as well as your feed-back for improvement.

Kindly note that we do share all our Tripadvisor reviews with our key departments and that actions will be taken to rectify any shortcomings you may have experienced.

Should you change your mind in the future about Malta as a a destination, please rest assured that we would be delighted to have you as our guest again,

Kind Regards,
Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    831
    322
    104
    57
See reviews for
416
1,124
125
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
689 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Le Meridien is truly a 5-star hotel. The location is probably the best on the island: not far from Valletta, in a beautiful bay (Balluta), close to the nightlife area but far enough from the bustle of it.

We had an ocean-view room, and then some.

The breakfast was really fantastic, and the happy hour (6-7) in KuDeTa bar can be recommended - even though the staff there is not very up to speed!~

Only minor setback is the comfort of the room: airco was not yet working (April) and the open window would be too cold in the early morning. Also, we had a strange smell in the bathroom, which was only fixed after a few requests. And the "automatic mini-bar" should be abolished, "for the convenience of the guests"!

Convenient IS the entrance on both level 0 (boulevard) and 3 (reception, bar).

Fantastic roof terrace complex, with (small) pool and bar, great views. There is also a large indoor wellness area (free access to pool) and fitness center - spa treatments are priced at 5-star level though!

Staff is generally very accomodating (except some of the bar staff) - especially the multi-tasking concierge, and the number of extras (welcome gift, daily bottle of water, Easter present, cocktail invitation) made the stay very pleasant.

PS: someone mentioned this hotel was not conveniently located in respect of a beach. This is not so strange, as Malta only has very few (sand) beaches, in the northwest, ruling out 90% of all hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 23 April 2010
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you had a positive experience at Le Meridien St Julians and we thank you very much for your nice review.

Thank you also for taking the time to share your constructive comments - these are important for us as we strive at constantly improving our services. We have already shared your feed-back with our Team.

Warm regards from Malta and hope to see you again soon,
Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Nice hotel close to the seashore in St. Julians. Unfortunately a bit loud because of building activity next door. Nice wellness area. Excellent service by the chef Reuben Grixti: we neede special dietary meals to be prepared. Perfect service, thank you !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderPlath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 23 April 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks a lot for your lovely post!

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Kindest regards from Le Meridien Team,

Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

Liked very much the hotel, nice rooms and public areas, nice indoor swimming pool, but terrace pool a little bit to small.
Location is good for nightlife but the nearby beach is not good at all.
Didn´t like concierge pushing to a restaurant and disencouraging other good restaurants, but service is not bad.
Can recommend but would look for other hotel for another stay.
Free wi-fi in lobby.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

My stay was from 29th of March to 5th of April.

My room was a standard double. I was very impressed with the hotel in general, so I'm only highlighting things that could have been better.

Some of these face a carpark and a small farm and attractive buildings beyond. Luckily mine was on the side that had about 40 degrees of a sea view. I was on the 6th floor though on the south face of the hotel which meant the adjacent building blocked more of the sea view and a pretty cathedral view. If I was checking in again to a standard double I would recommend asking for south face and from the 8th floor upwards.

The A/C didn't appear to do anything when we arrived so we asked at reception. They told us that cooling was not yet available (?). I think they meant that the A/C's lower limits were above the current ambient temperature, and mid summer the A/C would indeed cool the room. I have to say this was the biggest let down for me, as I'm from a cold climate and can't sleep in a hot room. Having said that the evenings were cool enough outside, so I left our balcony open for a while before bed and that did cool the room.

There are 2 swimming pools in the hotel photos. One indoor on level 2 by the spa with steam room, sauna, jacuzzi etc. and another on the roof with a small children's pool next to it. The one on the roof was empty until the 3rd of April. This was a little disappointing as it's the only area really for lying out and enjoying the sun. Also worth noting here is that neither pool is of any use for exercise. If you want lane swimming head across the road to the beautiful public pool. It's not heated though, but it was fine for training as once you keep moving the temp is actually a bonus. I don't know when this officially opens, but it had been cleaned in the last week of March according to locals and would open "soon". Locals told me no-one would bother me if I just went in so that's what I did.

The gym is decent, but could do with mirrors in front of the thread mills etc IMO, and again the A/C was a big issue in here. Running on the promenade outside is a better option most of the time.

I've highlighted some negatives here, but all in all I loved this hotel. One positive I'll mention is the price of room service. It's very reasonable ;-)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duffmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

I stay at Le Meridian despite a couple of bad reviews I read here on Tripadisor; I have to say that I did not experience nothing of negative; the staff was very friendly, breakfast really satisfying, good variety of food and very clean room up to the standard I was expecting.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanpho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Le Meridien St Julians and hope to welcome you amongst us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

This hotel has everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel. We stayed here for 6 nights. We had a room right at the front of the hotel so great views over Balluta Bay. It's very handy for the bus stop and has ample and easy free parking underneath the hotel.

The room's bathroom facilities were fantastic – large corner bath, fantastic shower (I've never felt so clean) and separate loo (ideal if one of you wants to wallow in the bath).

Breakfasts were plentiful and had everything you could possibly wish for and more besides. Even sparkling wine and chocolate fondue were on offer. Free bottled water was placed in the room every day.

I had a manicure at the hotel's spa – it was a lovely relaxing experience. The pool was good too though the sun loungers meant there wasn't much room to walk around the pool and the music from the fitness classes sometimes spoilt the relaxing atmosphere.

Staff were professional and efficient (wake-up call, taxi ordering). We reported 2 problems with the room – we couldn't lock the balcony door and the plug in the washbasin didn't work. We reported both; the first was fixed in a couple of hours but the second wasn't fixed. However, to be fair we never chased it up so it's probably partly our fault.

Overall an excellent hotel and a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuscanHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, Hotel Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly many thanks for taking some time to write and post your review.

We are very sorry to read that you encountered a small issue which was not properly followed up. Please feel free to contact us directly as to provide us with more information about the incident so we can look into it.

On the other hand, we are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay and we truly thank you for your lovely comments.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,
Best Regards,

Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.5 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Property: Le Meridien St. Julians
Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing