We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel great , food good ,restaurant staff very good ,fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien St. Julians
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I found the location of the hotel second to none ,the rooms very good especially with a sea view , .The food was excellent as were the staff . I would recommend this hotel to all my family .The only fault I found was that the lifts were quite crowded at certain times of the day .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horatio38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and feed-back! Our hotel reviews are always highly appreciated and shared with all concerned departments,

Kind regards from sunny Malta,
Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,818 - 1,824 of 2,786 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

Staying in a nice hotel makes a world of difference...staying at this hotel totally changed my experience of Malta for the better.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank KellyB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

Dear Reviewer,

It is always a pleasure for us to read such comments - we are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as Malta as your holiday destination,

Regards from all of us and thank you for your time,
Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

My stay at Le Meridien was unexpected due to the volcanic ash problem. Even more unexpected was to trip on one of Malta's lethal pavements and break a bone in my foot. The rest of the 9 days was made bearable by the kindness and helpfulness of the staff - nothing was too much trouble and I really appreciate what they did. Particular thanks to Joseff, Aaron and front desk staff.

My room had a lovely view of Baluta Bay and the bustle of the road was entertaining during the day but a bit noisy until about midnight. Food was very good - great buffet choice and if you didn't fancy any of the many dishes on offer you could order a steak with all the trimmings. Fabulous desserts.

Would recommend hotel wholeheartedly but be aware there is some building work at the back of the hotel. Mind you there's building work practically everywhere in Malta.

Love the buses. Recommend a 3/5/7 day pass to take you everywhere. Golden Bay lovely for kids and sunbathing. Co-cathedral spectacular. History buffs will be delighted.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

Dear guest and reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed and mostly positive review. Once again, we are sorry for the hassle you've encountered, we hope that you have now recovered from your injury and we also do hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future, in more positive circumstances,

Once again thank you for your kind comments,
Best Regards,
Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Very good hotel.
Nice rooms.
Brilliant breakfast.
Kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your enthusiastic response! We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your stay at Le Meridien and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Just returned this morning from a week's break at Le Meridien; if you have booked a holiday here, rest assured you will have a wonderful time!

The hotel has all the facilities you would expect from a 5*.... great spa, superb breakfasts, lovely spacious rooms and a stylish design, but what really makes the difference is the staff. They were consistently charming and helpful, and so friendly to us and our two year old son that they really made our holiday a joy.

Mario the concierge in particular is a star, even offering to phone his wife to bring us in some nappies when we ran out on a feast day when all the shops were shut! In fact everyone was wonderful, and nothing was too much trouble; the breakfast staff deserve a mention too for their consistent friendliness even when they were obviously rushed off their feet, and the reception staff were charming, knowledgeable and always happy to help.

If you are looking for a holiday with culture, archaeology, great food and the friendliest people I have met for a long time then Malta is the place for you; make sure you use the little yellow buses to go sightseeing, they are cheap, reliable and stop right outside the door of the hotel every few minutes. They are also really easy to use, the concierge can give you a map that covers the whole island and even shows you where in Valetta bus station your bus departs from if you want to go further afield.

Mdina and the catacombs are a must-see, and we really loved Valetta as well (we were lucky enough to stay when a fireworks festival was on in the Grand Harbour and it was spectacular). Mellieha Bay is also a fun afternoon, with beautiful shallow waters ideal for splashing about in, and a couple of decent cafes if you get too hot and crave some shade.

The location of the hotel is great if you want to get out and about on foot as well; if you walk in one direction along the promenade, you come to Spinola Bay with lots of bars and restaurants (we can particularly recommend Rafael's for great salads, steak and chocolate mousse), and if you head the other way along the seafront you can walk to Sliema, full of shops, bars and ferries/sightseeing tours.

Before leaving home I was a little worried about how a 5* hotel would react to an enthusiastic and slightly sticky 23 month old, but I need not have worried; he made friends wherever we went, and all the Maltese restaurants had high chairs and were really accomodating (and bus travel was free for him too). Will definitely be back to Malta as there was far too much to do and one week wasn't enough.... and we'll definitely stay at the le Meridien again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serendipity071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2010

Dear Guest,

What a great review for us to read and share with our Staff! We have of course passed on your feed-back to our concierge Mario who sends his best regards and warm thanks for the lovely comments.

We were also delighted to read your impressions of our Island and we are convinced that your tips are great ones for future travelers.

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review and looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Kindest regards from all,
Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Had a wonderful trip to Malta, last week of April. Even before we arrived I had a good impression of the hotel. We had stayed there for 1 night previously in 2007 (We had booked the Hilton,after our wedding in Malta, and they had overbooked their rooms and so had put us up for one night at Le Meridien. We had a good stay there before so decided to go back this time). The reservation manager Andrew had been very helpful when booking my room, we wanted to go for an executive room and had sent some emails to confirm that the room would be away from the building works/elevator and would have 'something special' for our anniversary. This is exactly what we found on our arrival (bottle of wine and little cake selection) The room was spacious and had a fabulous view. The previous reviews mentioned an odd smell in the bathroom- our room had separate toilet which did have an odour which disappeared after a few days and did not warrant a complaint to the management. I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff, and my favourite Concierge. Anything we needed was rapidly sorted out. There was a mini drama when we had booked a boat trip to see the fireworks festival but the transport was overbooked and left without us. The reception staff arranged another taxi to take us over to Sliema and arranged this with the boat trip organiser with very little inconvenience to us.
We had no problems at all with the lift which is mentioned in other reviews. The breakfast in the main restaurant had plenty of choices. Food at The Villa which is the adjoining restaurant was very good too. Spa was great- we both had package treatments which were wonderful and worth every penny! Used the gym which was well equipped.
I would have no hesitations in recommending this hotel for a great trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2010

Dear Guest & Reviewer,

It was a pleasure to read through your review: we thank you very much for your time and for your lovely comments.

We are glad to know that you had a positive experience at Le Meridien St Julians and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you so much also for mentioning Andrew, our Reservation Agent - your positive feed-back has been forwarded to him.

Kind regards from sunny Malta,
Angela Saliba,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We stayed in an executive room for four nights and had the most perfect break. The room had an absolutely gorgeous balcony with great views over Balluta Bay, perfect central location. Breakfast is included in the executive room rate, but I don't think it is in the other room rates. I would highly recommend upgrading for this alone and breakfast was 20 euro each otherwise, which would add up......but it was an amazing breakfast, they had almost everything you could ever imagine, and it was all fresh and delicious. I think this is the only time I have got up every single day for breakfast it was that good. Our room was lovely in general, modern and tastefully decorated, spacious, king size bed, everything in the hotel was very clean, the staff in all areas were friendly and helpful. We got a good deal since it was a bit out of season but I expect it's quite an expensive hotel in summer. I wouldn't bother eating in The Villa, which is adjacent to the hotel. It was ok, but nothing special. St Julian's has so many excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, and they were better value for money than those at the hotel. We loved Malta, but don't think I would like to stay in either of the tourist resorts in the north of the island. The Maltese people were so lovely and friendly, and really couldn't do enough to help and make you feel welcome. Driving is a bit hairy, but would recommend getting a car for one day so that you can see the rest of the island.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen-bda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienMalta, General Manager at Le Meridien St. Julians, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2010

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our hotel team, I thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It was a great satisfaction to read that you had a memorable time with us.

I am particularly delighted with your positive comments about our breakfast - I have forwarded this feed-back to our Executive Chef Reuben Grixti and our dedicated kitchen Team.

Should you plan another trip to Malta any time soon, please do not hesitate to contact us as we would be delighted to welcome you again,

Best Regards,
Angela Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.6 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,012 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
1 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,625 reviews
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien St. Julians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien St. Julians

Address: 39 Main Street, Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £104 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien St. Julians 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien St Julians Hotel & Spa in Malta is located within the bustling, cosmopolitan neighbourhood of St. Julians, offering plenty of entertainment and tranquility located along the seafront promenade. Enjoying excellent views, our hotel is an architectural gem, offering elegance with the relaxed feel luxury, boutique hotel in the Mediterranean. Enjoy international cuisine, accompanied by a refined selection of world wines, and take your coffee al fresco on the splendid terrace. Awaken your senses at the MyoKa spa and float in our tropical indoor pool where you will be revived by aromatherapy secrets from around the world Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa offers a relaxing ambiance for business travelers, families and couples. On the first floor of the premises, the meeting planner will discover a practical and modern background for their project, with an entire floor dedicated to business events. Free WIFI in the guest rooms as well as the public areas, indoor and outdoor pools (weather permitting)and 24h Guest service available via telephone and whatsapp/blackberry messenger. Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa is part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Easy Market Spa, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien St. Julians reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel Saint Julian`s
Meridien St Julians
Le Meridien Malta
Le Meridien Saint Julian's
Saint Julian's Le Meridien
Le Meridien St. Julians Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing