We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Dean Hamlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Having read some reviews of this hotel we were initially quite hesitant about our choice of accommodation. On reflection we could not be happier with the Dean Hamlet. On arrival we found the staff to be very accommodating and eager to help. We were two days late on account of the ash cloud and had expected to be charged as the cancellation was within 24 hours, in fact they generously charged us only the days we stayed. Throughout the trip the staff were friendly and the rooms were kept acceptably clean. The room itself was more than adequate with fridge, kettle, TV, balcony and a very good shower! We didn't find noise to be a problem at all, although our room was quite high up and round the back of the hotel. The location was ideal for a young couple such as ourselves, offering a multitude of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs within a 5min walk. Bus link to Valletta and Sliema is within a 1min walk. Highly recommended for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We booked a superior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattieandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    60
    50
    33
    25
See reviews for
16
66
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This apartment block in St Julian's is close to Paceville but off the main road and so is not noisy. The location is excellent; the accommodation is good, clean and very good value. There is a fine swimming pool which was never busy. Free wifi too. Very helpful and courteous staff. How could you go wrong?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Correggio, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

we had the 4 bed room, a kind of apartment with 4 bed + kitchen.
Quite clean, not everyday though. big terrace, quite basic furniture, and sheets. bathroom was ok, but not cleaned every day. I would definitely not suggest to stay in St.Julian's as I did not like it, too noisy, too crowded... I would rather stay in other places.
If you do have to stay there, well... do not expect much.
The hotel has a pool, and two lifts. it is also used as a base for the elgnlis lessons for foreigners students. Quite at night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights to get a flavour of Malta having spent the preceding week on Gozo.
On the plus side the location is great and the wireless internet was free, but I would not stay there again.
A large part of the place's business seems to come from language schools as opposed to travellers/holiday makers and as a result the area is very noisy until quite late at night and while I was there the air conditioning did not work at all one night and on the other it had a lock on it so that you could not set the temperature lower than 23C!
On top of this the self-catering facilities did not look up to much and eating is out in Malta is so cheap that when travelling on my own I would never choose that option again.
I can understand why people would recommend this, but I can't.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d3c0san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

we went to dean hamlet aprt. in 2006. staff were ok, the room had 3 bedrooms 2 with 2 single beds n 1 with a double. the floor was dirty but apart from that the rooms were nice, a bad thing was that are room was looking at the swimming pool and it was noisy in the morning at around 7 so it woke you up! and at night when u heard them at the pool! even though there were 2 swimming pools they were dirty and disgusting and had bits of food in it. there was good restaurants around and a fruit stall. it was the first time we had ever been away for 3 weeks and it was HORRIBLE! we wish we went somewhere else tht was nicer for 3 weeks! i dont think tht i would recommend dean hamlet because it wasnt good!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLover2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

First of all it was dirty (just like all the rest of the island) we even had algea in the shower, the cleaning of the room was every 4 days and when we arrived the first day we found our that the bed sheets were dirty, we asked to change them and they replaces them with other which had a big cut inthe middle, in general, the the personal was really rude to us. They answered to our questions by using monosillabic words. During our stay we had frequently problems with the shower and the techincs entered in our room at 7 am in the morning without knocking at the door; they also did it another time, and the last time one one of my friends was about entering in the shower so she was naked...
then... the area is very very noisy, but this is not strange in St. Julian's, what i really couldn't stand was that the room's windows gave on the swimming pool so starting from 8 am people started to scream and during the night there was always somebody drunked near the pool, which made sleeping impossible...
in general.. avoid Malta, if you really need to go, choose another hotel...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — all
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank phibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2007

The apartments are clean and very basic, which suited us as we just needed a clean bed to sleep in at night. Our apartment had 3 bedrooms, a living area which had 2 bed settes, a kitchen and 2 toilets/shower-rooms. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful.

Dean Hamlet was in a good location, as at the bottom of the road was the bus stop for buses going to Sliema/Valletta area. The main bus terminus is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel were you could get a bus to other areas of Malta. Also about a 5 minute walk away was a supermarket with a wide variety of fresh fruit & veg, fresh meat, cheese and fish counters and other general groceries.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No phone or TV in room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank the_keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#14 of 33 in Saint Julian's
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spinola Hotel
Spinola Hotel
#15 of 33 in Saint Julian's
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#25 of 33 in Saint Julian's
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Hamlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Hamlet Hotel

Property: Dean Hamlet Hotel
Address: Triq il-Qaliet, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3223, Malta (Formerly Dean Hamlet Aparthotel)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dean Hamlet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in St.Julians, Dean Hamlet Hotel has been totally refurbished during 2010 and upgraded to a 3 Star Hotel. It is only a few minutes walk from the bustling resort and approximately 10 minutes walk from the sandy bay of St.George's. Dean Hamlet has its own swimming pool, sun terrace and gymnasium, 24 hour reception, TV lounge, restaurant, internet cafe and Free WIFI service. Accommodation consists of modern hotel rooms, most of which are with balconies, studio and one bedroom self-catering apartments sleeping up to 4 persons. All apartments are equipped with kitchenette (2 ring cooker or microwave, fridge, etc.) And private bath/shower and w.C. Some studios and most 1 bedroom units have balconies. Some rooms and apartments have their own private terrace at penthouse Level. Daily cleaning service with weekly linen change is provided as standard, unless otherwise arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Dean Hamlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Hotel Saint Julian`s
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Saint Julians
Dean Hamlet Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing