We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend unless you don't sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dragonara Apartments
Yorkshire, England
1 review
“Wouldn't recommend unless you don't sleep.”
Reviewed 7 April 2009

The kebab shop next door was the best thing about this room! I Was staying in the Dragonara whilst on a business trip in Malta. Was meant to be getting up at 7am each day but the noise from the nightclub below meant that sleep wasn't an option until 5am. So got to the point of if you can't beat them... join them. Managed to get work done but didn't get started until the afternoon each day.

The water came out of the taps yellow. Cleaner only arrived once and only changed the towels, mopped the floor and took the rubbish. Didn't change the bed sheets. The reception was on the top floor and only open for a few hours a day (or maybe just that I couldn't bear getting out of bed until 2pm from the lack of sleep) and when reception was closed there was a constant ringing sound which I presume was the alarm.

When first arrived, the building was locked up and there was no indication on paperwork as to where to get a key from. (managed to find out by asking around local bars)

However as the room was only £15 pp per week I can't really complain too much! As I ended up going to the bars everynight knowing it was pointless sleeping - I actually had a fantastic time and room was only used as a base. The locals were really friendly and on a couple of occasions was offered a bed in their apartments away from the night life.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britpopchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    18
    16
    58
See reviews for
20
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Do not stay at these apartments......dirty....ketchup all over chairs, utensils in kitchen filthy, cockroaches and pubic hairs all over bathroom floor. Toilet dirty with other people's you know what....

Smelly, no reception (no-one to complain to) and scary! Very noisey, and very hot! They may be big rooms but that means there's more room for the cockroaches to crawl about in.

I wouldnt even have stayed here at 18....and thats about as old as you can be to stomach it and i have stayed in some rough hostels in my time.....it is worse then any hostel i have ever stayed in....it makes you want to cry. And get the first flight home...if you can't afford to stay anywhere else then don't go....and I would never say that i have about 12 holidays a year and book the cheapest rooms but this was a hell hole.....luckily i was only there for 3 nights.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pushkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

south london
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2008

dragonara is the pitts!!
coackroaches!!! ants nest!!! a whole in the sink that looked like it had been there for 50 years!!!
damp on the bathroom ceiling,rusty old bath,no reception
service.we arrived early hours of sunday morning,
we wanted to change rooms but was told no-one avalable for 2 days,(as mon bank holiday)
ended up paying to stay in st georges park hotel,
would not wish dragonara on my worst enemy!!!
i know its cheap but dosnt mean you gotta live in filfth.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — coackroaches,ants,damp,dirty.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kerrySouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henley-on-thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Just returned from an amazing week in Malta - totally agree with absolutley everything that has been said about this place - yes, the place is noisy, the lack of aircon is difficult for the first couple of nights, the rooms are basic, the kitchen isn't the best, there's no view, there's a few ants kicking about... but you get what you pay for..our whole holdiay was just over £200 including flights from London. We spent most of the time discovering the island, visiting beaches, swimming in ridiculously blue sea, walking along the coast, enjoying the weather, learning more about the history etc.

St Julians really is a great place and if you want a budget holiday where you spend most of your time out and about this hotel is perfect...and as i said Malta in general is incredible.

  • Liked — cheap, large
  • Disliked — could have been cleaner, hot and the room had a heater, balcony view of some aircon units
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent, uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We have just came back from a week to Malta and we have stayed at Dragonara Aprtments.It is located just above a pub and near another one and there is loud music till about 4am.When the music stops you will hear everybody going home and talking loudly and then, about 5 am there are rubbish lorrys passing by and the street cleaners.Basically the noise ends about 7 am, till about 9 am when the pub opens again.Cannot shut the windows as it is very very hot.
We had a one bedroom apartment, the room were quite big, nice size, furniture very tatty, kettle not clean, plates, glasses just enough for 2, we had ants walking around all time, fans dirty, no air con of course.
When we complained about the room not being properly clean we have been told that they will do it straight away, nobody came that day, but we had the maid changing the towels every 2 days and tidying up(changing bins...).We haven't done any cooking in the room, as we didn't want ants in our food, we ate out most of the time.
So unless you are on a tight budget, do not go!!!

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — noisy, dirty
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bobimara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Akin to an Italian club 18-30 holiday apartments. So unless you are happy to be woken up by shouting, screaming, banging doors etc at 2AM, 4AM and 6AM then avoid at all costs.

You should also be aware that this apartment is situated directly above a night club, pumping out loud music to the early hours.

The apartment itself was unclean with cockroach feaces on work surfaces, during our brief stay we had to kill half a dozen cockroaches in the kitchen and bedroom area.

There was no air conditioning making it almost unbearable on a night. Ther was a fan but this was so noisy you were reluctant to turn it on. The only God send being that when the music started kate evening, it did to some extent drown out the sound of the fan.

There is a safe in the room but it comes with no door! There is a 25 EURO charge per week to hire a door, which is apparently is dropped onto the hinges of the safe!

We also found that the lock on the room door on the first room offered was hanging out the door/broken.

The toilet had a leak running from the cistern and the bath was rusty round the plug hole.

  • Liked — Near to amenities
  • Disliked — The cleanliness.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zippington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We booked 2 rooms at the Dragonara Court Apartments, St Julians, during Easter. One had one bedroom and the other two. Both rooms were “cheap and cheerful” but very clean. The two-bedroom apartment had a small balcony which overlooked the main street. The rooms had enough utensils to cope with cooking for a family. Unfortunately, one of the oven hotplates shorted out the lights when it was turned on and the other one had a broken plug. When we reported these problems the very helpful staff sorted them immediately. Also, I was a bit concerned that the TV and toaster, which had 2-pin European plugs, were connected to the UK-type sockets.

There was no pool but we had access to the facilities at the St Georges Park Hotel across the road. This complex had 3 pools, only one of which was in use. It was not crowded and had plenty of room.

The apartments were very quiet and we heard very little form the other guests, however, the noise from nightclubs in the area was terrible and went on until 4 or 5 am. We ended up buying earplugs and taking sleeping tablets! We really should have done our homework before booking.

Malta is a beautiful, historic island and the people are lovely, but if you want a quiet holiday stay away from Dragonara Rd / Bay St.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BillA_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#15 of 33 in Saint Julian's
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonara Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonara Apartments

Property: Dragonara Apartments
Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3181, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonara Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragonara Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonara Apartments Hotel Saint Julian`s
Dragonara Apartments Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing