We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch”
Review of Cafe Cuba

Cafe Cuba
Ranked #91 of 307 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Normal lunch with friends apart from the magnificent view of my hometown St Julian's. Were told to give it a try being sister franchise same as Sliema's, nothing to do. Pizza's presented soggy not properly baked, frozen ingredients together with base, salads...no fresh leaves 2 cherry tomatoes chicken overcooked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    363
    247
    124
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

They made us wait for ages before we could order and then get our food. Staff seemed extremely confused. They didn't seem to be able to cope with a busy Saturday night. One boy dressed with blue top was the worst. We asked him for extra cheese, he says "right away" then never came back. I wasn't going to leave a tip but I had to because the waiter (the same one wearing blue top) never brought my change back!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disinterested staff, grubby tables, poor cocktail”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Looked like a lovely place to sit in the shade and enjoy a cocktail. We were ignored by staff for a good 20 minutes, then another 15 mins before we got our drinks. The cocktail was tasteless and had a hair in it. We were offered another one but by then we had lost the will. We paid and left. There are far nicer places to spend your holiday and your money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zzzz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Lively bar with a great view - cocktails large but "mild"”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited here a couple of times during a week in St Julian's. Bar/resto is in a great spot looking over Spinola Bay. There is also an inside area. It's definitely very popular with both locals and tourists so always busy and a lively ambience. Staff are generally very friendly and service was mostly very good.

We tried a few of the cocktails (Various margaritas and pina colada - see photos) and whilst they are very generously sized, they are a little tasteless because there is too much ice, juice etc compared to the alcohol content.

Food-wise, we only tried a couple of the starters. The Gbejna tal-bzar maltese cheese was excellent (see photo). The calamari fritti was well-presented but actually was mainly the stringy, chewy tentacles so rather disappointing.

Nevertheless, this is a great lively spot and we wouldn't hesitate to return if we were back in St Julian's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank la_viajera_constanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Light Lunch”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped for a light lunch on the water. The calamari was good with not much taste and the brushetta was the worst ever. May as well have toasted bread and threw on some tomatoes and basil. I wont come back here. Service was okay.

Helpful?
Thank tonymercieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Cuba also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Cafe Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing