We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flavours, generous portions, confused service”
Review of Shakinah

Shakinah
Ranked #96 of 331 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 2 Hours Free Parking at the Meridien included. Shakinah presents Indian cuisine in an interesting selection of exquisitely prepared, colourful, individual yet separate dishes.
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We walked in without a reservation, and were (reluctantly) given a table but did not feel welcomed.

It is a tiny restaurant and the tables are very close together. Don't eat here if you want to feel private. I can understand why reservations are recommended, since seating is limited. They could easily have put this on their sign, which we had examined during our afternoon walk, and which had led us back to the restaurant.

We then had a long wait for menus, while other guests were seated and received theirs. During this time we witnessed another pair of diners taste their food and then agree with the waitress to pay for their drinks and leave...we started to worry.

When we were finally given menus and allowed to order, however, the evening began to turn around. We ordered from the Indian side, as those are flavours we are familiar with. Tasty poppadoms and dips arrived, but the clearly inexperienced wait staff failed to explain that they were complimentary, so we first thought it was a mix-up. Our appetizers, dal soup and and potato samosas, came promptly and were delicious...but the portions were so generous that we rather ruined our appetite for the main course.

The main course, Chicken Tikka, Chicken Pahadi, raita, nan and rice, was served in a timely fashion, and was beautifully cooked and seasoned. But my dinner plate had a big chip out of it, which the wait staff had not noticed.

While we were enjoying our main courses, there were no less than four staff (it seemed to be two owners and two wait staff) moving in the limited space among the few tables, serving food and wine and taking orders. Frankly, it seemed disorganized, and in such tight quarters you can't help noticing.

I felt that the prices for the "extras" like naan, raita and rice were high - but the mains were priced reasonably and all portions were very generous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UIDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We would like to thank you for your input and we wish to welcome you back with a better service should you wish to visit us again when you are in Malta. We hope that you have enjoyed the overall experience at our establishment and we look forward to having you back.

Kindest Regards,

Shakinah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went there with my girlfriend and friends. The restaurant was small and cozy, where we were immediately greeted by the smiles of the waitress. Though the staff could have been better trained, as they did forget one of our plates, they were very polite. The menu consisted of Indian and Arabic food and there was a vast selection of items. We ordered a number of Indian and Arabic items, all of which were delicious.

The only thing I could complain about was that as it is a small place, when the room was full it felt a bit stuffy. Apart from that, this place is a great place to dine and is also reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sacrilegious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your overall experience at Shakinah and we look forward to having you again.

Kindest Regards,

Shakinah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Went here with my partner hoping to get a nice curry, possibly not as nice as in the UK but we still expected decent food.

After waiting for our starters for 1 hour while everyone around us was being served starters and mains I asked if something was wrong. I don't think samosa's and onion bajis should take that long to prepare, especially in the smallest restaurant I have ever been to with only 10 tables.

When it arrived 10 minutes later, there were no condiments. The restaurant had run out of mango chutney....didn't know that was legal in an Indian restaurant.

Tasted the onion bahji, the samosa and prawns and they were all terrible. The ones you get at the supermarket that you just pop in the oven for 40 minutes are 10 times nicer.

Not looking forward to waiting another hour for our mains to arrive, we paid for our drinks and left.

Needless to say, I won't be going back there!

2  Thank Sander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are displeased to hear that your experience at Shakinah did not meet your expectations, we thank you for your honest criticism and wish to ensure that your visit would be a much pleasanter one should you wish to pay us a visit next time around.

Kind Regards,

Shakinah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went there with friends for a christmas dinner. It was our first visit to this restaurant so we didnt know the sizes of the portions. After we triend different starters we were already full (and there were 6 of us!). Unfortunately, when I got my main dish I couldn't eat even half of it. It's a pity, cause it was very very very tasty!!! My friends ordered Indian, when I tried Arabic there, and Im telling you - It's just delicious. The real surprise was the bill - it was unexpectedly cheap!))

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FarfallinkaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are ecstatic to hear that you have found the experience at Shakinah pleasureful and we would like to thank you for your contribution, we look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,

Shakinah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Went there with some friends and I was immideately enchanted. The restaurant itself is pretty small, yet the aromas and smells assault you instantly as you walk in, making your mouth water. The decor is colourful and inviting, and the servings nice and well decorated. The food is very tasty and the menu is vary varied, giving loads of choice. Prices are ok too.

The only thing was that the staff seemed kind of absent minded. They forgot one of our rice plates, and even got orders mixed with another tables' (not that there were many of those). I would recommend training staff more throughly. However apart from that, it was quite nice :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank M_Moonsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We are ecstatic to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at Shakinah, thank you for your honest input which we will be looking into improving.

We look forward to serving you again :)

kind regards,

Shakinah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakinah also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Il Gzira, Island of Malta
 

Been to Shakinah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing