We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best possible location to stay on Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best possible location to stay on Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Wonderful location overlooking Spinola Bay. It would be a shame not to spend the extra few dollars on a junior suite with the balcony facing the bay, as it really is an outstanding view. From first arrival, the welcome is warm, and the staff very attentive and eager to help. Ilham, on the front desk, was a delight to talk to, and as with all her colleagues, very helpful with information to guide us through our first visit to Malta. Our visit may not have been quite so enjoyable if we had stayed anywhere other than Hotel Juliani, as its position in St.Juliens offered us everything we needed - a wonderful variety of quality inexpensive restaurants within a couple of minutes walk, across the road from a bus service which could take us virtually anywhere in Malta for 47 cents (they are a tourist attraction in themselves, and we now know where all those old Bedfords went), relaxing strolls around the little bay, and the genuine smiles from all hotel staff were a highlight . The rooftop pool was beautifully situated and offered an even better view of Spinola Bay than from our balcony.The Juliani also offers airport pickups by arrangement (free if you stay 3 nights or more), and free wifi. It seems nobody gets up very early in Malta, and breakfast opportunities outside the hotel were few until about 9.30am. Couldn't recommend any better breakfast than the outside terrace at Paparazzi, only 100 metres from the Juliani, and offering a position and a view worth much more than the very reasonable price of their excellent breakfast. Local beer was cheap everywhere, and good quality. I hadn't tried 'Cisk' before, but will certainly take it if it's offered in future! A bus trip to the walled city of Mdina was great, and the Fontanella Restaurant, with its fabulous 'cake menu' was something completely different, as well as providing a wonderful view across most of Malta. All local meals in our 4-day stay were excellent, and a bit of sight-seeing to Valletta, Sliema, and Gozo squeezed in between long periods of relaxing rounded off a very pleasant stay. I would not consider staying anywhere else on a return visit to Malta.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robtup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    340
    59
    22
    2
See reviews for
139
813
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed in this hotel for nine days in February / March 2011 for a relaxed holiday.
On the positive side, the location of the hotel is just great. It overlooks Spinola Bay which is a very nice view (if your room has one, later to that); there is a bus stop in fron of the hotel from which busses to all important destinations leave which are very inexpensive (50 cents to 1,20 euro). There are lots of restaurants around, and many bars and discos in Paceville (although we didn't go there). A shopping mall and supermarkets are in walking distance.
The service was very friendly, at reception as well as at breakfast and of the room service. We needed someone to repair something in our room and it was done at once. Also, when we needed advice about practical matters, someone saw that all questions were resolved.
We only had breakfast in the hotel which was OK: There were the usual English breakfast things (eggs, sausages, bacon, grilled mushrooms), bread and bakery things, fresh fruit and so on. A bit more variety and better youghurt would have been appreciated.

To the more negative things:
We had booked a room without a view and certainly didn't expect one. We were a but surprised though, that our room had only a window to a 2 times 2 metres "courtyard" which mant that beraly any light got in. Readin in the room without the lights on was impossible. The walls seem to be quite thin as well so that you hear lots of noises fromm other rooms and outside. This is especially unpleasant in the morning, because cleaning activities (vacuum cleaner...) begin around 8am, so that this meant usually the end of our sleep.
But all in all, the stay was very nice and we enjoyed being there.
As this is unfortunately not normal, the free w-lan was very appreciated too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazybeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
285 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of February, beginning of March. The bay that it overlooks is extremely pretty and quite lively. The view from our room was excellent (exactly as shown on the internet webcam). We had a Junior Suite with a small balcony. The room was large with a very large and comfortable bed and a bathroom with everything one would need. The furnishing is modern and stylish, as is the whole hotel. The service was excellent. The position of the hotel is very convenient. One can walk to lots of restaurants and bars and the bus stops for tours and public buses are just outside. We were on the 5th floor, so traffic noise was never a problem. The Zest restaurant was very good - quite sophisticated with tasty and reasonably priced food. The breakfast was plentiful but rather tasteless, which was my only reservation. The roof top pool was small (and in February/March very cold) but very nicely laid out with splendid views. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back if returning to Malta. The prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

This is an excellent establishment. We stayed here for one week, choosing the hotel on the basis of
previous Tripadvisor recommendations and we were very pleased with our stay. We negotiated a
B&B deal for a deluxe sea view room. It really is worthwhile paying extra for the view: even in
February we were able to sit on our balcony, drinks to hand, watching the world go by below us.
We can confirm that the breakfasts are excellent, especially the freshly brewed coffee and eggs
cooked to order. There’s plenty of fruit, lovely fresh bread and a proper toaster and marmalade!
All the staff are friendly and efficient – Alfred on late night reception was especially helpful when we
arrives after a late flight.
We travelled everywhere from the bus stop just outside the hotel - cheap, cheerful and hardly a dull
moment. We ate in Zest twice, both good – the Tempura dishes and the lamb curry were outstandin
g. Stylish surroundings, impeccable, friendly service. Quite expensive, but good value for money. We
also enjoyed eating at Room 21 (almost next door, Maltese food well cooked at reasonable prices)
and Biancos a busy well run Italian restaurant just a bit further up the street. We found San Guilietti
expensive, food moderate for the price and the service poor. As long as you avoid the very basic
stuff (which is pretty foul) we found Maltese wines really rather good in mnost places.
There’s not really enough to justify an hour at each stop on the open top bus, but we found another
open bus south island tour which tsopped for a sufficient amount of time at each place with an
explanation by a good multilingual guide good value at E10 for 5. Harbour boat tour a must.
Good hotel: highly recommneded.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peridor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Very nice hotel. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. We were in an ambassador's suite (upgraded from a junior suite). We loved the balcony overlooking the bay.
The hotel is surrounded by some great restaurants so diner was no problem.
If ever I return to Malta, I will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Malta is very worthwile to visit. History as well as the present mix into a great stay. We did not meet someone who was not helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Thoroughly pleased with our choice of this Hotel. Great location,friendly and helpful staff and very pleasant room.Breakfast excellent.

Handy for the cheap and efficient Maltese bus service,a good choice of restaurants and bars are also nearby. Anyone requiring specific information please feel free to contact me.

Rod

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roddyrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,416 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Lastminute, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing