We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great.”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great.”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Clean, friendly. Good room service, great fast wifi. Bathroom was in good condition and had the suitable amenities. The only real issue is they charge $14 euro for breakfast per person which is crazy. Apart from that we had no complaints what so ever.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeybpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    347
    61
    23
    2
See reviews for
143
835
66
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We really enjoyed our recent three night stay at the Juliani, having picked this hotel and resort as a base to attend a relative's wedding on the Island of Malta, we weren't disappointed with our choice.

The room that we got had great facilities and view of Spinola bay, so would recommend asking for a sea-view room or suite. It is lively on the main road in front of the hotel, but if you like a bustling feel to your location then it probably wouldn't be an issue, besides with doors closed and the very heavy duty curtains pulled across, the noise can be blocked out...

The moorish style roof-top bar area was very clean with a nice small pool with great views and the background chillout music is a touch. There is a very good choice and standard at breakfast, the freshly squeezed OJ and coffee is lovely and we found the bar and cafe prices in the day to be reasonable.

Despite there being an overwhelming choice of good quality restaurants in St. Julians, the Zest restaurant is definitely a worthwhile experience. The decor, presentation, fusion concept and extensive menu helps prepare you for the fact that you are in for some very high standards of service and food quality, in a restaurant with a tone that is a consistent yet differentiated extension of the Juliani's identity.

Due to the very generous three and a half hour window for Breakfast, it is hard to judge how many people were staying in the hotel, but we got the feeling that it was nearly full and this didn't have any effect on the service that we experienced during our stay. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: book direct, get sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monochromexpeditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We got married in Malta on the 31st May and stayed at Hotel Juliani with some of our friends and family for a week. The location is great, local buses run from right across the road to spots all around the island from 49cents one way. There are plenty of fab restaurants and bars minutes walk from the hotel to enjoy - we would recommend Paparazzi and Biancos and Meet (Argentinian steak house) has the most amazing outside terrace overlooking the bay and the best steak and ribs probably in town! If you want some late night dancing and drinking the man night life strip is just 10-15 minutes walk away - close enough if you want a late night, far enough away not to disturb your nights sleep!
The hotel staff were attentive without being over bearing. Helpful and efficient and always smiling. Breakfast was excellent for both the selection of food and the fact we could sit with our friends and family to enjoy it. We had booked a deluxe room and because we were getting married they upgraded us free of charge to a junior suite which blew us away when they told us at check-in. The room was beautifully presented and very clean, our room and our towels were cleaned and changed regularly. The pool although not massive is perfect for a little swim and more importantly a cool off when sunning yourself on the roof terrace ad the views are incredible! This is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I would certainly recommend it ad would come back again- the rest of our friends and family would also agree, no complaints at all (22 people in total!)

Room Tip: Junior suite - spacious and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie80G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C.,Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This is a nice "boutique" (i.e. small) hotel in the heart of St. Julian's, across the road from the bay. There are many restaurants nearby and a supermarket about a block away. The rooms at the front obviously have a superior view to those at the back (which look over a typical Malta alley), but could suffer from some traffic noise at time. For visitors to Malta who want access to public transportation or the "hop on/hop off" type buses, the location can't be beaten. These are directly across the street from the hotel. The public busses are frequently pretty ancient but this is part of the charm, and it is certainly very cheap to get around! The hotel staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were pleasant and clean. There is a small pool on the roof with a lovely view of the whole bay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotTooLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe bucks
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week . Caroline, the very helpful and attractive receptionist responded to my request for a room with a view by allotting us 805, a de luxe superior room. All the junior suites were booked but this was a very good alternative less expensive room, still with a view of Spinola Bay.The aircon was efficient and quiet and we could get a through draft by opening a door at either end of the spacious room. The kingsize bed was very comfortable.There are only about 45 rooms so the hotel never got crowded. On the day we left we were allowed to leave our luggage all day in a locked room till departure at 18.30.The lift was a valuable asset as we were on the eighth floor.

Buses stop right outside the door and the hotel staff could tell us times and routes.The staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful. We used the excellent Sunflower Landscapes book by Douglas Lockhart. It gives details of walks on the Island.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJBHighWycombeBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

After having travelled all over europe for the past 3 weeks ( see other reviews), Malta was our final destination. I had done the least research on Malta leaving it for on the fly. Hotel Juliani was just what I needed.
1. Location: in saint julains opposite the bay, beautiful views. There is a lot of places to eat in and around the hotel. Grocery store is right next door and for the nightlife Paceville is just up the street.
2. Service: amazing staff. I must have bothered the reception hostess at least a 100 times but was always greeted with a smile and a positive response. My key card didn't work a hotel maid let me I'm my room and them went and got my key fixed... Amazing.
3. Parking: we rented a for a day through an agency associated with the hotel( also a plus since some local car rentals might scam you) and the parking is free for guests.
4. Room: we had a ambssador suite, the room is huge, my wife and I loved it.

This has to be hands down the best place i have stayed at on my entire trip in Europe.

When I return to Malta, which I will soon since it's beautiful, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mehtap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the totally gorgeous Hotel Juliani. We cannot praise the staff there enough - and send very special thanks to Caroline and Albert on reception for all their kindness, warmth and help - our welcome to the hotel was the best we have ever had. To Kenny for such a warm smile every morning at breakfast and to Jason and Gaby behind the bar - always waiting with a refreshing Kinnie or a Cisk - and of course a delicious cake! The room we had was very spacious and we had a terrace at the back with sun loungers and a partial view of Spinola Bay at the front, the style is relaxed and contemporary and the rooms provide all you could wish for (we had room 805). The hotel is ideally located for the buses around the island, and for walking to Sliema around the coast. We did not eat at the Zest restaurant in the hotel, as there are just so many lovely restaurants in the area to choose from (a week's holiday is not enough!). The bar area is great for watching the world go by, and the lovely breakfast is also served here.....Whoever employs the staff for this hotel really knows what they are doing, and also what people staying in hotels want - quiet, calm efficiency and a warm welcome morning, noon or night. We really loved it, and miss it - not just all the little well-thought out luxuries, but all the people who made this holiday really special for us, THANK YOU ALL.

Room Tip: ask for a view of Spinola Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,542 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing