We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My first time in Malta and so at the Juliani which I found by recommendation on Trip Advisor. Most of the reviews here are glowing of this property and after staying here for 12 nights in July I wholeheartedly agree. The Hotel Juliani (which should not be confused with the St. Julians Bay hotel down the road) is a small boutique property in the heart of St. Julians, on the main road that runs around Spinola Bay. The road is very busy all day every day, but that shouldn't put you off. Frequent local buses to Sliema (ferries), Valetta and Mdina stop right outside the hotel door as do all the hop on tour buses. But my experience was that using a local bus to get to the Gozo ferry was too hard, take a private tour instead. At least until they sort out the new bus routes.

The Juliani building sits in a strip that also houses a McDonalds, a Wagamama and just up the street even a Pizza Hut. But please explore beyond those easy options, St. Julians, nearby Sliema and the nightspot capital Paceville just up the road are on the hotels doorstep and the choice and variety of restaurants and bars is almost overwhelming. The hotel itself has an excellent restaurant in house called Zest.

The interior of the building is modern, light and airy - with a nice choice of theme colourings that flow from the breakfast and lunch cafe in the lobby right up through the bedrooms. Breakfast was exceptional with an extensive hot and cold buffet plus alternate egg dishes cooked to order. The barista coffee service was remarkable in that in 12 days it was consistently great no matter who made it.

The Juliani is a small hotel with less than 50 rooms. There is a small pool deck on the roof which has stunning views of the area. It also has guest parking in a small garage which is accessed from the lane to the rear. But there is no health club or business centre or children's club. Complimentary wi-fi is there right through the hotel and I found it to be very fast. They will give you a log on code at check-in.

This is a hotel where many people will stay for a longer period so it's important to know what the hotel offers in terms of room options. To be honest none of the rooms are overly large and some of the Deluxe rooms are even on the small side. There are only five accommodation levels each with just three sea facing rooms/suites. Those 15 rooms face East over Spinola Bay and have small balconies. The rooms on the side of the building facing North would be the next best option, I think they are classed as Deluxe Sea View? I had 804 which still had a great view of the bay via a side window. It also didn't get the strong morning or afternoon sun and was quiet. Rooms to the West face over the residential laneway behind the hotel. Rooms to the South are the one's that I think people have complained about. They share a common wall with the building next door and while they do have windows they actually look out into a large ventilation and light 'void' that extends up to the pool deck. So while you will get some natural light down this shaft if you suffer from claustrophobia these rooms may not be for you. That said all rooms are really well furnished in pretty much the same way throughout the building. All have large flat screen TV's with many cable channels, though I only found CNN & SKY to be in English. All rooms have a DVD player.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Without exception the staff were friendly and as helpful as they could be. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. If you're looking for a sincerly welcoming, modern, extremely well located and well run adult orientated hotel in Malta as an option to the big resorts then you should look no further.

Room Tip: The building tapers are it gets higher so the room sizes change a little. The 8th floor is probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    347
    61
    23
    2
See reviews for
143
835
66
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed for only 2 nights at this lovely boutique hotel and had a great time. The location is excellent, with very good nearby restaurants; lovely views of the harbour and opposite the bus stop (loved the buses!) which made getting into Valletta very easy. The hotel is modern and welcoming with spacious comfy rooms and the staff are very friendly. The roof top pool area is a bonus and although small, it was a treat to have it.
We would definitely return to this hotel but to make it perfect I'd like to see tea/coffee facilities in the room and improved lighting for putting on your make up!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaVinciDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South west england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed 6 nights here in May. I am a bit fussy about hotels, it has to be 'nice' but I don't want to pay a fortune, this hotel did not disappoint. It is in a good location, in the lovely little harbour of Saint Julians, with lots of good Italian/Maltese restaurants (We would highly recommend Gululu) there is also a McDonalds which does freshly squeezed orange juice and a Wagamamas. The hotel is on the bus route for Valetta, the ferry for Gozo/Comino and the tour buses. Our room was the cheapest type but we still had a partial view of the harbour and it was a generous size. We did not have breakfast, but there is a supermarket (Scotts) 2 mins walk down the road where we bought food for breakfasts and packed lunches. We went up to try the restaurant but it seemed expensive, so we didn't go in. There is a small unheated pool on the roof with sun loungers. The staff were very helpful, with directions, advice and requests. For example when we arrived there was no hand soap, and our window latch was broken , but these two problems were fixed. My only criticism is that our DVD player only seemed to want to play the 1st 20 mins of any DVD! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our holiday was all about relaxing and there is no better place to achieve the objective.

A complimentary drink on arrival to get the trip out of our legs and then up to our spacious, balconied room from which the view was great. The roof top pool is jut the place to unwind and the staff are attentive and bringing our drink and food orders was no trouble at all.

Thanks to all the staff: reception, pool, bar, the breakfast team, Zest restaurant and night staff who were all engaging and happy to help with whatever we wanted. Important too not to forget those behind the scenes who produced great food and made up our room immaculately each day.

Locally there were sufficient good quality restaurants for us to visit a different one every evening - Dolce Vita, Peperino, San Giuliano and, of course, Zest are particularly good.

Malta is a good place to holiday but is made all the better with a stay at Hotel Juliani!

Room Tip: Go for a suite, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notsobigandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel with my wife at the Juliani 2-9 July 2011

The location is very good: restaurants, sea, bus stop is right next to hotel entrance.
Sea view from the room - excelent! Free Wifi in room and free laptop at front desk.
Hotel staff are very attentive and friendly.
We arrived morning ~9.30a.m and were very suprised that our room was ready and we did not wait until hotel checkin time(1 p.m). Bottle of wine and fruits in the room on arrival - we were very pleased!
One of the best hotels in my trips!
I recomend to pay extra money for the sea view room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman_1975spb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for the first 5 days of a one week holiday. We chose this hotel on the basis of its Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed.

We had a "Deluxe Sea View" room, and were delighted with it. The room wasn't huge but was plenty big enough for our purpose. It was tastefully decorated and furnished with a decent flat screen TV and a DVD player. The bathroom was nice, with a Jacuzzi bath and decent water pressure. But aside from all the positive stuff above, the balcony facing out over Spinola bay was stunning, and a beautiful place to have a drink in the evening once it had cooled down!!

The location is undoubtedly the nicest location on the island (we drove around the entire island during the week). It's not as built up as some of the other tourist areas, contains a number of the top restaurants in Malta, a number of lively bars/clubs, mcdonalds, and stops for the malta bus tour companies and multiple local bus routes.

The hotel also has a roof-top pool which was beautiful to just relax by the pool reading a book, having a beer or to take a dip. Drinks were very reasonably priced!!

I had a few minor issues with my stay:
1) Any beers we ordered were at best lukewarm.
2) The minibar in the room barely worked at all, so beers out of this were also warm.
3) The car parking is limited and extremely tight

On the whole, i found this hotel to be of a very high standard, very reasonable cost for the quality!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Malta!! I'll definitely stay in this hotel again if i'm ever back in Malta!

Room Tip: Get a sea-view room. Well worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woof-Woof-Woof-Woof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Juliani for five nights from the 17th of July until the 22nd of July 2011. We were both very impressed by the overall standard of the hotel, its staff and its general cleanliness.

St Julians is a busy area, particularly around Spinola Bay, and I particularly liked the fact that as soon as we walked through the front doors to the hotel then everything seems much calmer and quieter. The staff were all friendly and helpful, particularly those on the front desk. They were not always able to answer all my questions (particularly on bus routes, but that was because they had only just recently changed), though overall they were pleasant and were able to point us in the right direction.

We stayed in room 604 which had a partial sea view and balcony, which I was pleased about. The room was clean and was tidied every day while we were out. The only downside was a rather unpleasant ingrained stain in the bath - but this did not detract much from the experience. My girlfriend enjoyed using the swimming pool which was just the right temperature for a swim, particularly when the weather was as hot as 35 degrees celsius, and there were always enough sun loungers available.

The hotel is well located for the restaurants in St. Julian and is on the main bus routes (numbers 11,12,13) to Valletta. However, (and this is no fault of the hotel) the bus company changed the routes at the beginning of July and now it is a much more lengthy process to get to places other than Valletta and Sliema. For example, it took us an hour and a half to get to the Airport on our final day, and the bus was twenty minutes late turning up (that was at 8:30am). To get to the Gozo Ferry port we took the number 11 bus (going the other way to Valletta) and that took almost two hours! Likewise, the 202 to Mdina/Rabat took a very long time. Before we attempted these journeys then we were warned that doing so was "not advisable" by one of the receptionists. While I found that slightly disconcerting at first, she was ultimately right. The hotel no longer seems to be so well located for bus connections due to the new timetable - although these may change again in future so be warned!

We ate at the restaurant Zest and Cafe Juliani located in the hotel. I found both to be expensive for what they were, though the setting and staff were pleasant enough.

Other things, not in any particular order, which we liked were the good lifts, the sound proofed, quiet rooms which led to an excellent few nights sleep and the décor which was subtle and functional.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel. It is probably a little expensive when compared with other hotels on the island, but the service and the lack of problems we thought meant it was worth it.

Room Tip: Try to go for a seaview if you plan to spend time in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuantockWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing