We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

With a comfortable king sized bed and a beautiful view over Spinola Bay, the Juliani was the centre of our lovely week in Malta. We paid extra for a suite with a seaview, and it was certainly worth it. I have never had a hotel room with two televisions before, although the choice of channels is somewhat limited, as other reviewers have said. The bathroom is small but well appointed, with a jacuzzi bath and a reasonable shower. The balcony was sweet, and we loved to sit out there as the sun went down, while we were deciding which of the many restaurants around the bay we would visit for a meal that evening. Thank you to the local band who provided background music for our evening drink!

Before we went, I was a little concerned that the Juliani was down the hill from Paceville, the island's night club district. However, the air conditioning in the room was quiet and efficient, so it was entirely possible to sleep with the balcony door closed and we were never disturbed. In fact, the busy-ness of the bay made our outside seating area interesting. There was always something to watch!

We hired a car for the week, and found the third floor garage convenient and secure, with a locked gate.

Thank you especially to all the friendly helpful staff, from the reception desk, through the breakfast and bar staff, to those who made our room fresh each day!

We also made good use of the rooftop pool. There were plenty of sunbeds, with some sofas in the shade for those who don't want to sit out in the mediterranean sun. Plants and moorish decor, with ever attentive bar staff, made this a pleasant experience.

The Juliani is in an excellent, central position, out of Valletta, but still within easy driving distance of beaches and popular tourist sites. We would have managed fine without a hire car, since the local bus service runs frequently. Try an open top bus ride for good views over all the island, and a boat trip around the coast was also very enjoyable. The bus stop is just across the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missl2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at hotel juliani from 16th-23rd August on b&b basis.
We booked the hotel mainly because of the positive reviews on trip advisor, we were not disapponted.
It's a really cool boutique hotel with contemporary design, the rooms are spacious and modern, the breakfast fresh and plentiful, the roof top pool is fine to cool down in with great views over spinola bay.
The staff were helpful and friendly, the location is perfect for some really good restaurants close by and access to the sea as there are areas sectioned off for swimmers.
In a nutshell if we stay in Malta again we'll stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globalduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Our first trip to Malta was excellent & a large part of that is due to the standard & location of this lovely hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly & helpful, the rooms were very comfortable & the rooftop pool area is a lovely place to spend time relaxing.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was our 3rd stay at the Juliani and we were greeted like old friends on our arrival. We arrived tired and jaded at 6:00am in the morning and were provided with a welcoming coffee whilst we checked in.
We stayed in room 807, a rear facing top floor suite (our choice) with a huge outdoor patio area with 2 sun-loungers, chairs and table. The room was spotless and the air-con was brilliant.
The hotel is central and well placed for the buses and retaurants in the area of which there are many.
Breakfast was superb, you can have as much cerial, fruit, cooked breakfast as you wish and taking our tea & coffee out front set us up for the day.
The roof-top pool was great and we spent quite a bit of time up there relaxing.
The staff, who when all said and done can make or break a holiday, were terrific but they rarely get a mention by name.
Ilam and the front desk staff were very helpful and always cheerful, as were the breakfast staff especially Jason and Martin.
Alfred - who mans the desk at night is a true gentleman who goes out of his way to be helpful and offers good advice on the locale.
June - one of the housekeepers was also very friendly and approachable.
Trust me when I say that you could not find a better hotel in Malta. Try it - you will not be disapointed, we will return again.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view chose a Junior suite. If, like us, you want to relax on your own patio area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Have just returned after a wonderful week at the Hotel Juliani. We booked a deluxe room which was well worth the extra money as it was lovely and spacious. We also had lovely views of the harbour.

The location of this hotel is superb. The views are amazing overlooking Spinola Bay and you are spoilt for choice with a great selection of restaurants and bars. There are also several mini markets nearby. Zest, the hotel's restaurant although slightly more pricey than some other places was really lovely for a special meal and was one of our favourites. Try and get a seat on the terrace if you can and watch the world go by!

Also worth mentioning is Piccolo Padre Italian which is also owned by the hotel and is roughly a 10 minute walk. Its very reasonably priced and incredibly popular - again its worth getting a table on the terrace for some lovely views over the bay.

Buffet breakfast was good - lovely coffee and a good selection of hot and cold foods.

There was a small unheated swimming pool on the 9th floor with stunning views over the bay. A welcome place to cool off in the heat of the day!

Only a couple of niggles - it would have been nice to have been given complimentary bottled water in the rooms. There is water in the fridge but these are at mini bar prices so its much cheaper to buy your own from the mini markets nearby. Also the shower which was over the bath was a bit haphazard and for a 4 star hotel we would have expected better quality.

But all in all the hotel was fantastic - pricey but worth every penny and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank jules111_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had an absolutely fanatastic time staying at the Hotel Juliani, having just returned from a weeks holiday (August 2011)and not wanting to leave. The Hotel is amazing and all the staff were not only friendly, they all went that extra mile especially Alfred who made our stay extremely memorable with his personnel touch,knowledge and service. We cannot wait to return again as soon as possible and we have fallen in love with both Malta and the Hotel Juliani.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Stay in a Junior Suite (the view alone is fantastic and the room is spacious and luxurious)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed here with my mum for 4 nights in August ( I am 32 & my mum 64) and although it had been recommended to me it was much better than I thought it would be.

I booked directly with the hotel with a "short stay package" which included breakfast and airport transfers. The price had gone up on the website overnight and I emailed them and asked for the original price ( saving of 80EUR for 4 nights) and then agreed. The correspondance was also swift and helpful.

As per the advice on the site, we booked a room with a balcony and the view was STUNNING, and I am soo pleased we paid the extra money for it. It was soo relaxing sitting on the balcony late afternoon/early evening watching the boats and the world go by. The room itself was of an average side, with plenty of room for two people and it was always kept clean. The only slight let down was the bathroom which could have done with a bit of an extra clean ( resealed the bath etc) and the fact that the shower screen didnt keep the water off the floor.

Breakfast was plentiful, We only had cereal and fruit but there were cooked options too.

The 9th floor had a small swimming pool with about 15 sunloungers, to ensure that you get a bed, make sure you are there by 10:30! The food that is served by the pool is lovely but it is MASSIVE portions, so you can probably share.

The location is perfect, you can walk to many many restaurants within 10mins (zest and 1927 def worth a visit), and you can even end up in Paceville for a massive night out with the young ones!! The bus stop is just opposite the hotel, and from here you can get the buses to Valletta & Silema Ferries & also the fabuolous open top bus tour buses ( I would def recommend the northern loop and Midina). There is a littel tourist office up the hill on the right hand side, where you can book boat trips too ( Gozo & Comino is a must).

In short I would def recommend this hotel and you get soo much more personal service than if you were at a big hotel ( and there are plenty near by!).

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with a seaview, DEF worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonKeen_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,058 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £77 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing