We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Marvelous Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

If you like small well designed hotels with great personal service, this is the place for you. From the moment you arrive you feel welcome. Very comfortable rooms, but the ones facing the harbor have fabulous views. If you opt for the non-harbor view delux rooms you can always go up to the ninth floor for the swimming pool and the view. Also a great place to relax or sun yourself. Buffet breakfasts are more than adequate and the service is friendly and efficient. Alot of care went into the design with its muted blue and grey theme throughout the hotel even including the stationery. As for convenience, the bus stops right in front of the hotel. No need to rent a car for the buses are convenient and can get you anywhere on the island. The standard fare is 2.2 euros for a day pass whether you go one mile or 20 miles and can be used multiple times a day. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Sliema with its ferries is a ten minute ride on the bus and Valetta is about 20 minutes. The two hour harbor cruise is the best harbor tour you will ever take. The island is very tourist friendly and a lovely place to spend a vacation. Great hotel in a wonderful country.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelNili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    350
    61
    23
    2
See reviews for
145
838
67
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Location - great for restaurants, great for buses (tourist and normal), walking distance to Paceville (if you like the clubbing scene) and easy access to Sliema.
Hotel - classy with simple decor, roof top pool with bar facilities, fantastic views of Spinola Bay, air conditioning not too loud.
Staff - friendly and couldn't do enough for you and much more personal than resort hotels.
Wonderful week spent there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 67nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at Hotel Juliani in August as a family of 6, so we had 2 junior seaview suites.
Although quite expensive, if you can afford to upgrade to the seaview it is well worth it. The balconies overlooked the beautiful bay. We had level 5 and 6 and each had balconies but level 5 had a very small one and level 6 was bigger.
The linen was fresh and of a good quality and changed daily. There were lovely toiletries in the bathroom.
The hotel is located on a busy street and at night it was packed but we all seemed to sleep without a problem.
The only downside for me was that were no tea or coffee making facilities.
The breakfasts were included and were very nice. Plenty of pastries, fruits and yoghurts etc.
They also went quite late so you didnt have to get up too early if you wanted a lie in.
The hotel has a nice air conditioned lobby and bar area which was a nice place at night to have a drink and watch all the activity outside.
The roof top pool was used by us most days and even though the hotel was full, we always managed to find a chair.
We hired a car and were able to park underneath the hotel for free. We also caught the bus into Valletta from outside the hotel.
If you want a nice sandy beach, I would go to Golden Bay. We also took a trip with Charlies tours from the beach. For 10 Euro he will take you on a short trip to a small grotto where you can swim in beautiful bright blue waters. His other trip to the Blue Lagoon is longer but very touristy.
I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Seaviews if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Rather like an earlier review, first impressions were a little disappointing, not being a lover of McDonalds, but once inside it is superb. The atmosphere of the reception/bar was lovely and most of all on a hot day, the aircon was very efficient. All all the staff we encountered from the front desk to the bar, waiting staff and room managers were great. The word "can't" (often used as a substitute for "won't") did not seem to exist. The hotel itself is very modern, furnished in a minimalist style to a very high quality. The room was not over-large, but suited our purpose and a modern bathroom ensured refreshing showers whenever they were needed. Everything was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel faces the sea at the Northern end of St Julians, a busy area, so space is at a premium therefore there are no gardens as such but the small swimming pool and deck on the roof and the small terrace by the main entrance were pleasant places. Breakfasts were good, the bar was friendly and prices reasonable. However best of all was the in-house restaurant Zest, which was excellent.

All-in-all a very pleasant stay. We will almost certainly return and we have already recommended it to good friends who are thinking of visiting Malta.

Management teams of big hotel chains should really book into this place for a couple of nights to see how to run a hotel.

Room Tip: Front seaview rooms face a busy street, but sound insulation appears good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

just finished are third stay at the hotel what can you say about this hotel .from the man who checked us in at 3am to both the girls on the desk who could not be more helpfull to jason and all who work at the breakfast to the cleaning ladys even the night concierge who told us off for coming in late may we take this opportunity to thank each and every one of you very much for are excellent holiday rose and robby liverpool

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived on a morning flight and found that we could not check into the hotel until 3pm, the lady on the front desk was brilliant and stored our bags in a secure room so that we could go out and explore st Julians. The barman also gave us a refreshing welcome drink which was a nice touch.

Hotel Juliani is modern and clean and ideally located for the numerous restaurants and bars in and around Spinola Bay and on the route to Paceville. We were in room 405 which has a limited and partly obstructed view of the bay and no balcony, with this knowledge I’d be more inclined to book direct with the hotel next time and request a room with balcony. Although this did not particularly dampen our enjoyment of the hotel, it would have been nice to enjoy a drink in the evening overlooking the bay as the sun went down. This was however a minor detail and our initial disappointment soon forgotten as the room itself was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom equipped with a bath and decent shower . The staff were universally friendly and eager to help, especially the morning receptionist who always took time to answer our questions with a cheerful smile and nothing was too much trouble. If you are looking to take a boat trip during your stay, our tip would be save time and book via the hotel front desk. We choose the Fernandes trip on her recommendation (with Captain Morgan cruises) and it was worth every cent (we also enjoyed the speed boat from Comino to the caves for an extra 10 euros per person).
The bus stop across the road is ideally located and offers direct services to Rabat for Mdina (No 202), and Valletta (No’s 11, 12 or 13). Although the old style yellow buses are sadly gone the new buses offer comfortable air conditioned travel at a bargain price (2.60 euros for an all day pass). For Mdina we decided to buy a local map from the shop near the bus stop in Rabat, the owner and a local man took the time to point out areas of interest and this really helped us to make best use of our time.

There are plenty of good restaurants in St Julians, our recommendation would be Peppino’s a few metres up the street from the hotel. We were very lucky to get a table on the top floor with amazing views of the bay without booking in advance, but to avoid disappointment I strongly advise you book ahead. The food in Peppino’s was outstanding and the service was excellent, easily the best meal we had in Malta. Lulu’s is also worth a visit.

Other notable benefits of hotel Juliani included free Wi Fi, the reception is excellent in the room. The pool is on the small side if you are looking for a swim but fine for a quick dip to keep cool. There is also a roof top bar so you can enjoy a drink while relaxing in the sun. The breakfast was also good, offering both cooked and cold options, coffee and fresh orange.

In my opinion St Julians is an ideal place to stay in Malta, such a vast selection of great places to eat and a convenient location for exploring other parts of the Island. I would recommend hotel Juliani to anyone looking for a quality hotel experience, I cannot fault it and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcany room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank granger-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

First impressions were a bit disappointing... mainly because it's located next to McDonalds. However, the hotel rooms are great. It's quiet, even though it's on a busy road. The road provides a great selection of restaurants and bars within a few seconds walk.

Room Tip: Go for a view. Worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gavink_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,606 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing