We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at Juliani for 2 nights after spending 4 nights at the Kempinski in Gozo and there was of course the element of lesser luxury and grandeur and the natural comparison we were constantly making as we were charged a similar rate for both hotels.

Despite slight initial disappointment (as comparing to KemPinski) - Juliani quickly won us over with a great location across the Spinola bay. Rooms were simply decorated, room was fine, towels fluffy, big beds and powerful shower. Didn't try Zest but next door 1927 was fab.

Main feature is definitely the location - opp bus stop, neat bustling Sliema and clubby Paceville.

For a boutique hotel I do think prices are a bit high but would stay again if in Malta.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iphoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

What a beautiful hotel. We had a junior suite with marvellous views over Spinola Bay. The room itself was very spacious with everything you could wish for. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially Ilham on reception and Kenny who was on the waiting staff. They all were very caring to ensure that our stay went well. We had booked up the Beat the Crunch package which included a lovely meal in Zest as well as a taxi to and from the airport.

We enjoyed the Hop on Hop off tour included in this beat the crunch package from citysightseeingmalta but thought the maltasightseeing company tours much better. The two company names can be quite confusing as they are both vying for business! The rep for maltasightseeing, Maria, stands opposite the hotel and is a mine of information and good humour. We booked a further two tours with her company and also got a free harbour cruise.

All in all, a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of Spinola Bay. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This hotel has many qualities: large rooms with, (ours), great views, jacuzzis, comfy beds, free wifi, good soundproofing, generous breakfast, rooftop pool, all that at a reasonable price. Local buses and tours are available just in front. At least 30 good restaurants around. Shops and even a fast food chain just near (for those who like those). Personnel is polite but not really caring. Good food from room service at their Twist restaurant. Highly commandable hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michelparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

What a find, a modern hotel behind an old facade right on the bay. We had a junior suite (703) which was really roomy.

The hotel restaurant - Zest - is great and the bus-stop is right over the road.

Really comfortable beds and pillows.

Helpful staff and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: The junior suites are great if traveling with another person that you don't share a bed with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FastHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotel Juliani is ideally located for all purposes. It provides a peaceful accommodation in the vibrant St Julian's area. It is close to the airport, restaurants and bars on the doorstep and nearby to other towns. It is a small boutique hotel and well maintained. Our room was on the 5th floor and we had a window with a side view of the harbour. This is worth asking for if you can't get one of the few front facing rooms. The room was large and had good amenities including TV, DVD player, hairdryer and effective air-conditioning. Breakfast was included in our rate and was plentiful and varied. In particular Illy coffee is served and freshly squeezed orange juice. There was also cereal, ham/cheese, breads/pastries and cakes as well as cooked breakfast. Staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful and everybody speaks good English. The hotel has a pool and area to relax on the roof - the pool however had freezing water despite the high daytime temperatures and was too small to be able to swim. This hotel was recommended to us by a Maltese friend and also rates very highly here on Tripadvisor - we can also recommend it strongly.

Room Tip: As above - try for a harbour facing room but if not then ask for room with side view of harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littleblue100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I want to make people aware, becausse the hotel management didn't took my comments serious enough to improve themselves.

We have stayed in hotel Juliani from 31 of july till 13 august.
We booked on half board basis. On our arrival the reception attendent told us we could have diner at the Zest restaurant from 7pm till 10pm without mentioning any other option?
At first the Zest restaurant was posh and delicious although it's more than 2 hours that you need to have all your dishes? Very unpleasant becausse we had an appointment with some friends around 21.30pm, we finished dinner around 22.30pm.
Some days later we were really fed-up with the east meets west menu! We still tought there was no other way to enjoy our dinner time!
We even experienced some inconvenience that the staff only tried to soften up with some lemoncello or extra sushi! When we got introduced with the new menu
(new lay-out) we discoverd some menu's voor 2 to share. At first we tried the degustation menu that starts with a glas of spumante mixed up with passion fruit extract
this was very lovely. Some days later we took this menu again, but very odd the chief waiter told us that we had to pay voor the spumante becausse it was not included in
the halfboard basis?! We told him that we had this menu before and didn't have to pay an extra charge for the spumante. He apologies more than once an after dinner
he offred a lemoncello. Some other dinner time we wait for more than 1hr between starter an main course! when we mentioned the delay, the waiter once again
made his apology and gave us some extra sushi to soften things up.
On our last eve at the Zest restaurant we got confronted by a cockroach who was heading under our table when we where eating our main course. Even tough, we
informed the staff straightway they didn't saw this little creature as a huge problem in a restaurant.
After 9 days of East meets West posh trouble and Thai food over and over again, we had enough really fed-up in mind, stomach (being sick) and no eve's left (becausse of
long waiting times). We have asked the reception attendent Ismahl - who is one of you best and most friendly staff members - if there was any other option than Zest.
Thanks to her, we have discoverd the lovely and honest restaurant Pizerria Picollo Padre. It's only a shame that we had to discover this delightful 2nd option after 11 days
of Japanese food and simply because we dare to complain. Can you imagine what's it like to eat Thai food for 11 days!!! Surely no holiday feeling, We tought that dinner time in
a restaurant on holiday should be a time to capture?!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Our first trip to Malta in May2011

We decided to have a short break in Malta and after reading alot of reviews on trip advisor, decided on the location of St Julians and the Hotel Juliani for 3 nights and we so glad we did.

We booked a room with a balcony that over looks the bay "such a great view"
and this was where we liked to sit late afternoon with a drink to watch the sun go down.

The hotel was very clean, breakfast was good and we got airport transfers included when we book with them direct.There staff are friendly and very helpful. As the weather was great we got to use the small rooftop pool and bathing area.

We had a great trip and once again our choice of hotel was due to all the TA reviewers.

So many thanks to you all

Room Tip: Book a balcony room for its view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wheretonextfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,747 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.6 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £68 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing