We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overall good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel Juliani for a week in October 2011, using the short stay package. Our stay got off to a rocky start. The hotel was supposed to send someone to pick us up at the airport, but no one met us. After 3 calls from me to the hotel and 30 minutes later, a very nice driver showed up. He had the wrong time for us. He didn't know if it was his mistake or the hotel's, but apologized. When we checked in, the man at the front desk never even apologised, which bothered me more than the driver not having the correct time.
We had an ambassador suite, and we enjoyed the space. We also really enjoyed being able to use our ipad in our room free. The hotel put a very good card I've never seen before on our door asking us to let the cleaner know if we had problems with anything. That same day she helped us with the TV.
The hotel is excellently located, across the street from bus stops, and we used the buses a lot. We ate at some of the many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.
Ilham at the front desk was particularly helpful. She made restaurant reservations, advised on things to see and even arranged hair appointments for us. When our air conditioning was not working correctly, she arranged for it to be adjusted.
The breakfast at the hotel is great. Lots of variety, and the staff friendly.
We ate at Zest, the restaurant in the hotel, one night. The food was mediocre.
Finally, we appreciated the small gift the hotel presented to us on our last day. Very thoughtful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelalotgva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    337
    59
    22
    2
See reviews for
137
807
63
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had an unexpected night at this hotel as our room in another close by was unavailable due to a plumbing problem. However, we were warmly greeted (having been travelling all day) and were promptly shown to a spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished room overlooking a side street. As has been mentioned by other contributors, the Juliani is centrally located on Spinola Bay and there are quite a number of restaurants of all descriptions and sizes close by.

Breakfast was a delight! Freshly squeezed orange juice individually served plus real expresso instead of the indescribable coffee served by many hotels was extremely impressive as indeed was the very helpful nature of the staff on duty.

We enjoyed our brief stay in this hotel very much. I can't comment on the value rating as we didn't pay for it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed at Hotel Juliani for 3 nights at the beginning of October and really enjoyed ourselves. Problems with flights meant that we were delayed by a day but Caroline on reception was super efficient in replying to my emails and re-arranging our transfers. When we did finally arrive we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a seaview room which really made the stay special. The balcony was great to sit out on and watch the activity around Spinola bay at any time of day or night!

Our room on the 7th floor was clean, quiet and to our taste in terms of decor. We had no problem sleeping although the jacuzzi bath was somewhat on the noisy side when in use.

Breakfasts were of an excellent standard - the freshly squeezed orange juice was a treat, plus of course the cakes, pastries, breads, cheeses, meats and fresh fruit. Our only criticism was that tables were not reset after guests so we frequently had to ask for cutlery.

We ended up eating at the hotel restaurant on our first night - rather by accident than design - as whilst the hotel offers room service there is no menu in the room. Calling down to reception informed us that we could order from the Zest menu however they didn't have a copy either. So, instead we went to the restaurant in person and had a lovely meal. During our stay we also ate at Piccolo Padre and Lulu's.

Out and about we particularly enjoyed:
- walking around the bays, all the way to Sliema
- Valetta harbour tour
- Mdina and Golden Bay (via Sightseeing bus)

If we were to stay on Malta again, we would definitely go back to the Juliani and will be recommending it to family and friends.

Room Tip: The view of Spinola Bay from seaview rooms is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluffievelluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at Juliani for 2 nights after spending 4 nights at the Kempinski in Gozo and there was of course the element of lesser luxury and grandeur and the natural comparison we were constantly making as we were charged a similar rate for both hotels.

Despite slight initial disappointment (as comparing to KemPinski) - Juliani quickly won us over with a great location across the Spinola bay. Rooms were simply decorated, room was fine, towels fluffy, big beds and powerful shower. Didn't try Zest but next door 1927 was fab.

Main feature is definitely the location - opp bus stop, neat bustling Sliema and clubby Paceville.

For a boutique hotel I do think prices are a bit high but would stay again if in Malta.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iphoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

What a beautiful hotel. We had a junior suite with marvellous views over Spinola Bay. The room itself was very spacious with everything you could wish for. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially Ilham on reception and Kenny who was on the waiting staff. They all were very caring to ensure that our stay went well. We had booked up the Beat the Crunch package which included a lovely meal in Zest as well as a taxi to and from the airport.

We enjoyed the Hop on Hop off tour included in this beat the crunch package from citysightseeingmalta but thought the maltasightseeing company tours much better. The two company names can be quite confusing as they are both vying for business! The rep for maltasightseeing, Maria, stands opposite the hotel and is a mine of information and good humour. We booked a further two tours with her company and also got a free harbour cruise.

All in all, a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of Spinola Bay. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This hotel has many qualities: large rooms with, (ours), great views, jacuzzis, comfy beds, free wifi, good soundproofing, generous breakfast, rooftop pool, all that at a reasonable price. Local buses and tours are available just in front. At least 30 good restaurants around. Shops and even a fast food chain just near (for those who like those). Personnel is polite but not really caring. Good food from room service at their Twist restaurant. Highly commandable hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michelparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

What a find, a modern hotel behind an old facade right on the bay. We had a junior suite (703) which was really roomy.

The hotel restaurant - Zest - is great and the bus-stop is right over the road.

Really comfortable beds and pillows.

Helpful staff and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: The junior suites are great if traveling with another person that you don't share a bed with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FastHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing