We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick getaway”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Quick getaway”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Juliani was just what my wife and I we needed for quick getaway. Actually I was back to Malta after 10 years and not much has changed, besides the yellow buses of course. This place is perfectly located with no hassle an annoyance of the famous Malta nightlife. This is still in walking distance near bye. We rented the car via hotel and everything was great – we also manage to find a place in the hotel garage every night (free of charge for guests) which is essential in Julian's bay. From here we explored the whole island and at the evening we walked to different dinner places had great food and some great vine. So it was definitely an experience we would do all over again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    351
    62
    23
    2
See reviews for
150
845
68
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Sorry for late reveiw. My wife and I stayed at Hotel Juliani and could not fault the hotel or location. We were fortunate to have booked into the Ambassador Room and having the extra space was a luxury. Our room overlooked Spinola bay which was spectacular and was close to many restaurants.We tried a lot of those overlooking the bay and were not disappointed. Also ate at the Hotel restaurant one night and Barracuda and found both to be high quality. The island of Malta is certainly an eye opener. My wifes father was Maltese and she had not been there for 30 years. I was expecting a European city but it felt more middle eastern. Malta has a facinating history.For something different organize a fishing trip, its a great day out on the water and you get to see a lot of the island from a different perpective.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking Spinola Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffp00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Juliani for a week in October 2011. We were in no way disappointed. We particularly liked the area because of the number of good restaurants nearby. The staff were very obliging including transport from the airport and helping us hire a very sheap, good car.

Room Tip: We had a suite which gave us enough room to sit around on a stormy half day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HawkeyeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed at Hotel Juliani this week - cos it's winter, ie off peak season, the price was really affordable. We got the bus from Malta airport, didn't have to change and got straight to the hotel, which is located right next to Mcdonald's and Wagamama japanese restaurant. Was amazed at the view of St Julian's bay by the hotel, didn't realise how perfect the location was. There was also a 'LOVE' sign by the bay. Lot of bus routes run outside the hotel to major areas like Valetta, best to get a 1-day bus pass so that you can jump on/off unlimited times, it's 2.60 euros per person per day.

Free wi-fi, very handy, we requested 2 logins so that both me and my bf were able to get onto the internet. Our package didn't include breakfast, but we were ok to get bits and pieces from Mcd's one morning, and from the nearby supermarket (Scott) which is within 2 mins walk from the hotel, very convenient.

For lunches/dinners, there are lots of choices in Paceville Avenue, which is up the 'hill'/slope on the left hand side of the hotel. There are many choices by the riverside too.

There is a rooftop swimming pool, which looks great, we went up to take some pics (see attached), didn't have a chance to use it cos it was too cold in winter. Would be perfect for the summer.

I would def recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra 20 euros for a room overlooking the bay but I'm sure it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftlegson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

As a frequent business traveler I could rate Juliani as the best choice for the below reasons:
•Location – it is located very centrally close to everything, bars, restaurants, grocery etc…with great view facing a nice little harbor.
•Clean and comfortable room and bathroom – Room was very clean, nice design, very comfortable with clean bathroom and very soft towels!
•Internet – Internet is provided free by the hotel and it was by far the FASTEST internet connection I’ve ever had without any interruptions.
•Dining – Dining was great too. Breakfast was always fresh and delicious with nice strong coffee. Beyond that Zest, hotel’s Asian restaurant, is an excellent dining option and is rated among the best restaurants in Malta.
• Staff – Hotel staff were always very kind, caring and smiling….one day I had a problem with bathroom and the technician came right after I called the operator reporting the problem. Once he fixed it he called then twice to see if everything was fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ncholas-CYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My wife and I have been to Malta a couple of times previously but this was the first time at the Hotel Juliani. From arrival to departure we had a memorable experience both with our accommodation in a Junior Suite overlooking Spinola Bay and the service and fabulous food enjoyed in the Zest restaurant. Breakfast at 14 Euros was good with a sufficiency of choice available also, the service at breakfast was very good. The area of St Julian's has a number of good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel and for those wish it, a number of small bars. Should we return to Malta sometime in the future we would have no hesitation in staying in the Hotel Juliani and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 402 is a Junior suite with balcony and views over Spinola Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I am not sure about the #1 ranking of this hotel, but it's a good choice in Malta. I agree with most of the other reviews' positive evaluation of the hotel. But I would like to share my own experience, which is different from others'. First of all, the oriental restaurant on the second floor offers very tasty food. My husband and I both recommend it. Second, There was a leaking problem in our room (last summer), so we had to move to another room. Third, my husband's pants, having sent out for dry-cleaning, was missing for a couple of days. Fortunately, they had found it before we left.
By the way, one has to be very careful about taxi fares in Malta. First of all, it's sometimes hard to get a taxi in the street. Then, some taxi drivers cannot be trusted---they charge you more than they should. It's funny when a taxi driver asked a friend of mine, who attended the same conference as we did and stayed in Malta for 6 days, whether or not she'd like to return to Malta (meaning whether she liked the place), she simply said 'No." In fact, my husband and I like Malta, except that it's so hot in summer that it's really tiring to walk around under the sun. I only hope their government should do something about regulating the taxi business.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,905 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing