We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 5 nights staying at Hotel Juliani, and there was really very little to fault in the hotel. We paid 80 euros per night for a 'deluxe' room (their standard room). The room was a good size, clean and comfy and very nicely decorated. Although it wasn't one of the 'sea view' rooms, we could see the bay, albeit through a narrow gap! Dressing gowns were provided and there was a decent range of channels on the TV (including Fox movies if you're so inclined) as well as a DVD player.

Our rate was room only - you can also get a rate with breakfast included but unless you are absolutely certain you want breakfast every day, I would avoid doing so, certainly if you're travelling in a couple. From recollection, the rate including breakfast was either more, or certainly only a little less, than you would pay if you bought breakfast separately every day. If you don't have breakfast included, you can have a full breakfast (including full English buffet, pastries, fruit, cereal, cheese, ham, tea/coffee and orange juice) for 14 euros each, or choose just pastries and tea/juice for 5 euros 95. We only had breakfast on a couple of days so it worked out much cheaper to have the room only. Breakfast is served from 7 - 10:30 every day, which is good if you want to laze around a bit.

The hotel is right on Spinola Bay and within easy reach of lots of good restaurants. The hotel itself has a good, albeit pricey, restaurant called Zest which does Asian fusion food. It is relatively easy to get into Valletta on the bus (buses 12 and 13 go from the stop right opposite the hotel) although it takes longer than you would expect (about 30 - 40 mins) because the bus meanders somewhat. If you're not in a rush, it's quite possible to get all over the island and to Gozo on the bus, and a weekly ticket costs only 12 euros. We went to the Hypogeum in Paola, Mdina/Rabat, Valletta, Vittoriosa and Gozo on the bus (the latter on the bus/ferry) and although there was a fair bit of waiting around, it was all fairly straightforward.

In summary, Hotel Juliani is a really pleasant place to stay with good, helpful staff and an excellent location. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LambethBarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

Amazing view over the bay. Location is good - walkable to all sights and restaurants.
Join the locals for BBQ around the bay at night!
Rooftop swimming pool is small but well kept.
Restaurant is excellent quality and clean with adequate breakfast.

Avoid using busses in Malta if you have a destination in mind! The bus stopped at the hospital on the way to town - for an hour - as the driver's shift ended. So he went for lunch and came back later to drive on! Despite this the hotel is amazing!

Room Tip: Only get bay facing room here, otherwise book elsewhere and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ho-li-Daaaaaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Juliani was just what my wife and I we needed for quick getaway. Actually I was back to Malta after 10 years and not much has changed, besides the yellow buses of course. This place is perfectly located with no hassle an annoyance of the famous Malta nightlife. This is still in walking distance near bye. We rented the car via hotel and everything was great – we also manage to find a place in the hotel garage every night (free of charge for guests) which is essential in Julian's bay. From here we explored the whole island and at the evening we walked to different dinner places had great food and some great vine. So it was definitely an experience we would do all over again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Sorry for late reveiw. My wife and I stayed at Hotel Juliani and could not fault the hotel or location. We were fortunate to have booked into the Ambassador Room and having the extra space was a luxury. Our room overlooked Spinola bay which was spectacular and was close to many restaurants.We tried a lot of those overlooking the bay and were not disappointed. Also ate at the Hotel restaurant one night and Barracuda and found both to be high quality. The island of Malta is certainly an eye opener. My wifes father was Maltese and she had not been there for 30 years. I was expecting a European city but it felt more middle eastern. Malta has a facinating history.For something different organize a fishing trip, its a great day out on the water and you get to see a lot of the island from a different perpective.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking Spinola Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffp00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Juliani for a week in October 2011. We were in no way disappointed. We particularly liked the area because of the number of good restaurants nearby. The staff were very obliging including transport from the airport and helping us hire a very sheap, good car.

Room Tip: We had a suite which gave us enough room to sit around on a stormy half day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HawkeyeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed at Hotel Juliani this week - cos it's winter, ie off peak season, the price was really affordable. We got the bus from Malta airport, didn't have to change and got straight to the hotel, which is located right next to Mcdonald's and Wagamama japanese restaurant. Was amazed at the view of St Julian's bay by the hotel, didn't realise how perfect the location was. There was also a 'LOVE' sign by the bay. Lot of bus routes run outside the hotel to major areas like Valetta, best to get a 1-day bus pass so that you can jump on/off unlimited times, it's 2.60 euros per person per day.

Free wi-fi, very handy, we requested 2 logins so that both me and my bf were able to get onto the internet. Our package didn't include breakfast, but we were ok to get bits and pieces from Mcd's one morning, and from the nearby supermarket (Scott) which is within 2 mins walk from the hotel, very convenient.

For lunches/dinners, there are lots of choices in Paceville Avenue, which is up the 'hill'/slope on the left hand side of the hotel. There are many choices by the riverside too.

There is a rooftop swimming pool, which looks great, we went up to take some pics (see attached), didn't have a chance to use it cos it was too cold in winter. Would be perfect for the summer.

I would def recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra 20 euros for a room overlooking the bay but I'm sure it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leftlegson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

As a frequent business traveler I could rate Juliani as the best choice for the below reasons:
•Location – it is located very centrally close to everything, bars, restaurants, grocery etc…with great view facing a nice little harbor.
•Clean and comfortable room and bathroom – Room was very clean, nice design, very comfortable with clean bathroom and very soft towels!
•Internet – Internet is provided free by the hotel and it was by far the FASTEST internet connection I’ve ever had without any interruptions.
•Dining – Dining was great too. Breakfast was always fresh and delicious with nice strong coffee. Beyond that Zest, hotel’s Asian restaurant, is an excellent dining option and is rated among the best restaurants in Malta.
• Staff – Hotel staff were always very kind, caring and smiling….one day I had a problem with bathroom and the technician came right after I called the operator reporting the problem. Once he fixed it he called then twice to see if everything was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ncholas-CYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,009 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £80 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing