We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel! The staff was great, they even let us check in 4 hours early. The location was AMAZING!!!! Everything you need is in walking distance. Such a better location than the Westin and Intercontinental! I just visited Malta again this past weekend, and my biggest regret was not staying in Hotel Juliani again! From now on, this is my only option!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiensf, Operations Manager at Hotel Juliani, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear DNW216,

thank you for your great review! We are very pleased to hear that you have found our staff to be so helpful. We strive to check in guests early should this be possible. You are of course right about our location which is truly unique having such great views, great dining options, and a bus stop just opposite.

It is a pity you did not stay with us during your last visit. However I am pleased to read you will stay with us on your next trip. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations on fabiensf@hoteljuliani.com

Regards,

Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    341
    59
    22
    2
See reviews for
139
814
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Can't speak highly enough of the staff at this hotel, each and every one of them was superb! It was our anniversary during our stay and my daughter had contacted the hotel requesting some champagne to be sent to us. She also said they couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was great and bar prices reasonable. The only down-side was that we found the room (706) to be a bit dark. In order to use the hairdryer, I had to switch off a lamp, which did not help. Overall, a great hotel in superb location.

Room Tip: I think you get what you pay for - we had a standard room, but I guess the Suites etc. would be much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiensf, Operations Manager at Hotel Juliani, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Jean13212,

thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed spending your anniversary with us, and found our staff to be so helpful.
I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We have recently added some Maltese pastries which I hope you liked.

Thank you for bringing the issue of room 706 to our attention. I am pleased to inform you that we have added an extra power outlet which will allow the lampshade and hair dryer to be used simultaneously.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Juliani should you return to Malta.

regards,

Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We picked this Hotel for a holiday in Malta largely as a result of Trip Advisor reviews. It was a superb Hotel that didn't disappoint! The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful, the standard of cleanliness was very good and the room(s) were excellent. We were fortunate that after three nights we were moved to another room (as our room was having the carpet replaced) which had the benefits of being a Mini suite. Both rooms had sea views with balcony, we don't think that we would want a non sea view room, though these may be quieter at night. We only had breakfast in the Hotel which was a good selection and tasty. We promised ourselves a meal in The Zest restaurant, but found all the nearby (Italian) restaurants so good and relatively inexpensive that we chose them all week. The only slight criticism was that we had one wet, windy and therefore quite cool afternoon, we were unsuccessful in turning up the air conditioning to give us some heat. When we questioned this with reception we were told that the air conditioning (heat) gets turned off the week before.

Room Tip: A sea view room is clearly best but may be noisier in the mornings, the road round the bay gets busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CREMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watton at Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Hotel Juliani is an excellent hotel with high standards and good facilities. It is situated at the head of Spinola Bay which is a pleasant little harbour on the outskirts of Valetta. The area is highly developed with shops, restaurants and bars all along the main road and on the side streets. The Hotel is very much at the centre of things and offers excellent facilities including a bar overlooking the sea, a restaurant service and a swimming pool (which was a little cold when we visited in March). The square ajacent to the Hotel was a lively gathering place although it has to be said that during our week long stay there was an election to celebrate and St Patricks day. The Maltese never miss the chance to celebrate and these sort of occasions are always noisy. Probably not something that happens all the time though.
Excellent breakfast, extremely helpful staff, would certainly go ther again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Having read the reviews we booked a 3 day trip. As expected great place to stay excellent location, very helpful and pleasant staff, and the room was fantastic. Stay here and you will not regret it. Ive traveled around the world and i must say this ranks in my top 5 stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marc803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Brief stay on a business trip. Room, staff and service were exceptional. The ocean view room and balcony was perfect. Will be staying at the Juliani again for an extended trip this summer, I can't wait! Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Shark805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here for four nights. We did enjoy our stay here, and I would give the hotel three and a half stars if I could. However, it did not quite live up to expectations, although I would qualify this by saying we were allocated one of the cheaper rooms in the 'middle' of the hotel.

Positives:

- Friendly, helpful and professional staff
- Great location in St Julians, next door to plenty of good restaurants, bars etc.
- Parking available - although it is a bit of a nightmare squeezing into the tiny spaces
- Cleaning is a priority here - our room and public areas of the hotel were spotless
- Excellent bar and restaurant

Negatives:

- Walls are paper thin, and we were kept awake by neighbours and the creaking sound of the lift going up and down at night
- The central rooms have no view at all, with the only natural light coming through a small shaft through the centre of the hotel
- Minor room issues - for example no handsoap, faulty shower, few electrical sockets, marks on the bedcovers and carpet, damaged bathroom tidy, no iron, kettle etc.
- Although this hotel has many features of a boutique, the rooms were very much like a chain hotel and a bit more individuality would have been nice.

In summary, you will enjoy your stay at this hotel, but choose a room with a view. The excellent staff and good location are the main positives. A bit more focus on room facilities and creating more individuality would have improved our stay.

Room Tip: Specifically request not to be put in the 'centre' rooms where there is little natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiensf, Operations Manager at Hotel Juliani, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear dokelly,

thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay, especially with regards to our housekeeping and restaurant service.

I would however like to address some of the issues raised about your room.
The room which you have stayed in, at the centre of the hotel, is generally one of the quietest being shielded from any street exposure. However we do our utmost to fulfil our guests' expectations should these not be met, and would have gladly offered you an alternative room. It is a pity that this was not brought to our attention during your stay.

Other rooms issues are being tackled as I type this response; we are in the process of refitting carpeting and our new bed linen should be with us shortly. We are also exploring increasing our power outlets due to the increase in guests travelling with multiple electronic devices. Hand soap is a standard in our bathrooms, for which I must apologise should this have been lacking. Kettles as well as ironing boards are available on request in an effort to minimise clutter in the room.

I would like to thank you once again for your constructive feedback and would like to assure you that your comments will definitely be considered when next discussing future room refurbishment.

yours sincerely,

Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing