We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday choice”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday choice”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Ok we were upgraded to a Junior Suite from a Delux Sea View room even so I am sure that we would have been equally delighted with our stay at this hotel. I am always a little sceptical when a hotel is advertised as 'boutique' because the decoration in 'boutique' seems to wear off quite quickly. Nothing like this in the Juliani - the place was crisp, clean, and welcoming.

Although the hotel fronts on a busy street with a bustling harbour closing the double glazed balcony doors keeps all the noise out - even on the pageant night that occurred while we were there.

Breakfast is extensive - everyone could choose from local, continental and full english selections.

The staff are helpful and accommodating.

This was a hotel experience to be savoured.

Room Tip: Get the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    350
    61
    23
    2
See reviews for
144
838
66
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

There is a reason why it's hard to get rooms here, people who have stayed here come back again and again. From day one (booking) to check out, we could not have asked for a better experience. The room we chose (the Ambassador Suite) was gigantic, clean, and tastefully decorated without being over the top. Breakfast was spectacular, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Spinola/St. Julians Bay is so convenient, we could easily walk to amazing restaurants every night. We WILL be back!

A note: Check in time is 3:00pm, so plan accordingly if you arrive too early.

Room Tip: Get a sea view suite, it's a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HungryPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Hotel Juliani sits at the western-most tip of Spinola Bay in St Julians, Malta. With a very unassuming frontage it is easy to walk straight past and miss the superb reception/cafe area where they also lay out the breakfast.
Like many other hotels at which I stayed, I'm not sure that I would have even found Hotel Juliani, let alone booked it, had it not have been for reviews on TripAdvisor and similar sites - and this hotel is rightly rated as the best in St Julians, and here's why....
From the outset the welcome was first-class; directed to a soft chair and handed a cold drink, the very professional receptionist sorted out our paperwork in a flash and soon had us off to our very-tastefully decorated room on the 7th floor. We purposely had not paid for a sea-view as, frankly, we tend to sleep in hotel rooms rather than admire the scenery...this proved somewhat beneficial as the main road in front of the hotel was far from quiet - however, our room, which faced into a narrow courtyard, was superbly quiet, I recommend the latter!
The rooms had queen-sized, firm beds (which I like), plenty of storage space for MrsR, TV/DVD etc and a very modern-bathroom complete with a shower over a bath - the best of both worlds!
The hotel had fast, and free, wi-fi throughout and guests can borrow laptops to browse the internet from the ground floor cafe - a really nice touch.
There are numerous bars, clubs and restaurants within stumbling distance from the hotel and you can see them all from the Juliani's swimming pool on the hotel's roof (9th floor) - very cool!! (in more ways than one!!!). Also, immediately outside the hotel was the bus-stop for the Arriva bendy-bused (yes, seriously!) that whisk you around this small island for pennies, well cents actually (12 Euros got us unlimited travel for 7-days!) - I really wouldn't hire a car.
Overall, a first-class hotel that was considerably better value than some of the more well-known chains in the area. Finally, whilst I found the hotel on a hotel 'search-engine', I booked directly with the hotel - this was worthwhile as the package I got was not available elsewhere....we received a free-breakfast each morning (which was very good) and a complementary airport transfer - it doesn't really get any better than that in my view.....enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Whilst some might like a sea-view, the road below is far from quiet - ultimately hotel rooms are for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PinkyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I went here on a business trip, It is located directly in front of a little fishing marina, which has some of the best fish restaurants in Malta. The hotel has a small swimming pool on the roof terrace. The views from the terrace are 10/10. the breakfast is a basic mediterranean breakfast. The hotel staff are very nice and welcoming.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at Hotel Juliani in June 2013. Room 403 was one of the biggest rooms on the fourth floor. The room was furnished with some wonderful pottery and artwork which were highlighted with showcase lighting. There was a TV we could watch from the bed and another TV by two couches in a living room type space. We had a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the harbor which gave a great view and lots of natural light to the room. The bathroom was small in comparison to the rest of the room but had a shower over the bath. 
Alfred gave us a very warm reception when we arrived close to midnight. The other staff we met were also always smiling, helpful and happy to share tips for sightseeing and transport. 
It was handy having free wi fi in our room.
We did not see enough of Malta and will be back some time. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmybean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I chose the Juliani as the base for a week’s holiday in Malta based on reviews in TripAdviser, and I was not disappointed. The hotel is ideally located at the head of Spinola Bay and has excellent bus connections to Sliema, Valletta and other parts of the island. Even though we were travelling out of peak season the buses were regular, reliable, and cheap. There is a wide range of competitively priced restaurants within easy walking distance, and the hotel has its own eatery, Zest, which we did not use, but which is highly rated.

The Juliani has 44 rooms and is light, airy, clean and comfortable. There are great views over the Bay if you choose a room with a balcony facing the sea. The entrance to the hotel doubles as an art gallery, displaying pictures and photos by local artists. The breakfast bar is on the same level, and we enjoyed an excellent buffet of cold and cooked dishes before we set off on our travels each morning.

Perhaps the thing that particularly sets the Juliani apart from hotels in a similar price range is the friendliness of the staff. From receptionists, to bar staff, to breakfast waiters, to cleaners, we found everyone helpful, friendly, and concerned about out comfort and welfare.

If ever I return to Malta – and I’m tempted – I would certainly make sure that there was a room available at the Juliani before booking my journey.

Room Tip: May be worth spending a bit extra for a room with a balcony overlooking the Bay. The higher the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedEyes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orléans
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Good hotel & good location

The room is nice and decorated with nice taste.
Anyway it's small, and if you have a room without view it's a little bit disappointed for this price !
It's clean and the bathroom is good except the fact that it's a bath and not a shower.
Air conditional has to be replace

Nice hotel but if I can give you an advice, it's much more interesting if you can have a sea view, because without, the price is too high.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiensf, Operations Manager at Hotel Juliani, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Valentine,

thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciated the decor of our rooms.

However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room size and price. Our standard rooms are on average 22 squared metres, and we feel we provide good value given our location and quality of service.

Thank you for your comments regarding our cleanliness which we pride ourselves on. All of our rooms actually have a combined bath with shower which we feel gives our guests more flexibility.

Regarding our air conditioning, the system is serviced regularly to keep it performing in top shape. I'm afraid given the lack of details I am unable to investigate your comment further. I have sent you a private message in the hope that we can discuss the matter.

thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,

Fabien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,601 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing