We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very clean with polite professional staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean with polite professional staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Juliani is set in the heart of St Julian’s bar, with great views from the roof top pool and plenty of bars and restaurants on its door step. We stayed for 5nts mid-June and found the hotel very clean with polite professional staff at our service. The breakfast is well with the extra cost, with both hot and continental dishes available throughout the morning.

Our only criticism is the lack of tea & coffee making facilities in the room and scarcity of available plug sockets. Also worth mentioning is the extremely busy road directly in front, think twice if travelling with small children and have lots of patience when trying to cross.

Overall, a moderate 4* in a prime location

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max_nrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    337
    59
    22
    2
See reviews for
137
802
63
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

After so many reviews I found this to be the most difficult to write. We stayed on a b&b basis and £148 per night is certainly not cheap. However, breakfast was fine with wide selection and very attentive staff. The fresh orange juice was particularly nice. The big issue with this hotel seems to be rooms. We stayed on the 8th floor at the back. The room was big enough - not huge. It was bright, clean and well maintained. We had a sun terrace with full sized loungers which was great as sun moves to back of hotel for most of day. Also we were just one floor from the roof and pool. Most other floors at the back had small balconies - one table, two chairs - and looked over facing properties. It looked as if the 4th floor did not even have a balcony. We peeked into one of the front rooms on our last day and certainly in the morning the view was absolutely tremendous over Spinola Bay. But how often are you in the room, the sun moves off the front and they cost even more? At nights you have to have sympathy for the bar staff - you can only serve the customers you have and there definitely were not too many at any time.

Location, the hotel was fine. It is on a very, very busy road - noise at the front rooms - and it is a challenge to cross. The bus stops outside going to and from Valetta. Believe me, a bus ride in Malta is an experience not to be forgotten mostly in a bad way. Probably lots I have not covered in this review - the staff were all great - but the big question is would I return? I think I would in certain circumstances but I did discover lots of good quality, quieter, better value hotels around the island and would probably opt for one of them. Almost feel sorry for saying this.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, especially in a small but busy hotel. Avoid the 4th floor at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smilingguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Three of us stayed here for Christmas and New Year 2012/13 - so sorry this review is late, but better late than never! (Have had problems with the Trip Advisor site - seems to keep freezing my laptop!). The three of us were: self and partner, and my Mum. Mum and I chose this hotel using Trip Advisor, and we booked two junior suites for the great view over Spinola Bay. We were certainly not disappointed - from the warm welcome we received on arrival from Alfred, (along with a great cup of much needed tea!), to the fabulous rooms and their lovely views, I think overall we had a great festive season here.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the decor was very serene and relaxing. The breakfasts were lovely, with lots to choose from - cereal, both fresh and dried fruits, nuts, yoghurts, traditional cooked breakfast, all varieties of egg, all types of bread, and even muffins and cakes. The coffee and tea were superb.

The hotel has a relaxing reception area, and snug seating area with sofas further back. The reception area also doubles as a cafe and bar, looking out onto the bay area and promenade, and it was great to just hang out in the cafe area and have a coffee and a chat.

Right outside the hotel you have a bus stop, and the buses are a brilliant and inexpensive way to get around. If you enjoy a walk it is only about twenty minutes walk along the prom to Sliema, and we did this a lot.

There is a lovely pool area up on the roof, with nice views, but it being winter we didn't go in the pool!

The cleaner was very kind to me when I went down with the flu (Unfortunately! Think I picked it up on the plane!). She came in and changed my bed, and even gave me a big hug - I hope she didn't catch it!

There are loads of places to eat nearby - plenty of choice - and we found it particularly handy to have Wagamama practically next door for plenty of staple Japanese fare, which I love. Additionally, the hotel has its own Asian style restaurant, Zest, so this was real icing on the cake for me as I love Asian food.

All in all, a lovely place that I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The junior suites are spacious and have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early June in a room overlooking the bay. Rooms were spacious, fluffy towels and dressing gowns etc. and were decorated in a gorgeous mint green which was very relaxing. Plenty of room on the balcony to sit out and view the sights over the bay.

Breakfast was lovely with lots of fresh fruit and breads but be warned that the staff start tidying up about10 minutes before the official breakfast time closes! Saying that all staff were very friendly and helpful.

Best feature is the beautiful and tranquil rooftop pool. Sun loungers are particularly comfortable.

This is a hotel geared for adults only which is great when you are holidaying with adults only!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dpheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Ok we were upgraded to a Junior Suite from a Delux Sea View room even so I am sure that we would have been equally delighted with our stay at this hotel. I am always a little sceptical when a hotel is advertised as 'boutique' because the decoration in 'boutique' seems to wear off quite quickly. Nothing like this in the Juliani - the place was crisp, clean, and welcoming.

Although the hotel fronts on a busy street with a bustling harbour closing the double glazed balcony doors keeps all the noise out - even on the pageant night that occurred while we were there.

Breakfast is extensive - everyone could choose from local, continental and full english selections.

The staff are helpful and accommodating.

This was a hotel experience to be savoured.

Room Tip: Get the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

There is a reason why it's hard to get rooms here, people who have stayed here come back again and again. From day one (booking) to check out, we could not have asked for a better experience. The room we chose (the Ambassador Suite) was gigantic, clean, and tastefully decorated without being over the top. Breakfast was spectacular, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Spinola/St. Julians Bay is so convenient, we could easily walk to amazing restaurants every night. We WILL be back!

A note: Check in time is 3:00pm, so plan accordingly if you arrive too early.

Room Tip: Get a sea view suite, it's a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HungryPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Hotel Juliani sits at the western-most tip of Spinola Bay in St Julians, Malta. With a very unassuming frontage it is easy to walk straight past and miss the superb reception/cafe area where they also lay out the breakfast.
Like many other hotels at which I stayed, I'm not sure that I would have even found Hotel Juliani, let alone booked it, had it not have been for reviews on TripAdvisor and similar sites - and this hotel is rightly rated as the best in St Julians, and here's why....
From the outset the welcome was first-class; directed to a soft chair and handed a cold drink, the very professional receptionist sorted out our paperwork in a flash and soon had us off to our very-tastefully decorated room on the 7th floor. We purposely had not paid for a sea-view as, frankly, we tend to sleep in hotel rooms rather than admire the scenery...this proved somewhat beneficial as the main road in front of the hotel was far from quiet - however, our room, which faced into a narrow courtyard, was superbly quiet, I recommend the latter!
The rooms had queen-sized, firm beds (which I like), plenty of storage space for MrsR, TV/DVD etc and a very modern-bathroom complete with a shower over a bath - the best of both worlds!
The hotel had fast, and free, wi-fi throughout and guests can borrow laptops to browse the internet from the ground floor cafe - a really nice touch.
There are numerous bars, clubs and restaurants within stumbling distance from the hotel and you can see them all from the Juliani's swimming pool on the hotel's roof (9th floor) - very cool!! (in more ways than one!!!). Also, immediately outside the hotel was the bus-stop for the Arriva bendy-bused (yes, seriously!) that whisk you around this small island for pennies, well cents actually (12 Euros got us unlimited travel for 7-days!) - I really wouldn't hire a car.
Overall, a first-class hotel that was considerably better value than some of the more well-known chains in the area. Finally, whilst I found the hotel on a hotel 'search-engine', I booked directly with the hotel - this was worthwhile as the package I got was not available elsewhere....we received a free-breakfast each morning (which was very good) and a complementary airport transfer - it doesn't really get any better than that in my view.....enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Whilst some might like a sea-view, the road below is far from quiet - ultimately hotel rooms are for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PinkyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing