We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Holiday”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for a week before Easter.Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful and welcoming, particularly as we had an 'extended' flight having sat on the tarmac at Gatwick for 2 hours before take off! (Thank you Easyjet). As recommended by other visitors, went for a room on 6th floor with view over the harbour, which was stunning at sunrise.There was some noise from traffic below, but not enough to cause a problem. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day; the breakfast was good quality, fresh and plentiful. We did arrange a couple of trips through a tour guide but within a few days were able to confidently board the buses - which stopped right outside, to do our own exploring.
The roof top pool was lovely but it was too cold to venture in.
The 'Zest' restaurant was excellent but quite pricey, but lovely for a special occasion. There are plenty of eating places nearby, all pretty good and particularly 1927 next door
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for top floor room with harbour view but avoid those next to the lifts, as people can talk very l...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Juliani
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good:
• Balcony view over the harbour
• Clean room
• Comfortable bed
• Plentiful breakfast with English-style bacon and sausages
• Attentive and interested staff
• Brilliant location opposite the stops for hop-on / hop-off tours round the island
• Lots of restaurants nearby
• Upper floors good for escaping the street-level noise

Not so good:
• Generally we prefer quiet rural locations but the plus points above were worth it
• The overspill breakfast seating is uncomfortable when it’s busy

Would we visit again?:
• Yes, but we feel we have now ‘done’ Malta except for Gozo

Room Tip: Upper floors overlooking the harbour have great views, lose some of the noise and catch the sun.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was an interesting and pleasurable hotel to stay in. Food good and service excellent. But I wont be travelling back to Malta again as millions of migrant birds are shot all over Malta just for fun. This is against EU law but the police seem to turn a blind eye to the practice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DESDEMONA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel Juliani form the 7-10th April. Our arrival in Malta was darkened by our airline loosing our bags. We arrived at the hotel with literally only the shirts on our backs.
The girl at the reception was very friendly and gave us a laptop to sort ourselves out and instructions on where to go shopping in Malta.
Our room was clean, spacious, with a fantastic view (especially in the night) over Spinola bay - we were on the 5th floor. The breakfast was varied and ample.
Our shower didn't have enough pressure which we put down to the scarcit of water on the island but when we mentioned it to the friendly reception girl she assured us that that wasn't right and when we returned later the shower was blowing full blast, as we would expect.
All in all, I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeinfolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at Hotel Juliani. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for anyone looking for a small boutique hotel in an ideal location. We had a very large room with balcony looking out over Spinola Bay. Furnishings, housekeeping etc. were of a very high standard and all the staff very friendly and exceptionally helpful. There was a very good choice at breakfast and, although we did not eat in the restaurant as it did not offer the sort of food we like we heard very good reports from other guests. Although on a busy road we had no problems with noise and with a bus stop just outside the hotel we were able to make full use of the excellent and cheap buses to travel around the Island.
We really enjoyed our time in Malta due in particular to this very special hotel and if we go back to Malta would certainly want to stay at Hotel Juliani again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony and front facing view over the bay
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarkese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at Juliani on a 4 night break, 5th-9th April. We had a standard room which was fine for us. The hotel itself is charming. Lovely airy cafe area where we ate a great breakfast every morning. Hot food, cereals, fresh fruit salad, selection of breads, cheeses, meats and lovely croissants and muffins. Excellent coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Staff very friendly. Very comfortable bed and having a back room, extremely quiet.

Excellent wifi in room, just need to get password from reception. Lovely roof top pool area for when the weather is good, view amazing! Very easy to get around by local buses and so cheap. €1.50 for a day pass!

Fantastic location, great walk along the promenade. Absolutely loved it there and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choosie0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband, mother in law and I just spend 4/6 nights at Juliani, it's very convinient to get around Malta by bus, lots of bars and restaurants close by.

The staff is real nice and helps you out everyway the can, our rooms were clean and well maintained, mother had a side view of Spinola Bay ours was out back into a small road, so no noise even with the window open.

We certainly would stay there again, sitting out front in the morning sun with a view of Spinola Bay and all the other things going on was so nice and relaxing but not boring.

Room Tip: 704 side view of Spinola Bay small balcony. 707 out to the back, no view but quite at night, 2 balc...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,955 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,677 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £81 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing