We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
UK Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

You wont get much better than this in Malta. Try for a sea view room as the views over Spinola Bay are excellent especially at night. Slightly expensive but worth the extra. The staff were very friendly and provided a very good level of service. Given its busy location our room on the 8th floor was very quiet although there was some noise from the roof top pool area a couple of mornings as staff rearranged tables. After travelling to Malta for the past 28 years this rates as one of the best hotels we have stayed at. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Balcony views
  • Disliked — No change of bedding during our week stay
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AbeeUKKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    337
    59
    22
    2
See reviews for
137
802
63
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

A very nice hotel and certainly above most of what St Julian's has to offer (as far as we could tell). The room (junior suite) was very large and had a fabulous view over Spinola Bay complete with balcony on which to sit and watch the world go by. The staff were very friendly and everything very clean and well ordered. On the roof, the pool is small (and suprisingly cold) but has even better views and is perfect for whiling away the day. Ate in Zest once and was pleasantly surprised by the quality (though quite pricey) - didn't try the rooftop restaurant.

You can catch pretty much any bus from right outside the door - including the open-top sightseeing tour. We had a couple of timeshare touts hanging around on the odd day, but once you've made it absolutely clear you're not interested then they tend to steer clear of you. Nowhere near as bad as in Bugibba or Qawra.

For those of you worried about the proximity to Paceville (the 'Tenerife-like' bar district), then don't. Hotel Juliani is far enough away to avoid the hoards of p*ssed teenagers and yet you pick up some of the buzz from people wandering down to the seafront restaurants just outside.

All in all - very much recommended hotel, but am not entirely sure about Malta as a destination. A lack of beaches (unless you go over to Gozo), generally arid landscape and perhaps a tad too many Brits mean a week is definitely enough. Highly recommend Valletta and Mdina for a day each.

  • Liked — Location, cleaniliness, friendliness of staff, decor, restaurants
  • Disliked — Quite expensive, lacking in character
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimbob72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

Had a very enjoyable short break here and were lucky enough to arrive during the St Julians Fiesta which was a great experience.

Hotel is very stylish and clean and the Junior Suite had loads of space and a great view of the bay. Despite the proximity to the road and the noise of the fiesta the double glazing did a great job of keeping out unwanted noise so no problems there.
The pool area, although small was a really pleasant place to spend a few hours relaxing and the bar service to the top floor was excellent. The hotel is also in a great location for the local restaurants and all that we tried were very good (particularly liked the Blue Elephant). Breakfast in the hotel was also plentiful and of good quality (great coffee also).
However, despite all these positive points I would not give it 5 stars as there was something about the atmosphere that wasn't quite right. It's difficult to put a finger on it but there felt as though there was a tension between the staff. A few were very friendly but some (and it did seem as though they were the more senior members of staff) seemed tense and the welcome's slightly false. It gave the impression that they were overly concerned about being stylish at the expense of hospitality.
This feeling was only a minor concern and I would definitely recommend it for a short break particularly for it's location and facilities.

  • Liked — location and facilities
  • Disliked — some staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

We recently got married in Malta and arranged for the majority of our guests to stay at Hotel Juliani. Just in case people don’t read the whole of the review I will sum up my experience at the start; this place was fantastic and a must stay if you are ever in Malta.

At first we thought it may be hard to block book some rooms but the hotel manager Georgious Rouvelas and his staff made sure that nothing was a problem.

Georgious arranged for us to book 38 spacious, clean and modern rooms in the hotel and made sure that every one of our guests needs were catered for through out their stay (some for over a week). Georgious arrange restaurant bookings, taxis for all of our guests when required (some times on mass) a best of all he arranged for us to have a private party on the poolside roof terrace that over looks Spinola Bay, which was absolutely amazing. I really wish that I had something negative to say just so this review would be more believable but I simply can not.

Hotel Juliani is by far the best, most comfortable and stylish hotel in all of Malta and Gozo. It provided us with a boutique experience where nothing was a problem. It helped also that the staff know how to make a decent coffee also! Hotel Juliani’s location makes it very convenient to get to the airport, Valetta, M’dina and also is only a 25 minute drive to the Gozo Ferry. We hired a car and parked it in the lock up garage attached to the Hotel.

Our whole Malta experience was lovely and I put that down to the way Georgious and his staff treated us, and of course the weather. We will definitely be back. 10 out of 10 for this place.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, spacious, friendly staff and great location
  • Disliked — I can't fault it!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jameshenry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

Excellent hotel. Located in a quieter part of St Julians, overlooking the harbour. Room was a good size, and well appointed. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. Cleaners periodically offered biscuits and cakes of various sorts. Small swimming pool on top of hotel, with great views. Within easy walking distance livelier part of St Julians if that is what you like (which I don't), and nice walk along the promenade to Sliema if you like longish walks (which I do!). Got an excellent deal through Travel Republic.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SpuriousMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

We booked this hotel about 9 months prior to our arrival having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. This hotel really lives up to its previous good reviews in terms of comfort, cleanliness and attention to detail.

The staff are very friendly and efficient. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and this was served from 7.00 until 10.30 so this guaranteed flexibility with no pressure to make an early start, which suited us. There was a good choice of breakfast menu but different styles of eggs could be ordered if necessary. The coffee was not self service but served to you individually, having been freshly made. The quality of food is very good.

We had booked a room with a sea view which is well worth doing, as it affords an excellent view of the bay. From here you can not only people watch, but dog watch, horse watch and boat watch! The room itself was very comfortable and clean, with an excellent maid service. The television set in the room is larger than we have experienced in previous hotels and there is also a DVD player provided. We did not use the mini bar, but this is on offer. The room was very nicely and tastefully decorated with a really good bathroom, which includes a spa bath. All in all furnished very well.

The swimming pool area is rooftop, not a large pool but perfectly adequate. There is certainly enough room for a swim and a cool off after a day out. Again the furnishings around the pool are designed for the comfort of the guest. Towels are provided.

Don't be put off by the McDonalds next door in any way. This is the most plush McDonalds around, with desinger handbasins and plasma TVs. No noise, smells or clientele of McDonalds affected us in any way.

There is a bus stop opposite the Hotel which can take you around the island and the drop off point is also very nearby. Should you not wish to go half board there are plenty of choices of restaurants around to suit all pockets and families. St. Julians is a busy resort but still relaxing so you can tailor this to suit your needs.

In summary, we would certainly recommend this Hotel to a friend so we have no hesitation in recommending it on here! The Manager, Georgios is very friendly and approachable and is keen to maintain the high standards of this Hotel. An excellent holiday.

  • Liked — The comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hirst9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Juliani and found it to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at for comfort, location, VIEWS!! and service. Our room was on the eighth floor with the most amazing views and was extremely comfortable. Prior to this we had stayed all over Italy and Greece, so we know whereof we speak (the bed was fantastic). Probably my only negative criticism would be the pillows (bit too hard) but I was told by the Manager that they will be offering a Pillow Menu in the near future! The service of the staff was fantastic, be it at Reception, the cleaning crew and particularly the staff at Breakfast. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Malta.

  • Liked — Location, comfort and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AlandLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing