We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Spent 5 days in the Hotel Juliani with my wife for an off season break last week. From the moment of our arrival, including a refreshing welcoming drink, to our departure we always felt welcome and "at home". Our room (602) had a balcony overlooking the sea and it it was wonderful to sit out there from time to time just absorbing the view. It was also useful in the evenings as we could see over to to some of the nearby restaurants to check if they were busy or not. From our limited experience (this was our 2nd visit) St Julians is the nicest place to stay in Malta. There is a lovely walk beside the sea all the way round to Sliema (about 20 minutes) and probably further on towards Valletta. Just outside the hotel is a bus stop for transport to key places of interest such as Valletta, Mdina and Gozo (ferry). All the hotel staff we had dealings with were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with a decent range of options and my essentials of freshly brewed coffee and fresh orange juice available. I can't think of anything negative to say about the Hotel Juliani and would heartily reccommend it to anyone travelling to Malta.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Templeogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    347
    61
    23
    2
See reviews for
143
835
66
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bude, Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 weeks in Malta where we stayed at the Juliani. You have already read from others about the hotel accommodation views proximity to everywhere etc, but people also make a big difference to a hotel and Erika and Georgios did! They are the perfect couple, young friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them, something which permeates throughout the hotel staff. There are many beautiful big hotels in Malta, but we wanted a small intimate hotel and found it! I had my mother with me who was not terribly mobile and it was perfect, the staff looked after her like family, and she was also upgraded to a beautiful sea view room. From the girls in Reception Ilham and Caroline and the coffee shop & bar staff Martin, what a sweetie! Jason, and Charles, who was like a mini whirlwind bobbing from bar to kitchen to bedrooms, this hotel was just a joy to stay in.

I must mention their in house restaurant Zest, run with great efficiency by the extremely charming Allan, and his staff, who were absolutely brilliant, especially the beautiful girls – Rose, Xixi and Viegh and the excellent guys Lester David and Little Angel (yes seriously that’s his name, and he was!) AND on top of that… the food was absolutely sensational, but book – they have a first rate reputation locally!

We eventually dragged ourselves away from Zest and tried various restaurants in St Julian’s which were all excellent. BUT a short walk towards Sliema took us to a traditional old Maltese house called the Barracuda, which apart from having beautiful romantic sea views and wonderful food, is owned by the most charming and truly lovely Maltese couple Pat and Walter.

We are already planning our next break at the Juliani, the sooner the better!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnybude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

The Hotel Juliani is a oasis of calm and elegance. As soon as you step through the door in to the lobby you know you will enjoy a special stay in a special Hotel. This was our second trip and we were welcomed like returning friends by George and his loyal and efficient team. Our spacious room overlooked the bay and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Our package included dinners at the fabulous hotel restaurant Zest. Here we were equally well looked after by the restaurant manager and waiting staff. The food is exquisite. I would thoroughly recommend this gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2009

I had to visit Malta for a short Business Trip and Thanks to other Tripadvisor Reviews I booked this hotel and I really loved it.

Hotel is ideally located in St Julian's and only 10 min away from Valletta.

Highlight of the Hotel is definitely the smiley staff, the modern design and ZEST restaurant. Don't miss it!!

Internet Access is free of charge compare to nearby hotels that they charge even up to 20 euros daily for a service that should be free nowadays!! Anyway Maltese Hotels are not the only ones that overcharge for this service.... Well Done Juliani on this one!



Will definitely be back for Holidays this time!

  • Liked — Modern Design - Staff & Free Internet!!
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

A break in the sunshine and avoiding the big freeze in the UK. The hotel was everything we expected and more. The staff were very attentive and very co-operative with the surprise I had planned for my husband's 50th birthday. They even placed a tray of homemade chocolates in our room with Happy Birthday written in chocolate! The breakfast was plentiful - as many coffee refills as you wanted and plenty of hot and cold choice. Yes we would have liked tea and coffee in the room, but that was a minor point and it was lovely to sit in the lounge with their excellent coffee. The pool area on the roof is lovely, but the pool was too cold to try! Bus routes to everywhere were outside and lots of brilliant restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. The long promenade all the way through to Sliema. Paceville is close enough for the younger ones - we didn't try it at night!

  • Liked — friendly and attentive service, clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — no tea and coffee in the rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Roundhayparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

My father and I arrived at the Hotel Juliani on Friday 28th November and were told we were to get free upgrade (always a good start to a holliday). The rooms could not be faulted in every detail. The staff are the best I have ever seen with there attention not only to detail but also to the patrons in the hotel. The Zest restuarant on the first floor is well worth a visit.
Will I return to the Hotel in future a resounding YES

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AberdeenAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Stayed at the Juliani mid Nov 08 for our Hols, which turned into a Surprise (for the Girlfriend) Honeymoon,.... thank gawd she said yes!!
The hotel, its staff, particularly Caroline,Ilham & Patricia could not have made our stay more enjoyable.
From the minor problems with our room which were rectified within the hour, to the bottle of champagne once they knew about our forthcoming wedding, the hotel made our time spent in Malta very very memorable.
We will return to Malta and will head straight for the Juliani.
Highly recommended

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nit Picking, but in-room tea making facilities would have been nice
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Numero-uno-hombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,541 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing