We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - just not quite perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel - just not quite perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We decided to stay here after some glowing reports on Tripadvisor. We stayed in one of the seaview rooms which was definitely worth the extra money - the view was lovely and the balcony was perfect for an afternoon drink / breakfast. The room was very clean and the chocolates in the afternoon a really lovely added extra. Location wise it's brilliant - great for buses and places to eat and considering it's on a busy road we weren't distrubed by noise. HOWEVER... the receptionists were not that helpful or friendly, we had to lug our luggage up to our room and they often looked a bit put out when we asked for something. It's only a small thing but it does make a difference to your overall impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_kanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    339
    59
    22
    2
See reviews for
139
812
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Lovely hotel, staff cannot do enough for you. Only problem which several people mentioned, no tea/coffee making facilities. We enjoy a cuppa in our room. Luckily we checked prior to going and took travel kettle etc. Recommend their bus service rather than hiring car. We made mistake hiring one for 3 days, charged 34 euros for 1/2 tank of fuel and used about 10 euros worth. Recommend B&B, as you are spoilt for choice
for eating out in Paceville.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Just back from a great holiday in Malta, made mostly by our stay in the little gem of Hotel, the Juliani.

Beautiful rooms - well furnished, We booked a Junior Suite with a fanastic view over Spinola Bay, These rooms are worth the extra cost. Even though facing on to a main road, we did not find it noisy, once the door onto the balcony was closed, sleeping was not a problem. Excellent air conditioning. We spend many an evening on the balcony watching the world go by.

This Area of St Julian's Bay has many good restaruants so you have a great choice. Don't forget to try the Zest restaurant which is part of the hotel, very good meal and excellent service.
We had breakfast included in our package which was very good, fresh orange juice and plenty of freshly made coffee and tea. also try the poached eggs which were delicious

Across the road, you have a selection of buses to Valetta and also the hop on hop off tour buses. You can arrange with the hotel day trips, we did the Gozo trip, which we found excellent.

We used the pool oin the 9th Floor, with plently of loungers and towels, never very busy. Also availed of pool service for lunch, which was very prompt and reasonable in cost

Last but not least we have to mention the staff, Our room was always well serviced , We also meet 4 reception staff and all were extremly helpful, professional and friendly, Ilham, Caroline, Alfred and Sasha. Also Jason and his team in the Cafe Juliani Restaurant, who were always very helpful. The Cafe Juliani was lovely spot for having a night cap in the evening and did great cocktails or in the afternoon coffee /tea and cakes as well as great selection for lunchtime meals.

Finally to Georgios - the Hotel Manager - you have a great hotel - it is a gem and will certainly recommend it to our friends and hope to be back in the not too distant future

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vonnie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

We recently stayed at the Juliani during a visit to Malta and Gozo. As the hotel is on the coast we specifically booked a seaview room as we thought it would be nice for my birthday (which I celebrated while I was there). We were happy to pay a little more than we normally would for a special night. Imagine our disappointment, when we arrived, to be told we couldn't have the seaview room because the previous night's guest wanted to extend their stay!

We were bumped into a 'partial' seaview room - and it was very partial! The room was also adjoining so we had the next door guest chatting on his phone to contend with too! The room was very basic and not as clean as I would have expected. The shower was also worse than useless. Lunch was unimaginative and pricey! The hotel is also on a busy road and next door to McDonalds!

The staff were very apologetic and pleasant, but they couldn't make up for our disappointment.

As compensation we were offered a drop in our room rate (which still wasn't cheap) and some champagne - which turned out not to be champagne at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiftonHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed for 10 nights in a 4th floor Ambassador Suite on a Bed and Breakfast Basis.

Checkin was friendly and we were given a welcome drink (Kinnie) whilst we sat in reception doing the paperwork for our hire car arranged by the hotel. As the previous poster mentioned, although friendly, the reception staff did not offer help with our luggage which we struggled with to our room.

The room was lovely, well furnished and spacey with a good bathroom including jacuzzi bath, and a nice balcony overlooking Spinola Bay. The room was looked after very well by housekeeping, although, unfortunately they only had one size dressing gowns which were too small for myself and my husband.

We found that the minibar was not reguarly restocked, and so bought drinks ourselves from nearby Scotts supermarket and stored them in the fridge. We tried room service, although we had the delivery to the 9th floor pool area, this was very good.

We ate at Zest (inside the Juliani) once during our stay, and as usual this was very good. We also ate at many of the local restaurants, of which San Guiliano and Lulu stand out as very good.

The room was very quiet and we mostly heard nothing during the night, however, on one occasion we were woken by the people in the room directly above us who appeared to be moving furniture around at 6AM. Luckily this was not repeated.

We were a little disappinted with our hire car which was delivered dirty (inside and out), but was ok for our purposes and at least has airco. The garage at the hotel is very small and sometimes parking was a challenge.

Improvements that could have made my stay better would be the provision of conditioner in the bathroom, and an easier to find hairdryer (this was hidden in a dark part of the wardrobe). Also, more varied English language TV channels would have been nice.

Breakfast was a major plus since this was of very good quality and refreshed reguarly. On 3 mornings the waiters got our drinks order wrong (how hard is 1 coffee and 1 tea?) however this was quickly rectified.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay at the Juliani.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triplalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

My Girlfriend and i stayed at this hotel in October and felt at ease straight away. We were welcomed as soon as we checked in. You didn't feel like a number like you would at other hotels.
We had a lovely room and the hotel is in a fantastic location. There are restaurants and pubs everywhere near by, however, Hotel Juliani boasts the best restaurant in the island in 'Zest'. The food is fantastic and you are looked after very well. The great thing about this hotel is the staff are really fabulous. We were particularly looked after well by Alfred the receptionist and the barman Jason. Look out for these guys because they are particularly nice people who will make your stay very easy going, for example Alfred gave us plenty of genuine advice on where to go and where to eat etc....as with the other members of staff however we made a friend in Alfred. The cleaners/room service is also really good as they replace towels, soap and even chocolates every time. This hotel offers value for money as you get extra for what you pay. We will miss our time here because of the service and Alfred and we will be back for the same reasons....so when you're in Hotel Juliani say hello to Alfred from Chris and Anne :)

P.s we're not old, we're in our early 20's and from London :D

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOP_MODEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

Our first visit to Malta and stayed for eight days. Welcome at reception was polite but no offer to help with baggage. Had booked online four months previously requesting a low
floor but on arrival was allocated fifth floor and told that that was a low floor because there were nine floors. Having made our own way up to room 503 was pleasantly surprised by a very large and beautifully furnished and decorated room with sea view but sitting in the room was the luggage of the previous occupants. Presumably they were waiting for help with their luggage too ! On calling reception the duty manager ( who seemed to be the only person working that Sunday afternoon) came up and removed the luggage and dropped what to me was a bombshell " you can only stay
in this room for one night and then you have to move to the 7th floor ( still its lower than the 9th! ) " I believe that when you book a hotel room for 8 days 4 months in advance it
is an implied term of the contract that it is one room for the duration but maybe the rules in Malta are different. The only alternative rooms available for the duration of our stay were vastly inferior both in size and outlook. He then informed us that the room we had
been allocated for one night was the best room at the hotel and cost more than we had paid and had another guest booked in for the following day. After much toing and froing and phoning his boss we retained the "best room" for the duration of the stay by the payment of an upgrade fee. I still have a niggling feeling that this was a scam to get more money from us as when we checked in and were given our key we were not told that the room was for one night only and certainly would have refused on the spot.
Ultimately I was a satisfied customer with a lovely room at a fair price but after a tiring long journey a customer does not deserve this unnecessary aggravation on arrival.
The rest of our stay passed without incident . They served a good buffet breakfast in
attractive ground floor area. Rooms were maintained well and staff were helpful and
pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddictLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,409 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing