We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
Review of Hotel Juliani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Juliani
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level Contributor
254 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Our usual requirements are a boutique hotel, individual, close to everything and with a wow factor.......we got it in spades here!

Our room (602) was a suite with a balcony overlooking Spinola Bay. The room was a good size, immaculately clean with everything you could wish for. Upon check out we were offered a standard room as our flight was not leaving til 8pm. They are obviously smaller but perfect for a long weekend. Pay your money....take your choice!

We always go for room only, therefore i cannot comment on the food however from the looks of things, it would not disapoint.

The pool is situated on the roof and is very private. When we were there a late afternoon cooler was the order of the day after sight seeing and the terrace and pool were never packed.

We travelled the whole island in a hire car (arranged by the hotel) and can honestly say that this location, in our opinion, is top on the island.

Bear in mind, this is a boutique hotel. If you want entertainment, go to a resort.

In all, i could not recommend this hotel highly enough. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    342
    59
    23
    2
See reviews for
140
822
65
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
In the country
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This was my third visit to the Juliani and I couldn't fault it. The location is perfect with fantasic views over the bay and having the balcony meant that we could sit outside, enjoying the sunshine and indulging in people watching while drinking some of the excellent coffee they serve here. The air-conditioning in the room and hotel lobby was great for those times when it was just too hot to be outside and the double glazing meant that you could shut yourself off from the outside world if you wanted to.

The service in the hotel is friendly and efficient and the staff go the extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay. The little extras such as small cakes delivered to your room, a DVD player plus DVD library and a laptop you can borrow to check in or check your e-mails really helped make it a joy to stay here.

We'll be visiting Malta again next year and I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshiregirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We booked this hotel as a result of reviews on Tripadisor and were not disappointed. A friendly, small hotel with fantastic suites overlooking Spinola Bay. It has an excellent location close to many restaurants, and there are bus stops right outside to easily explore the island. We will certainly book again. Our tip is to ask for a room on the sixth floor or above, as these do not get any traffic noise.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a weeks holiday in Malta. Hotel location is overlooking Spinola Bay only a short distance away from a number of excellent restaurants. It is a 30 minute bus ride from the centre of Valetta; the buses are very frequent and good value at 1euro return.
We had a room overlooking the bay which was a wonderful view by day and night.
I think there is a catering outlet on the roof next to the pool in high season but this was not in operation during our visit although the cafe staff would bring orders up from the ground floor. The underground bar was also not in operation the 2 times we looked in, but the ground floor bar/cafe met our needs and there are plenty of other choices.
The room was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the bay.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I booked the Juliani after seeing some good reviews on trip advisor and was not disappointed. An excellent base for a sightseeing holiday on Malta.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Just returned from a week at the lovely Juliani.

The room was great - spacious with balcony overlooking the bay.

We ate in the Zest restaurant once and really loved it (the portions are big - don't over order!) and there are lots of other restaurants within a few minutes walk to choose from. The rooftop pool is small but fine for lazy splashing about.

One word of caution - watch out for the cafe latte glasses! They are unstable and our waiter managed to pour one over us one morning. Good service however - the hotel had our clothes cleaned and back to us next day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendle, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We chose this hotel on the strength of previous recommendations and we weren't disappointed. It is clearly a well managed hotel offering a high level of customer service. Upon arrival the Reception desk is found to the left of the stylish Coffee Shop which takes up approximately two thirds of the ground floor. Our welcome was courteous and we appreciated the offer of a cold drink.

Our double room was well designed to provide generous and practical storage, sensible lighting (a rarity in hotels), effective climate control and blackout curtains, a very comfortable bed, an easy to use safe, refrigerator (containing a range of drinks for optional purchase) and a desk and chair. Towels and bed linen were of good quality. Pillows (two per person provided) were washable feather and down which may give allergy sufferers a reason to ask about an alternative filling. A hairdryer with a 3 pin plug as used in the UK was provided and came with a very long cable. Unfortunately the only suitable plug socket was too far away to also allow the use of the mirror on the wardrobe doors. Other rooms may have a different configuration. The room was of average size (i.e. adequate room to move around if provided storage space was put to use). The television functioned well but we were surprised that it did not seem to have a volume limiter. That said, we didn't experience any noise disturbance from the occupied adjacent rooms. The styling of the room was modern and attractive. Our room came with the unexpected bonus of a small patio area with two sun padded loungers. We looked out onto other apartments to the rear of the hotel ( a standard view in Malta) and the environment was quiet.

Like the bedroom, the bathroom was consistently cleaned to a very high standard and was maintained that way throughout our stay. Sanitary ware was in good condition. Thoughtful design extended to the provision of a very efficient and easy to control shower over bath, a soft flow tap over the basin to reduce splashing, generous towel & toiletry supply and a retractable over bath washing line. Water pressure was very good and hot water was always available.

This is not one of those hotels which invite you to bond with your room cleaners by placing their name cards in the room. Nor will you find that your toilet paper and towels are suddenly turned into artistic creations in an effort to encourage end-of-stay gratuities. "Do not disturb" notices hung on doors were always respected and we experienced no noise disturbance from cleaning staff.

Rooms are accessed by two adjacent lifts located next to the Reception desk, both of which operate quickly and quietly. The distance from lift to furthest room is about 20 paces. Floor 9 has the rooftop pool and sun deck with lovely views across Spinola Bay. The pool is a decent size for a rooftop and sunbeds are provided together with large towels. The sunbeds are of a relatively light construction (a single layer of fabric stretched across a metal frame) which makes them easy to manœuvre but I found them very uncomfortable when laid flat as horizontal bars pressed through the fabric. They looked as though they were due for replacement.

Breakfast in the Coffee Shop was the enjoyable experience previously described by other reviewers, consisting of quality ingredients and plenty of choice. Items were frequently replenished, even when nearing the end of service. Guests who arrived towards the end of service were not rushed. We particularly enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice and fruit, excellent freshly made coffee and perfectly cooked fried eggs. The banana cake was also delicious! My only suggestion for improvement would be the warming of the croissants and pains au chocolat due to their high fat content. Service was always friendly and attentive and the same can be said for the Coffee Shop staff during the day and evening.

The Coffee Shop is glass fronted and has lovely views of Spinola Bay. The road in front of the hotel is very busy for most of the day and care needs to be taken crossing. Zebra crossings are provided but some drivers are reluctant to stop unless you challenge them to do so by first placing a foot on the crossing. The stop for buses heading into Valetta is on the other side of the road from the hotel, a very short distance up the hill. When arriving from Valetta the bus stops on a straight stretch, just before the road bends sharp right around the top of the bay and in front of the Hotel Juliani.

As this was our third trip to Malta we had little need for assistance from Reception staff but we were very appreciative of their offer of a laptop for our online flight check-in and for the use of a luggage storage room between check-out and departure.

Many thanks to the previous traveller who recommended the use of the local buses for airport transfers if time permits. Currently 47c per passenger and 35c per item of luggage for the journey into Valletta bus terminus then the same again for the No. 8 bus to the airport. We easily saved at least £50 on taxi fares for the return journey and had the pleasure of seeing Malta's sights. A lovely country which we will certainly return to again and again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PendleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were upgraded without asking to a superb room overlooking the bay with every convenience. All the staff, including the chambermaids and maintenance men (I couldn't work out how to use the digital safe in the room!), were charming and efficient, even in the face of such stupidity. The breakfasts were comprehensive and the staff helpful without being obsequious. The receptionist, Caroline, was particularly welcoming and knowledgeable. This boutique hotel is ideal for a romantic tryst, oozing calm and quiet pleasure in getting the details right, and the area abounds in reasonable restaurants overlooking the bay to maintain the romantic mood, although the choice of food is largely limited to Italian. Get a room high up to avoid the traffic noise and with a sea view to enjoy the very best this hotel has to offer. Highly recommended under such circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerculePiorot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juliani

Property: Hotel Juliani
Address: 25 St Georges Rd, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Juliani 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Juliani, a 4 star hotel, is Malta's small design boutique hotel enviably located in the heart of Spinola Bay, St Julian's. In fact, you're never more than 25 minutes away from most parts of the island, including the beautiful baroque capital of Valletta. Originally a traditional seafront townhouse, the Juliani has been meticulously converted to provide 47 rooms, an intimate setting and very personalised service to its guests. Today it remains a family-run establishment committed to ensuring you feel at home and well looked after. Each hotel room offers excellent facilities, fresh Mediterranean decor and plenty of space. Many also boast unobstructed sea views, and you will be able to watch the colourful fishing boats bobbing on the water from the comfort of your balcony or the rooftop swimming pool. Meanwhile, as a cosmopolitan commercial and entertainment district, St Julian's surrounds you with many of the best restaurants, bars, conference centres, casinos, health spas and shops that Malta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Juliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliani Hotel Saint Julians
Hotel Juliani Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing