We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommendable”
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great location and plenty around to do and near to the bus routes all around the island.The restaurant food was the best in the area,especialy the pizza! The staff couldnt do enough for you and would recommend to anybody.Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    156
    79
    19
    18
See reviews for
32
128
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when i booked my weeks holiday at Rokna hotel with my husband but i was so happy I thought i should let others know.
the friendly welcome that I received, the outstanding service from all of the staff (most of whom were part of the family who run the hotel), the excellent food in the restaurant/ all of these things contributed to a great holiday in Malta. as guests of the hotel, we were even offered 10percent discount in the adjoining restaurant.
i would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Malta. we will definitely be returning to the hotel in the near future.
thank you to everyone and see you soon

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The location is outstanding. Close to nightlife, restaurants, and there is a beach within walking distance. We did a bit of traveling over the island and the bus routes were easy to access from here. We were in Malta during the last weeks of the old bus system, but this likely hasn't changed much. The rooms were clean, but the bed felt old and was uncomfortable. The front desk staff was friendly enough although always seemed annoyed when we came to get beach towels. Overall, I'd stay here again as the location was ideal, the price was reasonable and the rooms were clean. I don't know what a phone call costs in Malta normally, but I made two local phone calls, each ~1 min in length, and was charged 7 euro for them.

Room Tip: The balconies all have very different views. We lucked out and could see the water, but you may wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is a small family run hotel which is very good value and in a good location. rooms are small and tidy, possibly need a bit of work on the bathroom, but fine for a short stay.
and FREE WI-FI

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich311254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights during October.I found the Hotel to be great value.Room was clean ,each with individual safe.Location was good, close to bus route to Valletta.Staff were friendly and Breakfast was fine for the price.
only bad points were that there was a slight musty smell in bathroom.The surrounding area may be a bit noisey if you had a large family.However there was nothing that would prevent me staying there again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DecDubhlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed five nights in september-october. There´s nothing to complain about. Very affordable.Good breakfast (not just the continental one with marmelad and white bread). The room was small and simple furnished but clean. Despite windows facing the street we slept well (good blackout curtains). Use earplugs if you are sensitive to noise, specially in the mornings. The staff were helpfully and nice in case we have any questions. The location is very well with many restaurants, pubs, cafés etc just around. We also tried the restaurant downstairs and it´s true - their pizzas are excellent, my husband ate a meatdish, also very well tasting.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paeonia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 and a half weeks and all I can say is FANTASTIC! The rooms were all you needed, clean, air conditioned. the location is in the heart of Malta, the streets are filled with resturants, nightlife, transport, shopping facilities, beaches. Reception was very very helpful and made you feel so welcome. I needed an extra night before heading to the airport a few days after my stay and they easily booked me a large apartment room even though all the other rooms were booked out for the same smaller room price! Being back in Australia I have been recommending the Rokna to everyone. I will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeanDebattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,674 reviews
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#14 of 33 in Saint Julian's
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Property: Rokna
Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing