We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place :-)”
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Bristol
1 review
“Fantastic place :-)”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I do love the staff attitude towards everything, clean, close to the most important things, what more can you asked for??? thank you so much i will be back :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ola2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    155
    77
    17
    15
See reviews for
31
122
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Great value for money, and good location for nightlife. Bus stop nearby, good central location to go and visit the popular tourist attractions. Staff all very polite and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank commengy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Excellent hotel....perfect location,frendly stuff,great room,amazing pizza restaurant,free wi-fi,beach 5minute walk away...i'll be back!Thanks for great hooliday

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

i dont normally leave reviews on hotels but i had to make an exception with Rokna Hotel. I stayed for 7 days (3 days on business) then my family joined me for the remaining 4 days). The staff were so accommodating to my need as a businessman, then to my family as a whole. Free wi-fi (no silly charges), hassle-free check-in, nothing was a problem. Reception also arranged taxis and wake up calls for me when needed. When my family arrived, the service we received was over and above what i would normally expect. A highchair was waiting for our 1 year old at breakfast, I never even had to remind anyone about this. The staff were obviously family orientated offering crayons to our children when they arrived at breakfast. its small things like this that made me wanted to wriet this review. Excellent value for money, close to absolutely everything, every single member of staff we encountered were so helpful and happy! not something you get in most hotels.I love Malta and Rokna Hotel certainly helped in making my stay a pleasurable one.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony , great for people watching !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

BEWARE!!!! When you arrive here after booking your room you may find your booking has been cancelled by the hotel and that they have nnot bothered to notify you. You will therefore be stranded and have to look for alternative accomodation. This is what happened to my colleagues on the 22nd of June 2012 while on a business trip to Malta. We had all booked rooms using our credit cards. Two of us had used Booking.com and the other 6 had used Expedia.com to book their rooms. On arrival at the hotel the two of us who had booked though booking.com on a single booking got our rooms. The other 6 were told that their bookings had been cancelled by Expedia.com. We thought this unusual as they had all booked SEPERATELY using individual credit cards and at different times a few days beforehand. We contacted Expedia.com who confirmed that the Hotel THEMSELVES had cancelled all of the rooms. It appears that they had got a better rate off someone else/another booking website. My colleagues got another hotel which was cheaper & nicer. This is a family run hotel and I suspect that the excellent reviews being posted here are being put up by themselves. If you book here you have been warned!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rayoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROKNA, General Manager at Rokna, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
In response to this comment, I would like to point out first and foremost that the reservations were cancelled as per procedures with the booking site in question who in return should email the guest to inform them of what happened. It is then the guest's responsibility to check their emails. This has happened to other people when booking other hotels and have informed us that it was the booking site's fault and not the hotel's.

No one was left stranded in any way and neither of these guests had to look for accommodation. Although this was not the fault of the hotel, allternative accommodation was immediately sought and found by our receptionist. The Hotel was 2 minutes down the road.

This situation has never happened to us before and as we are a 25 room hotel we never take the risk of overbookings like other hotels do, also due to the fact that we like to keep our rates as low as we possibly can, thus overbooking the hotel would be a great risk for us.

As for us leaving our own 'excellent reviews', this is forbidden by TripAdvisor as all comments are reviewed by TripAdvisor before publishing.

We are a proud family run business and this is shown in the many lovely comments our guests leave for us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The location is great if you want to be near the Paceville nightlife (about a 3-5 min walk) and just far enough away to be not too noisy at night - we could hear cars but we slept fine.

Our room was small and basic but it was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly so it can't be faulted for a budget hotel.

The breakfast buffet was nice - the usual cold cheese/meats/fruit/eggs etc.

We ate in the restaurant twice and it really was great food. We sampled soup, salad, pasta and pizza and everything we ate was amazing. Even if you choose another hotel try at least one pizza here!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid noise form the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have recently returned from taking a small group of students to the Hotel Rokna. The hotel was very suitable for our purposes and offered a wide range of services from accommodation; excellent restaurant; transfers and information - all provided in a friendly and efficient manner. We were also given access to a small area where we were able to hold daily briefings. Upon their return from Malta all the students rated their trip has having been very successful with their choice of the Rokna Hotel being one of the main reasons for this.
We have taken a group to Malta previously when we stayed in Sliema but we found that St Julians was a much better location for us.
Staying with groups in hotels can sometimes be problematic but this visit went very smoothly as the Rokna Hotel made every effort to meet all our needs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grecophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 32 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Property: Rokna
Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing