We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is very well situated in St Julians near the Hilton roundabout. It is near all the nightlife of the Paceville area but is one block away so you are not in the crazy wild area and can get some sleep. The bus stop for regular buses and Sightseeing tours is only one minute from the hotel door. The room was quite small but was clean and good value for the price paid and the location. We paid extra for a room with Balcony it would have been very small without that extra space, so worth the upgrade. There is a continental buffet breakfast which is handy.
The hotel seems to be family run ad the staff are helpful. The restaurant downstairs is always busy with Maltese people which is always a good sign. The food was nice and very reasonable. I would recommend this hotel as an affordable, friendly local hotel.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a room with Balcony, highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayToursLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

We needed an overnight stay in St Julian's, Malta in June and the Rokna fulfilled our every wish.
Value for money at 60 Euros, with good continental breakfast for two. Comfortable bed, fridge and good bathroom. Although deep in busy Paceville on a Friday night, we were not disturbed by the nightlife. Additionally free Wi-fi in our room. Lunch and evening meal in the attached Italian restaurant, IR Rohna, with 10% discount.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hancockmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I do love the staff attitude towards everything, clean, close to the most important things, what more can you asked for??? thank you so much i will be back :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ola2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Great value for money, and good location for nightlife. Bus stop nearby, good central location to go and visit the popular tourist attractions. Staff all very polite and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commengy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Excellent hotel....perfect location,frendly stuff,great room,amazing pizza restaurant,free wi-fi,beach 5minute walk away...i'll be back!Thanks for great hooliday

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

i dont normally leave reviews on hotels but i had to make an exception with Rokna Hotel. I stayed for 7 days (3 days on business) then my family joined me for the remaining 4 days). The staff were so accommodating to my need as a businessman, then to my family as a whole. Free wi-fi (no silly charges), hassle-free check-in, nothing was a problem. Reception also arranged taxis and wake up calls for me when needed. When my family arrived, the service we received was over and above what i would normally expect. A highchair was waiting for our 1 year old at breakfast, I never even had to remind anyone about this. The staff were obviously family orientated offering crayons to our children when they arrived at breakfast. its small things like this that made me wanted to wriet this review. Excellent value for money, close to absolutely everything, every single member of staff we encountered were so helpful and happy! not something you get in most hotels.I love Malta and Rokna Hotel certainly helped in making my stay a pleasurable one.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony , great for people watching !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

BEWARE!!!! When you arrive here after booking your room you may find your booking has been cancelled by the hotel and that they have nnot bothered to notify you. You will therefore be stranded and have to look for alternative accomodation. This is what happened to my colleagues on the 22nd of June 2012 while on a business trip to Malta. We had all booked rooms using our credit cards. Two of us had used Booking.com and the other 6 had used Expedia.com to book their rooms. On arrival at the hotel the two of us who had booked though booking.com on a single booking got our rooms. The other 6 were told that their bookings had been cancelled by Expedia.com. We thought this unusual as they had all booked SEPERATELY using individual credit cards and at different times a few days beforehand. We contacted Expedia.com who confirmed that the Hotel THEMSELVES had cancelled all of the rooms. It appears that they had got a better rate off someone else/another booking website. My colleagues got another hotel which was cheaper & nicer. This is a family run hotel and I suspect that the excellent reviews being posted here are being put up by themselves. If you book here you have been warned!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rayoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROKNA, General Manager at Rokna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

In response to this comment, I would like to point out first and foremost that the reservations were cancelled as per procedures with the booking site in question who in return should email the guest to inform them of what happened. It is then the guest's responsibility to check their emails. This has happened to other people when booking other hotels and have informed us that it was the booking site's fault and not the hotel's.

No one was left stranded in any way and neither of these guests had to look for accommodation. Although this was not the fault of the hotel, allternative accommodation was immediately sought and found by our receptionist. The Hotel was 2 minutes down the road.

This situation has never happened to us before and as we are a 25 room hotel we never take the risk of overbookings like other hotels do, also due to the fact that we like to keep our rates as low as we possibly can, thus overbooking the hotel would be a great risk for us.

As for us leaving our own 'excellent reviews', this is forbidden by TripAdvisor as all comments are reviewed by TripAdvisor before publishing.

We are a proud family run business and this is shown in the many lovely comments our guests leave for us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £35 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing