We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Time - Wonderfull Surprise”
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A great place with best food and excellent fantastic staff, really helpful. will definately come back to the restaurant again. good value for money. Will definately visit again to enjoy other diffent meals on their menu

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank wonderland l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Rokna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

We've stayed at Rokna twice now and have been amazed by how the staff go above and beyond for you, its almost as if they can't do enough for you! We stayed in one of the larger 5star hotels in 2010 and although they may have gltz and abundance of facilities the one thing they lack is heart and that is what Rokna has and a lot of it.
The Camilleri family make you feel like an extended part of their family whilst on holiday... pushchair breaks 'don't worry we'll lend you one', need an extra car seat for the rental as the one they've supplied you with is too small, 'don't worry my sister has one she doesn't use i'll call her and get it for you tonight', need a babysitter, 'my cousin will look after them, what time?'...
They are amzing!
The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are super clean and the restaurant makes probably the best pizza I have ever eaten!
When visiting Malta this is our home from home and will stay nowhere else.

Room Tip: The suites on the top floor are ideal for families.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabagool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Really good value (I was out of season, though). Convenient - lots quick buses to Valletta or Gozo cinema, hotels, nightclubs, restaurants...Convenient location = bit of noise, didn't bother me, asked for a high floor. Breakfast food adequate, dinner available nice pizza resto on ground floor. Above all, for standardised 3-star hotel the staff were all charming and I met lots of them. Felt very secure, too

Room Tip: High up as possible (although tiny lift, I found it quaint)
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed at the Rokna in October and was pleasantly surprised as it is a 3 star.
The good points:-
Location - perfect as there is so much going on.
Room - we were given a very large room (a double and twins) and it was just the 2 of us.
Staff - very friendly and very helpful both in hotel and restaurant.

The not so good points:-
Room - shower head does not stay up so you have to hold it.
Cleanliness - found tiny ants on beds.
Lift - smallest lift ever, barely get three people in and defintely not a wheelchair, we struggled with a pram.

I would still stay there again and would definitely recommend their restaurant, value for money and great food. I will do a separate review on the restaurant.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor following other reviews so would recommend that, we had room 127 on 2nd...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Juv18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

nice central hotel for a one night stay, but room was a bit noisy next to street and bathroom very small. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

After spending a few days in Valletta we wanted a few easy days in St Julian's. That exactly what we got staying in the Rokna hotel. We were given a choice of rooms and although I asked to be near a lift as I have difficulty walking we had no problems getting around the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and let me leave the wheelchair in the reception area which was a nice touch. The room was clean, large and tidy. What's more the location is great. Not far from the bus stop and Spinola bay and right round the corner from the restaurants and bars of Paceville. Far enough away not to have a problem with noise though! I'd not hesitate to recommend staying here if you are holidaying in St Julian's. As the bus stop is not far It's not too hard to get to Valletta either. Oh and the pizzas in the restaurant are pretty good too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

On arrival, my single room via booking.com was a double, well twin mattresses pushed together. A little annoying when it splits, but better than a single.
Room was on 4th floor, no noise issues like some.
View of Hilton tower and Porto maso was great.
Room was clean and added bonus in price of a safe, air con and remotes for tv as some Maltese hotels charge for these.
Maid service daily, another bonus as clean towels daily. Thank you

Staff were attentive and polite.

My wife's family are Maltese and we come over regular several times a year. I dive the islands regular so use a number of hotels and this one is one of the best in the area for a certain budget.

Breakfast was the usual cereals, bread and cheese you get. Functional to set you up for the day. Coffee was 'real' not like some places using machines that make an awful cup.

From reception staff to room, maintenance and breakfast staff. All were polite. A nice change as some have been so rude in the past and dismissive even.

Clean rooms
No noisy building work.
I can honestly recommend the hotel and will return myself if the price comes in right.


Thank you Rokna

Oh, only let down was being forgotten by restaurant staff one night. But treated as seperate with a review for the restaurant. :-(
Sorry! But that's what we look at... Reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padimsddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £39 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing