We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta read this!”
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Book here - you won't be disappointed.

€6.50 for a weekly bus ticket can be bought at the airport, directly opposite arrivals. Get on an X2 and stop at "St Julians" or "Ross" - the hotel is a 5 minute walk from either stop...Downhill from "St Julians" as far as you can go, then turn right. From "Ross" go down the street by the little park and turn left. You can't get lost - just look for the tallest building around - your hotel is opposite. Want to go to Valetta? Bus 12 or 13 goes there from the same bus stops every half an hour and terminates at Valletta. Want to go to Gozo - get the 222 from the stop across the road.

Staff here are super-helpful and even got some Gluen free bread and cereal for my wife's breakfast. They will help you out with any questions you have.

Our room had the smallest bathroom we have seen anywhere, but was still perfectly functional. Lots of hot water, a safe (small), fridge .... and a supermarket 30m down the road to stock it. We were in room 125 and had a proper balcony to sit on.

Directly across from the hotel is an archway next to "Cleland Suchet" where you will find a small marina and a few restaurants (which we haven't tried). If you go to the bus stop at "Ross", then walk another 2 minutes in the same direction the bus goes to Valletta, you will get to Spinola bay...Anywhere else and you really need to start using your mega-cheap bus ticket.
Please note that we came here in April (out of season) and the busses get extremely busy at certain times - you will probably have to stand at some point. I have no idea how bad it will be in summer, but I would hope they put on more busses.

Maltese food portions can be quite large, so watch out if you only want a light meal! Prices can be quite "touristy" ( = expensive), but equally some really nice food can be found at great value.

We have eaten in the Hotel's Pizzeria/restaurant - I have never had a pizza with Honey and Walnuts on before but it was great! My wife had a Cheese salad, thinking it would be quite light - it was huge, so we had a doggy bag and took a load back to the room. We have also eaten in "Raffael" in Spinola bay - and were quite impressed - but note that this place does get very varied reviews.

We have eaten twice at "Caravaggio" in St John's square in Valletta and both times thought we got reasonable value for money - and the food was good.

People here in Malta tend to be some of the friendliest around, and we have had a most enjoyable stay here...WHEN we come back we WILL stay at Il Rokna again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul-Syd-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights.Really good location with a bus stop and taxi office just around the corner.Very helpful staff.WiFi,safe and good sized fridge included in our spacious room.
Great food in the adjoining restaurant and you get a 10% discount .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed 7 nights at end of March. All staff were polite and helpful. Continental breakfast was adequate including a good choice of cereals, yoghurt, breads, ham, cheese and jams, tea/coffee and fruit juice.
The restaurant is very popular as well and offers very good food. The pizzas are lovely.
The room was clean and maid service provided daily with change of towels. The bed was comfortable.
A big plus for me was the free WiFi which was reliable and consistent. Also included in the price was the safe, air condition and tv remote ..which some other hotels charge separately for. There was also a fridge in room. Had a good view of Portomaso tower which was great.
Great location, right around the corner from the restaurants and bars of Paceville. A supermarket is just 25 metres across the street, very convenient for food, drink and toiletries.

I hope to visit Malta again , and would definitely consider staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms on to roadside a bit noisier due to traffic. Consider booking a room on higher level. I was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kallertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, for a short family break. We had a standard double room and a triple room for the extended family. Nice and friendly hotel, really good value for money. Bathrooms were ok, cleaned daily and new towels given. There can a really strong smell of bleach, but once you've open the massive windows, this can be eradicated quite quickly. Most importantly for me, their beds were clean and we could sleep comfortably. I asked for an extra bed linen as there were small stains on ours. They provided this without a fuss. They have a lovely restaurant on site for dinner (with 10% off for guests), big portions of food! Breakfast was again, pretty standard - no complaints. Shower could have been better if I really had to have a niggle with something, as the shower head is fixed to the wall... Bit of a nuisance if you're short like me. Slightly claustrophobic in our tiny shower room, but everything worked and generally in a decent condition. If you're looking for a budget but enjoyable stay, this hotel has a great location and you can't really have too many complaints!! We were also on the 4th floor, noise-wise, we were fine. If you're unfit, and cannot walk up 4 flights of stairs... AND you're also scared of tiny lifts... then you may struggle. Ask for a lower floor...but I hear that the rooms might be noisier?!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank annyml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed with a friend during March 2014 and we enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean and we were able to both shower at the same time as we had a shower plus a shower over bath that worked fine when used them at the same time (bonus!). The staff were friendly and very helpful. It's good value for money in a great location with a good pizza/pasta restaurant attached - you get 10% for as a hotel guest. We did the Bidnija horse riding (1 hour for 20 euro) which hotel reception arranged for us. They picked us up and returned us to the hotel for 5 euros. It was a fantastic horse riding excursion with really beautiful horses (used in Game of Thrones) in amongst beautiful rural surroundings - would highly recommend. You can do longer treks if you wish.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and central location right in the middle of St Julian which is good but as with all of Malta it's densely populated & therefore also a lot of traffic as well. It is only a 2ish star hotel though and the price reflects that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I decided to stay at the Rokna for one night as I had some business to attend to in St. Julians and was not disappointed with choosing this hotel, especially when considering what I paid.

Check-in was smooth with the receptionist on duty being very courteous. Room assigned was on the 2nd floor overlooking Portomaso square and the good sized balcony was a bonus.

Overall it was a good stay too bad it was only for a night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Ser_Leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £36 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing