We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the 70s? Go here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Like the 70s? Go here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

First I have to say that most of the staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. I was aware of that this is only a 3 star hote,l but trusting Tripadvior seeing that it had got "Travellers choice 2014" and the fact that the price was 100 euros a night, we thought it would still be a good place to stay.
Arrived on a Friday and got put in a room that was so small that we could not get pass each other at the end of the bed. The bathroom(!) two phone boxes wide. TV remote didn't work, was told it was condensation in the batteries. Air condition leaking water on the floor, we were told we shouldn't have it on so low, caused condensation. They recommended 23c in the room. We live in Sweden and have about 23c at home during the winter, not when it's 30 degrees outside. The day after we got another room next door. Finally, we had no hot water.

Next room was a little bit bigger. If you love the 70s you will love this hotel. It's not updated for 40 years. In this room everything was working except that you could not connect the shower to the wall, but had to hold it in your hand while washing yourself. We were already feed up and didn't bother complaining.
Breakfast is very, very basic. Some different types of bread, cheese, ham, cold eggs. Day 3 the bread wasn't fresh.
Night 2 and 3 the corridors was full of young boys running around, knocking on doors, talking and just making a lot of noise. Morning 2 and 3 some work across the street started drilling at 7 in the morning, so to get some rest was quite difficult. Day 4 we didn't get any towels after the cleaning of the room.
By then we had decided to only stay five of the ten nights that we booked and payed for.
We changed our flights and went home, didn't even try to get a refund.
Worst 1000 euros we ever spent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SwedenBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    154
    77
    16
    15
See reviews for
31
121
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel has a nice location in St. Julian's which is famous for its night life. Therefore I think the location is great. we were not very happy with the cleanliness of the rooms though. It could have been better. The staff was helpful for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmjm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed in the Rokna for a week in May. The hotel was not as modern as I had expected but as i was really only using it as somewhere to sleep as out diving every day this was not an issue. What was really good was how clean it was, the really comfortable bed, and the freindly and very helpful staff. The location is also excellent, with superb access to St.Julian's and, if so inclined, Paceville. The lack of a pool will be a downside for some

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricko375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Please do yourself a huge favour and stay well clear. This place is not worth €100 euro a night. It is a basic 2 star in a good location with old rooms and in need a lick of paint. That I can deal with but dirty I can not! The room had insects crawling on the floor as well as crumbs hair and dirt. The beds linen was filthy. When I complained was met with rude horrible staff who couldn't care less about mine or my families needs. A family business! What a joke! They offered an alternative filthy room and I pointed out the hair, dirt and cig ash but was met with a lot of abuse. Wouldn't give us money back. It's no wonder they are keen to take payment before you see the room. Do not fall for it! Steer well clear. There are many beautiful hotels nearby. They ruined our Maltese experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank L-Lou150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROKNA, Front Office Manager at Rokna, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
I personally was at reception when Mr xxx and Mr xxx checked in. The check-in time was approximately 13:35. Two triple rooms had been reserved however we allocated 2 larger quadruple rooms with balconies as we knew you had young children and would appreciate the space.

I gave the keys to Mr xxx and Mr xxx for both rooms and explained all the facilities available to you all i.e. Hours for breakfast, free WI-FI etc. Payment was taken on arrival as per terms and conditions with booking.com and our own hotel policy. Most hotels in Malta also do this. Alternatively, payment would be blocked on a debit/credit card and payment would be processed at the end of the stay.

Mr xxx and Mr xxx then proceeded to their rooms. One of the rooms (room 127) was actually being cleaned at the time and it was necessary to wait a few minutes before the room could be used. The cleaner remained on that same floor continuing to clean other rooms.

I was at reception all afternoon till 17.00 and remember you leaving the hotel before I left for the day. I remember opening the door to help you as you had a buggy.

I received a phone call at approximately 17.30 informing me that both parties were not happy with the cleanliness of your rooms and wanted a full refund. You were then offered 2 alternative rooms within the hotel, which you also stated were dirty. Again, you demanded your money back and as the receptionists do not have the power to do this, you were asked to speak to the Director the following morning, who would then decide whether to refund you or not.

On close inspection of the rooms, by the Director himself, the decision was taken not to refund you.

It was noted by the Director that the cleanliness of the rooms was not brought to our attention for a full four hours after checking in. Indeed, you left the hotel during the afternoon and nothing was mentioned to either myself or any of our staff. It was also noted that our cleaners were still at the hotel on check-in and, in fact, were on the same floor as room 127. Mr xxx and Mr xxx would have been aware of this and at no time did they mention any unclean matters to them. As a gesture of goodwill to you all, you were offered alternative rooms but you refused to accept them stating that you just wanted your money back.

We are aware that the building is old, however we take great pride in offering the best customer service possible along with ensuring that all rooms are maintained to the highest standards possible. If any customer is unhappy with their room for whatever reason, valid or not, we strive to offer them an alternative immediately upon request. I am a mother of two myself and if I thought that our Hotel was not suitable for children and adults alike, I would ensure that the Hotel was closed until it was brought up to standard.

We have never had to reply to any comment on Trip Advisor, however this time we felt we had no option but to do so. We are also aware of the many good Trip Advisor comments we have.

Please be assured that we take any complaints seriously and if we find that a complaint is justified it would be dealt with accordingly. However in this case a decision was made not to refund you for the reasons stated above.

You are free to take whatever action you feel necessary in this matter. Indeed, we are currently in the process of taking legal advice ourselves as a result of the threats you have made against us. Our hotel is a family run business which has been running for nearly 40 years. We are proud of the service we offer to our customers and a large proportion of reviews on various websites reflect. As a result of this, we will not allow our good name to be tarnished.

We have CCTV covering the corridors and main areas of the hotel which can be used to prove the points that have been stated above.

It is unfortunate that we were unable to satisfy you but assure you of our best intentions at all times.

Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My sister, my husband and I booked an apartment with a balcony. It was on the third floor with a kitchenette. We had free wifi and a continental breakfast.
The location of the hotel is perfect to visit anywhere on the island. You are already in St. Julian's: the most popular resort for its nightlife. There are lots of clubs including Hard Rock Café withing walking distance.
When you leave the hotel, turn right, walk 10 mt, turn right, use the zebra crossing to cross the street, walk down the street, there is a bus-stop on the left with the friendliest ticket guy Marco who will chat with you and tell you which bus to take and when it is due. A 7-day bus ticket costs 6.58 euros. You can buy the ticket at the airport bus-stop and spend a week!
If you walk down the street about 20-30 mt. from the bus-stop, you will also see a travel agency which will take you to different places on the island.
You can also take a taxi around the corner of the hotel.
There is a supermarket across the hotel. You can find almost everything you need there.
The family who runs the hotel is really helpful. They tried to solve our A/C problem asap. The
The hotel's restaurant-pizzeria which gives hotel guests a 10 % discount is one of the best pizzeria. Each of us loved what we had there.
If we go back to Malta, we will definitely stay at this hotel.
We enjoyed our holiday there and Malta is not a pricey country compared to other European countries. Hope it stays that way. :)

Room Tip: Reasonable price, friendly staff, perfect location, delicious pizza
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, mid April for €100. This included a continental breakfast (with the worlds slowest toaster!) and free wifi.

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready as the previous people had only just checked out but we only had to wait 15 minutes and it was ready.

We booked a double but got a double and two single beds. So the room was quite big - wardrobe, desk, tv, air con and a fridge. Bathroom a bit 'tired' but perfectly fine. We had a balcony which got some sun in the morning.

Location was great however it was near a busy road so this might be too noisy for some people. We were on the 4th floor so other than the occasional car horn it was fine.

Would stay here again and would recommend it for those looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful in a good location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Book here - you won't be disappointed.

€6.50 for a weekly bus ticket can be bought at the airport, directly opposite arrivals. Get on an X2 and stop at "St Julians" or "Ross" - the hotel is a 5 minute walk from either stop...Downhill from "St Julians" as far as you can go, then turn right. From "Ross" go down the street by the little park and turn left. You can't get lost - just look for the tallest building around - your hotel is opposite. Want to go to Valetta? Bus 12 or 13 goes there from the same bus stops every half an hour and terminates at Valletta. Want to go to Gozo - get the 222 from the stop across the road.

Staff here are super-helpful and even got some Gluen free bread and cereal for my wife's breakfast. They will help you out with any questions you have.

Our room had the smallest bathroom we have seen anywhere, but was still perfectly functional. Lots of hot water, a safe (small), fridge .... and a supermarket 30m down the road to stock it. We were in room 125 and had a proper balcony to sit on.

Directly across from the hotel is an archway next to "Cleland Suchet" where you will find a small marina and a few restaurants (which we haven't tried). If you go to the bus stop at "Ross", then walk another 2 minutes in the same direction the bus goes to Valletta, you will get to Spinola bay...Anywhere else and you really need to start using your mega-cheap bus ticket.
Please note that we came here in April (out of season) and the busses get extremely busy at certain times - you will probably have to stand at some point. I have no idea how bad it will be in summer, but I would hope they put on more busses.

Maltese food portions can be quite large, so watch out if you only want a light meal! Prices can be quite "touristy" ( = expensive), but equally some really nice food can be found at great value.

We have eaten in the Hotel's Pizzeria/restaurant - I have never had a pizza with Honey and Walnuts on before but it was great! My wife had a Cheese salad, thinking it would be quite light - it was huge, so we had a doggy bag and took a load back to the room. We have also eaten in "Raffael" in Spinola bay - and were quite impressed - but note that this place does get very varied reviews.

We have eaten twice at "Caravaggio" in St John's square in Valletta and both times thought we got reasonable value for money - and the food was good.

People here in Malta tend to be some of the friendliest around, and we have had a most enjoyable stay here...WHEN we come back we WILL stay at Il Rokna again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul-Syd-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#9 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Property: Rokna
Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing