We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel”
Review of Rokna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rokna
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 5 May 2009

it is a nice little hotel, in a really good location, with a view on Hilton hotel and Portomaso area . It is in Paceville, just about a few minutes walk from the very lively nightlife of Paceville. It is calm, you do not here the noise of the bars of Paceville anymore. Bus stop is just 1 minute walk away.
There is a shop, which is open till 8pm and also on Sundays.
We got a room with a balcony, I recommend you to ask for this kind of room. In the morning we had the sun, it was lovely.
The standard breakfast is just right, bread some butter and jam and a slice of cheese and ham, cereals, juice, tea or coffee. What else do you need?
The staff were very friendly, helpful at all times and the cleaners came every day , made beds, clean towels and tidied our room.
It is for "normal" people, if you are not for luxus but looking for a friendly place to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Csakzsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Rokna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2008

Hotel Rokna offers one of the best quality/price ratio in St Julians. It is perfectly located close to all amenities and there is a supermarket just across the one way road.

The staff there are super friendly and they make you feel not only welcome but part of the local community.

I stayed there for a few days when my friends were getting married and i organised a meal for over 10 people in less than 15 minutes. The food was excellent and plentiful

I'd definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in St Julians

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bestservedhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

just come back from malta where we stayed at the hotel rokna, nice little hotel, in a really good location, about 4 mins walk from the very lively nightlife, a few tips below...
1. ensure you book a room with a balcony, some of the rooms have no balcony and are very small and clostrophobic.
2. the standard breakfast is not really up to much, a bit of bread some butter and jam and a slice of cheese and ham, you can order toast, boiled eggs or an english breakfast at an additional cost, ie... boiled eggs x2 one euro, or 5 euro for an english brecky.
3. note... no pool...
4. room decor a bit tatty.
5. 3 star???? mmmm .... im not sure about that..
the staff though were very friendly at all times and the cleaners came every day , made beds, clean towels and tidied our room.
overall our stay was fine and i would say its ok for a weeks break.
would i recommend it to my friends?????
if they were looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful in a good location for the lively night life then yes.
if they were looking for a hotel with a touch of class then no way..

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank moneyconcious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We are a mature couple from New Zealand who visited Malta for a business conference in June 2008. We visit Europe each year and have travelled extensively throughout the continent. We make our own bookings via the web and generally stay two to three star as it gets us close to the locals. We were more than happy with the Rokna. It was within easy walking distance of the conference venue, the buses to Valletta are just around the corner, there is an excellent cafe across the street and an internet cafe in the next block. Whereas there are some noisy night clubs in the vicinity these were sufficiently far enough away not to bother us. We walked through the neighbourhood until late at night going to and returning from functions without concern. The hotel itself is family run and the owners take pride in their establishment and their service. The room was cleaned each morning. Should we ever visit Malta again we would stay at the Rokna.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank DeeceeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

Did not stay in this hotel but we did eat in the restaurant and must say it was classic Italian food served with great courtesy by friendly staff. We had fabulous pasta for starters and the thin crust pizzas were great. The owner was a most polite and friendly person and the whole evening was a pleasure. Anyone staying around St Julain's should eat here early in their stay.. they will be back time and time again

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank veggie-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2007

we have just spent 5 days in st julians and once again we have enjoyed it thoroughly. this time we decided to stay in the hotel rokna. this hotel is very reasonably priced compared to the 5 star hotels you get here. it is a 3 star hotel but we were not dissapointed. the owner was very polite and made you feel welcome which is very important to us. it rained every day we were here and was colder than england but we never let it bother us. if you use this hotel as a base and not the be all and end all of your stay, you will be o.k here. we spent most of our time in the bars around st julians and most of that time in the sun and splendour bar which was just round the corner from the hotel. it was a fantastic mixture of young, old, maltese and brits all having a good time. hello to tom the geordie barman and charlie the maltese/english lad. top place... whilst we were there we spent some time tracking down some old maltese friends of my partners parents who they have known for over 30 years. they live in sliema close to the victoria hotel and they remembered us instantly. it didnt surprise me as the maltese are brilliant people. we also found freddie as well who still runs the same bar he did 30 years ago. its called the hole in the wall in sliema. restaurant wise we ate at zeris again which has now moved on to the portamaso site at the hilton. very nice indeed (the mussels are to die for) and peppino's italian on spinola bay which was very crowded but very nice. once again i cannot fault malta. we love the place and will be returning very soon hopefully.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobthestag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2005

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alphawilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,752 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokna

Address: Church Street, Paceville, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3044, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £38 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROKNA HOTEL is a three star hotel run by the Camilleri family. It is situated in the centre of Paceville, right opposite Hilton Hotel. Five minutes walk to the seaside, and within easy access to lidos with swimming and sports facilities, shops, restaurants, discos and the Casino. Paceville is in the heart of St. Julian's, and one of the most popular resorts in Malta. ROKNA HOTEL offers comfortable rooms overlooking the Hilton Portomaso grounds. Some rooms have a balcony. Each room is nicely decorated and has private facilities. Some have a bath, others a shower. All rooms are air conditioned and have cable/satellite TV and telephone direct dialing. WI-FI connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra cost. A lift service is available to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rokna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokna Hotel Saint Julian`s
Rokna Saint Julians
Rokna Hotel Saint Julians
Rokna Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing