We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price its not the Hilton but it does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
A TripAdvisor Member
“For the price its not the Hilton but it does the job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

After reading so many negative reviews i was nervous to stay as i had already booked. But was pleasantly surprised on arrival. Although dated. The hotel was clean and basic. Breakfast basic. Rooms basic. But i was not paying for the Hilton. I would stay again. The staff especially at reception were very friendly. Which i would expect from maltese. The noise was due to renovations. Which are defiantly needed. Did not bother me. As they are improving the building/rooms. Overall a really enjoyable stay. Everything was basic. I was not planning to stay in the room all day. So just needed somewhere to put my head. . And this was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    221
    244
    137
    165
See reviews for
73
315
44
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Very noisy throughout the night as drunk teenage travelers bang on the door, shouting to each other. Terrible breakfast where everything tastes synthetic and even tea comes out of a machine. Breakfast staff busy clearing food away from the buffet as the clock approaches 10 even if you are in the middle of breakfast. First floor rooms are undergoing renovation with no protective partition walls, with debris and dust from construction material all over the floor. Horrible experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

The location was very good close to the beach, shopping area and bus stop but:
- the staff was very rude
- the hotel is very noisy, fully of with teenegers
- the hotel is very old (the rooms also), the bed was very uncomfortable
- the breakfast and the dinner were disgusting.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarbucksFreak25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Had my third stay in the Alexandra Hotel, St Julian's, Malta recently. The location is second to none. Perfect for bars, clubs, and restaurants. Far enough from Paceville to avoid the noise, but close enough for a short walk home. Rooms are slightly dated, however they were cleaned daily and maintained a high standard of cleanliness. The buffet breakfast was great too. Decent selection of food and high standard of service.
The bar facilities are good, and the staff are always pleasant and willing to help.
The best thing is the price. Must be the best value hotel in Malta.

Room Tip: Price, Location, Service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Ok....firstly I must say that our room was cleaned everyday (house maid woke us up on a few occassions..like your mom telling you to get up), clean towels...then it stops.

Our weeks holiday was shared with students, from the age of 14-17 years....it was like stopping in a doementary..screaming,shouting,banging doors, you name it...If I had known before about them using this hotel I would of avoided it.

There was only one pool (no water in it)....building work,food ok, no facilities for making a hot drink, the rooms need a deep clean before a new client uses the room..(there were flip flop marks on the walls with a squashed mozzie, more then likely from the summer).

As for the students.....I was informed that most 2 and 3 star hotels cater for students as there are a lot of english teaching schools. In future we will be paying that litle bit extra to stay in a 4 star. I did complain but....nothing was really done about it.

Apart from that...the island is beautiful...we will go again...but we are wise now about students.....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fudgeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankenberg, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Das Hotel ist in einem schlechten Zustand. Die Zimmer sind verwohnt und schmutzig. Es fehlt an den einfachsten Sachen: nur ein Stuhl im Doppelzimmer, kein Gardobenhaken im Zimmer, kleiner Kleiderschrank mit wenigen Kleiderhaken, ohne Fächer zum Ablegen der Wäsche (wir haben praktisch aus dem Koffer gelebt, der mitten im Zimmer stand). Kleiner Fernseher mit schlechtem Empfang. Badewanne, Waschbecken und Toilette waren zwar sauber, aber dringend renovierungsbedürftig (ein einsamer Handtuchhalter an der Wand).
Der Service hält nicht viel vom Reinigen (Wollmäuse und Staubschichten überall, schmutzige Fenster). Lärmende Bauarbeiten im ganzen Haus ab morgens 7:00.
Positiv ist die günstige Lage. Restaurants, Kneipen, etc. direkt um die Ecke. Bushaltestelle mit Verbindung in alle Richtungen nur ca. 5 Min. entfernt.
Da wir ein Billig-Pauschalangebot gebucht hatten und nur zum Schlafen im Hotel waren, konnten wir 6 Übernachtungen mit der Situation leben.
Wir kommen wieder nach St. Julians, aber garantiert nicht ins Alexandra !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karola-FKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandra32003, Manager at Alexandra Hotel Malta, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Firstly we must take this opportunity to thank the esteemed guest for the comments left on this site, as these are always appreciated with a sincere sense of commitment to improve the services we offer.

With reference to the claim that the hotel in a bad state we would have appreciated if the guest would have indicated and sustained his claim with more precision. In fact we have just invested in a complete renovation of our sixth floor which is impeccably brand new. We have also built a new block of brand new room/apartments that are even complimented with a functional kitchen, leather sofa, breathtaking views and a large semicircular bath with all amenities in each room. We are also carrying out a refurbishment of the first floor and hence our maintenance is always on the go. So we would have been more than willing to rectify any shortcomings if they were indicated by the guest.

A claim was also made that rooms are dirty. We have a large number of maids that we feel are very dedicated to our guests as they have great patience with clients and their shortcomings. The system in force is that every maid has to sign a record sheet after doing each room. Hence this method of traceability would have helped us identify when and by whom the room was cleaned and action would have been taken immediately. However the guest again refrained from bringing this allegation to our attention during the stay. However we appreciate that it was observed by guest that the bathtub, sink and toilet were clean.

The guest also claimed that rooms lack basic things. With reference to the Manual for Standards for Existing and Approved Tourism Accommodation Establishments as published by the Malta Tourism Authority, we can state with confidence that a large percentage of our rooms at Alexandra Hotel surpass the bench mark for three star hotels. In fact the following is worth noting:

1. Claim that there was only one chair in the room, this is as per requirement.
2. Claim that the wardrobe was small and with a few hooks, this had over five hooks as per same requirements.
3. Claim that there were no compartments for laundry, this is not included in the mentioned requirements manual.
4. Claim that TV was small and with poor reception- such manual does not specify TV size, however the superior rooms all have large TFT brand new screens.
5. Claim that sanitary water was in need of renovation, we admit that this is ongoing however all such facilities are in proper good working order.

With regards to the noisy construction work throughout the building from morning (7:00am), it has to be made clear that such works are being carried out by premises adjacent to the hotel. The time when construction begins is in fact beyond our control but it is according to law which states that such works can be carried out between 07.00hrs to 19.00hrs.


We thank the esteemed guest that described the location as great, in fact the hotel boasts about its prime location, serviced by very frequent transport facilities and also a stone throw away from the hive of entertainment facilities.

We are very happy that despite market conditions and winter season , the hotel was in its full capacity during the past months and hence we appreciate if the guest would have happier recollections like the vast and absolute majority of the these guests. Hence we ask him to try us again with the difference that if there are any problems, these would be brought to the attention immediately to our staff that is at the service of guests 24 hours a day to make sure that the latter are kept happy and satisfied throughout their stay.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

The Alexandra is a regular 3 star hotel. I would say 2 star, but okay. The big problem is: they are reconstructing the hotel right now and IT'S INSANE. They start drilling and hammering every morning at 6AM (!) and last night they continued until 1AM!!! I had to call reception to ask them to PLEASE stop working/drilling. I've never experienced anything like this in a hotel. And it will last for months, since they are far from ready.

Also a headache; breakfast. the worst tea EVER, from a machine, together with the worst machine made orange juice EVER. CHeap bread, cheap everything. And worst of all: every single day they play the exact same CD during breakfast. It get's to your nerves (as you may be noticing right now).

The location of the hotel is great. Also, it's cheap. But that's just about it. :/

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loc1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandra32003, Manager at Alexandra Hotel Malta, responded to this review, 18 March 2011
Firstly we must take this opportunity to thank the esteemed guest for the comments left on this site, as these are always appreciated with a sincere sense of commitment to improve the services we offer.

Secondly, with reference to the comment posted by the guest that Alexandra Hotel is not a regular 3 star hotel, but lower, we cannot agree. In fact the hotel offers certain facilities and services which surpass the legal requirements of a three star besides being a hotel where hospitality and customer care is second to none.

With reference to the claim that parts of the hotel were being reconstructed during the stay, this is not the case. While it is confirmed that At Alexandra Hotel maintenance is always on going, this does not disrupt any of the residents as the works do not include heavy machinery but mainly replacing of furniture, plastering and painting. However it can be confirmed that adjacent to the hotel there is the construction of another hotel which in turn has no connection with the Alexandra Hotel. Whilst still apologising with this guest for this inconvenience we would have appreciated if this matter was brought to our attention as, if the construction went ahead after the legal hours we would have reported it to the relevant authorities. Furthermore, in tourist destination areas it is the Maltese authorities that implore that all construction works are carried out outside the busy summer season. In this regard Alexandra Hotel cannot be held responsible for works carried out by neighbouring properties.

Indeed the esteemed guest confirmed that the location of the hotel was great, which is because Paceville is indeed the most established tourist destination on the island. It is because of this that, as probably the guest could have seen for himself that practically in every street of Paceville there is some extent of construction or development going on!

With regards to breakfast, despite the fact that the Alexandra Hotel’s breakfast is well known by locals and tourists alike for the abundance and quality of food, well beyond any three star benchmark, the management takes such complaints very seriously:

Tea machine

We can confirm that the tea is served from an instant machine for which we never had complaints. In fact we invested in the machine and the rather expensive instant tea packages due to the high demand of quality tea from our frequent and large number of British guests that consume a lot of the same. However, we also offer tea in the traditional tea bags for any guest who asks for it at no extra charge.

Orange juice

Our comments here are nothing less than that of gratitude for the complaint of this guest for the orange juice. In fact we immediately looked into the matter and sampled the juice for consistency and palate. This exercise concluded that the orange was indeed not up to our standard and we therefore immediately stopped the contract with our previous supplier. This led to the changing of the orange juice machine and the appointment of a new supplier. Now thanks to the guest’s observations we have a new supplier who provided us with a new machine. This machine has introduced Alexandra hotel to further supersede three star hotel requirements by offering apple juice, grapefruit juice, and pineapple juice besides orange juice.

Bread

The management was deeply concerned with the complaint that the bread was alleged to be the worst ever. This is due to the fact that the bread comes from probably the most well known and established bread factory in the island namely Golden Harvest. In fact this company has just invested millions of Euros in a new state of the art factory with stringent quality control and HACCP procedures to the full. Furthermore the hotel offers a vast array of bread including whole meal, brown bread, sliced white bread, buns and last but not least the traditional crispy Maltese bread.

Music

With regards to the same CD being played, we must apologise for this occurrence but what happens is that the staff themselves usually provide the CDs for music and it seems although staff is not always the same, the same CD was left on as it seems to have been rather appealing to all the staff working at the different times.

Other

We thank the esteemed guest that described the location as excellent, in fact the hotel boasts about its prime location, serviced by very frequent transport facilities and also a stone throw away from the hive of entertainment facilities.

We also agree that the rates are cheap when compared with the facilities and standards offered, definitely making a stay a stay at the hotel very cost effective.

We thank the guest again for the criticism made as we always appreciate comments that help us improve our services. However we appreciate if comments are brought to the attention of our staff at any time as action could be faster.

We are disappointed that the guest will not recommend us and following these observations from our side we hope he would reconsider. We are very happy that despite market conditions and winter season , the hotel was in its full capacity during the past months and hence we appreciate that this guest would have happier recollections like the vast and absolute majority of the these guests. In fact we have clients that keep on coming year after year for over the twenty years that the hotel has been standing.

We remain committed to provide a good service and where possible, further improve our services for our guests, which we constantly keep as our first priority, always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#16 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#17 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
Golden Tulip Vivaldi Hotel
#14 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rokna
Rokna
#15 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#21 of 34 in Saint Julian's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel Malta

Property: Alexandra Hotel Malta
Address: Schreiber Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3081, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel Malta 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Hotel is a 3 star hotel which has a total of 210 units, which consist in 22 one bedroom apartment, 15 family rooms, 10 triple rooms and 6 interconnected rooms. The rest are double rooms which can be uses for single use as well. 24 Hrs reception, restaurant which serve buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, lounge bar, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, spa, outdoor pool, pool bar and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Hotel Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Saint Julians
Alexandra Palace Hotel Malta
Alexandra Palace Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing